Content last reviewed:
- Africabib
- ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
- Business Source Complete
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
- EconLit
- Geobase
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online (all subject areas in the geographic regions of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States)
- International Political Science Abstracts
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
- Scholars Portal Search
- Web of Science
- World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Use business magazines and newspapers for current information:
- Business Week
- Forbes
- Fortune
- The Economist
- Financial Times
- Wall Street Journal
- Financial Times (London)
- The Globe and Mail
- National Post Online (Includes the Financial Post)
Current awareness monitoring service
Journalist's Resource: research on today's news topics - Provides overview and details of current issues.
Use the following indexes to search newspapers, magazines and journals by topic:
See our subject guides for Global & International Studies, Economics, Political Science and International Affairs. Also, see the government information pages on International Organizations.
Individual Country and Comparative Statistics
- World development indicators online
Includes statistical data on over 550 development indicators with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups. - Human development report
UN1 D .H72 (Latest edition in MRR) Includes economic, demographic, social, labor, and gender statistics. - Data.gov
- UN Data
Contains the largest compilation of United Nations and agency statistics on economic, social, financial, and development topics. - Global Competitiveness Report
RSV HF1414.G560 2003-2004 - IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
RSV HF1414.I56 - World's Major Emerging Economies
REF HC59.7.B874 - Regional Encyclopedia of Business and Management
REF HF1001.R44
Trade Statistics
- Trade Statistics Subject guide
- University of Michigan Statistical resources on the web: Foreign trade (includes international section)
- World development indicators:
- SourceOECD Provides trade statistics for ASEAN, EU, MERCOSUR, and NAFTA.
- International Monetary Fund - Direction of trade statistics.
UN9 MF .D37 (Latest edition in MRR) - Strategis
Industry Canada site includes statistics and analysis of industry sectors, trade, and the economy. Click the Business information by sector button for access to industries. - UN Comtrade
- UNCTAD handbook of statistics
UN8 TR .U53 (Latest edition in MRR) includes foreign direct investment outflows. - World investment report
UN5 E100 .W53 (Latest edition in MRR) - World Trade Organization. International trade statistics
DDV UN9 WTO .I57
General Country Information
- Europa world yearbook
JN1.E852 (Latest edition in REF) - EIU Economist Intelligence Unit (Country Reports, Profiles, and more)
For further online resources see the Country Information subject guide.
Writing
- Start by searching OMNI:
- Use the excellent resource OWL - Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Explore the sections to find help on
Citing your sources
It is essential to understand how and when to use citations in your essays and projects to ensure the Academic Integrity of your work. Good help is available!
- Research and Citation - Guides to citation styles from OWL.
- Citing Your Sources - Carleton's general guide to resources on all the main styles including video links.
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Citation Guide - an excellent guide to citing business sources in Chicago Style from Harvard Business School.
- Citing Data & Statistics
