Content last reviewed:
Online Guides
- D&B Canada, Understanding Financial Statements
- IBM, Guide to Financial Statements
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Beginner's Guide to Financial Statements
Business Vocabulary
Canadian Only
- Mediamorphis: Network Media Industries and the Forces of Change and Conservation
- blog by Carleton University Professor Dwayne Winseck.
- Canadian Media Concentration Research Project (CMCRP)
- Sedar database of filings of Canadian companies.
Global (also includes Canadian data)
- Business Source Complete
- Factiva
- Mergent Online
- Passport
- Edgar database of company filings at Securities Exchange Commission, NYC
Tip: Most company web sites will include annual reports and 10k reports. Look for headings such as Investor Relations or About Us.
- Business Source Complete - provides access to scholarly journals, trade publications, industry profiles, SWOT analyses and more
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- CPI-Q
- PAIS Index
- Factiva
- Canadian Newsstream
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
The following titles are available online through the Library
Background information and economic data:
Company's web page
- Often will be prominently displayed
- Examples: Starbucks; Procter & Gamble
- Look under About or About Us
- Example: American Express
- Look for clues
- Example: Apple
- Not obvious? Search social responsibility in search box
Annual Report
- Look at the letter to shareholders from CEO.
Rankings
- Passport
- A text search using “Social Networking” retrieves reports including global trends, market share, usage statistics and outlook.
- World Internet Project
- The World Internet Project (WIP) is a major, international, collaborative project looking at the social, political and economic impact of the Internet and other new technologies.
- Internet World Stats
- IAB Internet Advertising Revenue Report - PricewaterhouseCoopers (PWC)
- Statistics from 2001 to present day
- Alexa the Web Internet Company
- Includes popular sites and topics
- Comscores
- Provides social media and technology statistics and data by region and topic
- Top 10 Social Networking Websites People Are Using
- Web Strategy by Jerimiah Owyang
- A collection of current Social Network Statistics.
- Box Office
- The business of movies
Consult the Library's Government Information page including the customized Google search engines. Many government documents are available in print or electronically via the Library Omni tool.
- Canadian Heritage - Broadcasting and Digital Communications
- CRTC; Reports and Publications
- Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunication Services
- Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (non-government)
- Canadian Association of Broadcasters (non-government)
- Industry Canada - Information and Communications Technologies; Canadian ICT Sector Profile; Intellectual Property and Copyright; Internet, Radio and Wireless; Consumer Information - Telecommunication Services
- Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
- Canada. Parliament. Senate. Standing Committee on Transport and Communications
- Canada. Parliament. House of Commons. Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage
- Library of Parliament research publications
- Statistics Canada
- CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) - StatCan's main database
- NAICS 2012 - industrial classification used in CANSIM
United States
- FCC (Federal Communications Commission) Reports
- Census Bureau; ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States; Economic Census - Industry Snapshots
- U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation. Subcommittee on Communications, Media, and Broadband
- U.S. Congress. House of Representatives. Energy and Commerce Committee. Sub-Committee on Communications and Technology
Other National/Regional Governmental Sources
- Ofcom (United Kingdom) International Communications Market Report
- European Audiovisual Observatory
- Nordicom (Nordic Information Centre for Media and Communication Research)
International Intergovernmental Organizations (to situate Canada in the world)
- ITU (International Telecommunications Union) World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database
- OECD - Digital
- UNESCO - Communication and Information
A few tips for evaluating content on the Web:
- Domain name ending in .org, .net, gc.ca, .gov, .edu
- About us: Advisory Board, Board of Directors, Partners/Sponsors (may offer legitimacy, but may also suggest bias)
- Last content update (bottom of page)
Co-operatives:
A Few More Places to Look:
- Canadian Conference of the Arts
- Explore the Policy Resources tab
- Canadian DigitalMedia Network
- Click on News and Trends, explore various reports
- Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA)
- Click on About and What's Happening tabs at top
- Friends of Canadian Broadcasting
- Click on Research
