Indigenous Peoples: North America

Changes to Library services during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Description

The database Indigenous Peoples: North America enables researchers to study the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

Collections in this product (sources noted in parentheses) include:

The Alaska Indian Language Collection (Gonzaga University)

The Association on American Indian Archives (AAIA and Princeton University)

Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896‐1897 (U.S. National Archives)

Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866‐1873 (Wichita State University)

The Indian School Journal (Chilocco Indian School)

The Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)

Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849‐1903 (U.S. National Archives)

Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America (Moravian Archives)

The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853‐1960 (Gonzaga University)

Papers of Henry Rowe Schoolcraft (Library of Congress)

The Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906‐1946 (Private Collection of John Larner)

Records of the Creek Factory of the Office of Indian Trade of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1795‐1821 (U.S. National Archives)

W. S. Prettyman Photograph Collection (Wichita State University)

Date Coverage: 

17th to 20th centuries

Fulltext: 

Yes
Access Notes

Authorized Users: 

Carleton students, faculty and staff
Content last reviewed: August 7, 2020