United Nations

Changes to Library services during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Flags of member nations flying at United Nations Headquarters
Source: Flicker - United Nations Photo Library)

“The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.” (UN at a Glance)

This guide focuses on the six principal organs of the United Nations as established by the Charter: the General Assembly; the Security Council; the Economic and Social Council; the Secretariat; the International Court of Justice and the Trusteeship Council. The United Nations system encompasses many more organizations – see the UN System locator. A full list of the bodies with links to their web sites is available on this page. To learn more about the United Nations, see the Organization Chart of the UN System.






Service Point: 

Research Help Desk
Content last updated: February 14, 2020