BUSI 4707 | MacOdrum Library

Journal Articles

Scholarly Journals & Popular Magazines: Do you know the Difference?

Explore the library Subject Guides for key resources that are relevant to your topic.

Suggested databases include:

Business Source Complete
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Econlit
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Web of Science (part of this is Social Sciences Citation Index)
World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Global News Sources

Use business magazines and newspapers for current information:

Business Week
Forbes
Fortune
The Economist
Financial Times
Wall Street Journal
Financial Times (London)
The Globe and Mail
National Post Online (Includes the Financial Post)

Current awareness monitoring service
Journalist's Resource: research on today's news topics Provides overview and details of current issues.
Use the following indexes to search newspapers, magazines and journals by topic:

Company & Industry Data

Company Data

Canadian

SEDAR

Global (includes Canadian data)

Bloomberg Access limited to a single workstation in the library. See our help guides for instructions and tips.
Mergent Online
EDGAR
Factiva

Tips

Look for a SWOT analysis: Go to Business Source Complete and search for your company name. Scroll down and limit by Company Report and SWOT Analysis.

Look to the company's website for valuable information: Read the Management Discussion and Analysis - (MD&A) section of the Annual Report or 10k. Read the letter to the shareholders from the CEO in the company's annual report.

Industry Reports

Business Source Complete - search your topic, product, company or industry. Under Refine your results choose Industry Overview and Industry Profile.
Mergent Online - when connected, select the Report Search tab from the menu. Select industry of interest and then geographical region.
Factiva - mouse over Companies/Markets from the menu bar at the top of the page, select Industry. Select industry from the list provided. Published profiles are found under Analysis and Profiles from the menu on left.
Passport - Select Industries from the menu tab and narrow by country. Conference Board of Canada e-Library - Browse by topic -> Industry Sector Economics for industry profiles or enter industry name in the search box.

Country Information and Statistics

EIU Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides excellent coverage in 2 sections. Country reports: provides information on the political structure, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Country profiles: outline a country’s economic and political status and background. They give an annual perspective on the long-term political and social issues affecting each country, as well as statistical tables providing a five-year run of data

globalEdge (Michigan State University, Broad College of Business)

contains: Insights by Trade Bloc - APEC, ASEAN, CAFTA-DR, CARICOM, ECOWAS, EU, GCC,
MERCOSUR, NAFTA, SADC

- provides member countries, history, related agreements, resources and websites

-note that most trade blocs have their own statistical databases, e.g. StatsAPEC

also contains Insights by Country

OECD Trade - use OECD iLibrary for free access to databases and publications

InTradeBid (Inter-American Development Bank)

Lega Carta (International Trade Centre - WTO and World Bank) - need to register (free) to make the map dynamic. Map makes it easy to determine a given country's participation in international trade rules - and also provides links to the full text.
Regional Trade Agreements Information System (WTO)
Doing Business (World Bank)
Global Enabling Trade Report (World Economic Forum)

World dataBank (World Bank)

Select a database - the most relevant to the course are:

(a) World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance
- Can select by Country or Region/Country
- Select variables, e.g. Foreign Direct Investment, Migration, Remittances, Trade, Exports, Imports
(b) Global Bilateral Migration - gives origin, destination, gender and year
(c) UNCTAD (TRAINS - Trade Analysis Information System) - provides import flows by origin for more than 140 countries

World Development Indicators also comes as a publication

Need more information on:

Migration and Remittances - See Migration and Remittances (World Bank), Migration and Remittances Factbook 2016 and International Organization for Migration

Foreign Direct Investment - See Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (IMF) and World Investment Report (UNCTAD)
Investment Map (light version) International Trade Centre

Trade - See the following:
World Trade Indicators (World Bank) - particularly the Country Briefs and the Trade at a Glance Tables
Direction of Trade Statistics - is available in the IMF E-Library database (exports and imports by country and by regions/groups)
International Trade and Market Access Data (WTO) - see its Statistics Database with links to Trade Profiles, Tariff Profiles, Service Profiles and Time Series on International Trade. The WTO also publishes the World Trade Report and International Trade Statistics
UN COMTRADE - annual import and export statistics for 160 countries - value and quantity for each commodity broken down by trading partner
UNCTADSTAT and UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics 2020 - see in particular p. 24 Exports and Imports of Trade Groups, p. 54 Intra-Trade of Trade Groups and Part Seven - Foreign Direct Investment and Migrants' Remittances

Canada
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada - Office of the Chief Economist
Industry Canada - Trade Data Online
Library of Parliament - Trade and Investment Series
Statistics Canada - Imports and Exports (International Trade Statistics)

United States
International Trade Commission - Trade Dataweb (free login)
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers

Trade classifications can be useful when using the statistical databases:
Classification Systems (U.S. International Trade Commission)
H.S. Nomenclature (World Customs Organization)
Standard International Trade Classification (S.I.T.C.)

Citing Business Sources