This course guide introduces students to resources at the library that will help them produce an annotated bibliography bibliography and using formal analysis and the research from their bibliographies to interpret a work of art.
Explore Your Artwork
Explore all of the components of your artwork using reference and introductory materials. Use these tools below to find the artist, art period as well as key terms and concepts.
These will help you become more familiar with your artwork and will help you generate additional search terms.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is an alphabetic list of research resources that includes an annotation (a description and/or summary) for each item. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the substance, relevance and quality of each source. Annotations appear after each item in the bibliography.
For this course, please use the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) for the citation style.
What should each annotation include?
An annotation is a paragraph which may contain the following points:
- Be 100 words long
- Assess the Sources Strengths and Weaknesses
- Give an outline of the main arguments
- Provide background information about the author
- Describe how the source is relevant
Useful Web Guides
What are scholarly Sources?
Where do I search for Scholarly Sources?
You can search for scholarly sources or peer-reviewed sources in multiple ways through the library's website.
- Omni - You can use Omni from the search box on the library home page or from the Omni home page.
Enter one or more keywords or phrases that describe what you are looking for, and click Search or .
Use the filters on the left to further narrow down your search.
Select Peer-Reviewed Journals
Select an appropriate Subject
Art History Databases - Search databases that include content for this discipline.
Materials contained within Artbibliographies include: journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography.
Art Full Text
Coverage includes art design, folk art, industrial design, interior design, museum management, pottery, textiles, and motion pictures, television, and video.
Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines, trade publications and books. In addition, the database provides full-text coverage of many of the journals and books and includes a large image collection.
Provides access to the complete archives of major journals in a variety of subjects.
Not sure if your journal is peer-reviewed or scholarly. Look it up in Ulricht Database.
The following are some basic search tips that can be used in Omni and most academic databases. Unlike in Google and in other search engines, you will not get satisfactory results if you type an entire sentence, such as "Claude Lorrain, Landscape with a Temple of Bacchus (1644)" You need to pick out the key phrases, words, and concepts.
Step 1: Identify keywords, art period and any other potential keywords.
Step 2: Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to limit or expand your search. Boolean operators should be capitalized when used in searching databases. Most Advanced Searches also allow you to break down your search with the AND & OR boolean operators.
- Use AND to combine and limit your results (ie. Baroque era AND painter AND Italy)
- Use OR when using synonyms and want to expand your results (ie. landscape painting OR landscapist)
Step 3: Use Special Characters in your searches such as the asterisk* or quotations marks.
- Use asterisk* to search for all variations of the word (ie. landscap* = landscape, landscapist)
- Use the quotation marks to search for phrases (ie. "landscape painting", "landscape paint*")
Step 4: Begin searching for material with Omni, the library's main search box to find articles & books as well as other sources on your topic. Remember to filter your search for each new search.