Content last reviewed:
Academic articles are found by searching the following
- Business Source Complete
- EconLit
- Emerald Management eJournals
- Google Scholar
- JSTOR - JSTOR is a "moving wall" archive: newer years are added as publishers allow. Most recent titles are between 3 - 5 years old.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
- OMNI - Search most content in the library. Including Journal articles and books.
Citation Chaining - Find articles by following citations. If you found an article that matches your topic the databases below will help you find research that cited that article.
Good to know:
- Within a database, limit your search to scholarly (also called academic or peer-reviewed) articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
- Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
- Use available options to search more than one database at a time.
- Sort by relevance or newest titles first.
- Examine the keywords on the record for additional search terms.
- Look for the option to set up an RSS feed or to Create an Alert. You are then notified when a new entry is added to the database that meets your search criteria.
- Use the Interlibrary Loans RACER form to request items not held at Carleton’s library.
Tips for effective searching -
If you find one relevant article for your research it can lead to other relevant papers by the following:
- using the databases, including OMNI, look to find all papers & books published by the author or co-authors
- explore the bibliography in the paper for sources
- using Web of Science or Scopus, look for articles that cite the article you found. Remember, some databases will also list citing articles but those lists are limited to the current database. The Web of Science and Scopus are more comprehensive, with coverage from multiple databases.
Peer Review
Not sure if an article is in a peer-reviewed journal? check with Ulrichsweb
Key databases
- Bloomberg Professional - Includes financial information, company profiles, industry data, analysts' forecasts etc. for both international and domestic markets.
- WRDS - A research platform and business intelligence tool that allows researchers to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources.
- Mergent Online - Contains financial information on US and major global companies as well as industry reports.
- Factiva - A news and business information source providing global coverage.
- CRSP - The library subscribes to CRSP 1925 US Stock Database and CRSP 1925 US Indices Database.
Additional data sources are available in the library's Data Centre.
Statistical Consulting services for STATA and SPSS are available through the Data Centre. Contact dataservices@carleton.ca for an appointment or more information.
Writing
Critical Reviews:
- The Writing Centre - University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Queen's University
- University of Guelph
Literature Reviews
- Carleton Library
- The Writing Centre - University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Simon Fraser University
- University of Toronto
Citing your sources
- Research and Citation - Guides to citation styles from OWL.
- Business Citation Guide - York University
- Citing Your Sources - Carleton's general guide to resources on all the main styles including video links.
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Citation Guide - an excellent guide to citing business sources in Chicago Style from Harvard Business School.
- Citing Data & Statistics
- Citation Management Tools
