Content last reviewed:
Citation Management Tools like Mendeley and Zotero will help automate the process of inserting citations and creating a bibliography. These tools also help you to organize your research resources and collaborate throughout a project. The decision to use a citation manager should be made at the beginning of a research project.
Carleton University Citation Management Resources
Other Citation management Guides
- Mendeley - Ryerson
- Mendeley - U of T
- Zotero Guide - Ryerson
- Zotero Guide - U of T
Main Search Tool
- OMNI - Searches the entire libraries collection, including books, journal articles, trade publications and news
- Databases - Look through available databases on a topic
- Get Print Items - Cubside Pickup, Mail or Scan on Demand.
Books on Research Methods and Referance Materials
Look for books on research software and methodologies in OMNI. Reference books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries will help you get a basic understanding of your topic. We also have specialized collections on research methodology:
- Sage Research Methods
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Management
- The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management
Journals on Research Methods
Look for journals covering research methodologies. Examples
- International Journal of Qualitative Methods
- Qualitative Research in Organizations and Management - Carleton does not subscribe. You can search and request using Scopus and Web of Science.
- Qualitative Research - Carleton does not subscribe. You can search and request using Scopus and Web of Science.
Find Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertation and Theses Global
- Dissertations and Theses@Carleton
- CURVE - Carleton's University's institutional repository
Guides to literature reviews from universities
- Conducting a Literature Review - Carleton University
- Systematic Reviews for Management - University of Calgary
- The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting It - University of Toronto
- Academic writing: What is a literature review? - Simon Fraser University
- Literature Review - Deakin University Library
- Learn to Write a Review of Literature - University of Wisconsin - Madison
- Guidelines for Writing a Literature Review - University of Minnesota, Duluth
Covidence Review Software - For Screening Literature for Systematic Review types
Sample titles from Carleton's book collection:
Scholarly databases often have a specific disciplinary focus or they are considered interdisciplinary and may cover many disciplines. Academic articles often go through a peer-review process.
On this page:
- Discipline Specific Databases
- Interdisciplinary Databases
- Citation Chaining
- Tips for Journal Article Searching
- Evaluating Journal Quality
Discipline Specific
- Business Source Complete
- EconLit - Economics
- Emerald Management eJournals
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
- PsycINFO - Psychology related database often used for organizational behaviour.
- Subject Specific Library Guides - A collection of guides maintained by the MacOdrum Library Staff. They will point you to resources used by specific disciplines.
Interdisciplinary
- OMNI - Search most content in the library. Including Journal articles and books.
- Google Scholar
- Web of Science
- Scopus
Citation Chaining
Find articles by following citations. Some databases will allow you to find articles that are cited in your article of interest or articles that cite your article of interest. If you found an article that matches your topic the databases below will help you find research that cited that article.
Tips for Journal Article Searching
- Within a database, limit your search to scholarly (also called academic or peer reviewed) articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
- Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
- Use available options to search more than one database at a time.
- Sort by relevance or newest titles first.
- Examine the keywords on the record for additional search terms.
- Look for the option to Create an Alert. You are then notified when a new entry is added to the database that meets your search criteria.
- Use the Interlibrary Loans RACER form to request items not held at Carleton’s library.
Evaluating Journal Quality
- Ulrichsweb - Use this index to check that a journal is peer-reviewed
- Journal Citation Reports - Provides evaluation of journals by the impact factor within a given discipline
- ABDC Journal Quality List from the Australian Business Deans Council
- Cabells Predatory Reports
For Current Newspapers/News:
- Factiva - Global news coverage
- Canadian Newsstream
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- Nexis Uni
- Press Reader - PDF access to current world news
For Historical Canadian & Other Newspapers:
- The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
- New York Times Archives1851-2005
- Toronto Star: Pages of the Past (Toronto Star)
- Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
News Monitoring Services:
- Global Economic Monitor (World Bank)
Research Topic
Customer loyalty for products or services sold online.
Search Tools
- Individuals with a last name starting with A-G try searching in OMNI
- Individuals with last name starting with H-N try searching Business Source Complete
- Individuals with last name starting O-Z try searching Factiva
While doing this look at the types of resources found and the types of disciplines covered. What did you find interesting, useful or challenging about using the resource?
- Government Information - Start at this Guide to Look for Government Information
- Government of Canada Publications
- Government of Canada Departments and Agencies
The library provides services around and access to data and statistics for research.
On this page
- Aggregate Data and Statistics
- Microdata
- Financial and Market Data
- Research Data
- Carleton Library Data Services
Aggregate Data and Statistics
Governments collect enormous amounts of data which they make freely available to the public. The library has experts to help you understand what is available and navigate these resources.
Canadian Government Examples
- Statistics Canada
- The Canadian Census of Population - 2016 Website/ CHASS Census Analyzer
- Federal Government Open Data Portal
- Government of Ontario Open Data Portal
- City of Ottawa Open Data
International Organization Examples
Microdata
Microdata is referring to the data that has not been aggregated in anyway. For surveys the data would be at the level of individuals, households or businesses. Government bodies like Statistics Canada make microdata available for researchers to analyze. Some surveys have been made into Public Use Microdata Files (PUMFs). PUMFS are anonymized meaning that detail has been stripped away so individuals cannot be identified. This data is available for researcher to access. Datasets that have not been anonymized are available, but are heavily restricted requiring an application process and the research to visit a secure location for access.
- <odesi> - Access Statistics Canada PUMFs and public opinion data from other sources. <odesi> help guide.
- Research Data Centres - These are physical locations that allow researchers to access restricted Statistics Canada data. They provide a list of data available. There is an application process. The majority of the datasets are surveys of individuals.
- Carleton's Data Resources - The MacOdrum Library's Guide to data resources available.
Financial and Market Data
The library subscribes to services that provide financial and market data for researchers. This data is generally derived from cooperate filings made by publicly traded companies and markets.
- Bloomberg
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) - This tools allows access to financial datasets that specific institutions subscribe to. Carleton's major subscriptions include:
- Compustat/ Capital IQ - Provides financial and market data for companies
- CRSP - US stock data
- TSX Quarterly CFMRC - Stock data from the Toronto Stock Exchange
Research Data
Some researchers make the data behind their publications available. This has been made a requirement by some research funding bodies and journals. The amount of research data that is available is still limited, but is growing. Research data is available through repositories:
Carleton Library Data Services
- Statistical Consulting The library provides a statistical consulting service for the software Stata, SPSS, R and SAS. They also have some knowledge of Excel. Consultants will answer questions about quantitative data analysis including statistical analysis procedures. Researchers may book an appointment with a consultant.
- Research Data Management - Information on creating a data management plan and how to share your research data through repositories like Dataverse
- GIS and Geospatial Analysis - MacOdrum Library provides help services as well as access to software and data for geospatial analysis.
Visit the Scholarly Communications page for news and information on open access and Carleton University Open Access Policy.
Also explore:
- Writing for Publication
- Writing for Scholarly Journals
- Open Access Publishing This video gives an overview of open access publishing – what it is and how it works – and outlines the open access requirements created by the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications.
- Curve An open access repository which holds academic research output and creative work voluntarily deposited by Carleton faculty, staff and students, as well as all dissertations and theses produced at Carleton
- Directory of Open Access Journals A multidisciplinary database of 5125 open access journals. Currently 2117 journals are searchable at the article level.
- Research Impact: Scholarly Communication @ Carleton University keep up to date on open access and scholarly communication activities at Carleton University and beyond.
