Content last reviewed:
Useful titles
- A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago Style for students and researchers
- Wall Street Journal guide to information graphics: the dos and don'ts of presenting data, facts and figures
Citation Help
- Citation guides - prepared by Carleton library.
- Citation Guide - Guide to citing business sources in Chicago Style by Harvard Business School.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab - Excellent site providing guidelines and tips on the writing process and citation styles including the Chicago style.
- Citation management
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Citing Data & Statistics
Key databases
- Econlit
- PAIS
- Business Source Complete
- Emerald Management eJournals
- Google Scholar For seamless access to the fulltext of articles that are part of the library's collection, take the link from the library page. If you run into difficulty, the instructions for a workaround are on the details page.
Good to know:
- Within a database, limit your search to scholarly articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
- Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
- Use available options to search more than one database at a time.
- Look for the option to set up an RSS feed or to Create an Alert. You are then notified when a new entry is added to the database that meets your search criteria.
- Use the Interlibrary Loans RACER form to request items not held at Carleton’s library.
Citation Searching
Use citation databases to find if a particular author and/or paper has been cited by other authors.
Examples:
Web of Science
Select Cited Reference Search from top tool bar.
You have the article
Gunn, C.M and A. Johri 2011. "News and knowledge capital", Review of Economic Dynamics 14:1: 92-101
Enter one author in cited author box
Gunn C* (use surname, first initial and truncation symbol)
Retrieve abbreviation of journal name from list provided, and enter year of publication.
REV ECON DYNAM
2011
From the list, select the article and click on Finish Search at the top of the list.
Results show the article has been cited 13 times - the most recent in 2017.
Note the option Create Citation Alert to be notified of any future citings of this article.
Scopus
Choose Author Seach from top tool bar.
Enter author's name and affiliation if known
Khalaf L* Carleton University
Select displayed result. On right hand side all published articles by the author will be listed. Click on article for citing references.
Remember to see if an citing article has itself been cited.
Tips for effective searching -
If you find one relevant article for your reseach it can lead to other relevant papers by the following:
- using the databases, including OMNI, look to find all papers & books published by the author or co-authors
- explore the bibliography in the paper for sources
- using Web of Science or Scopus, look for articles that cite the article you found. Remember, some databases will also list citing articles but those lists are limited to the current database. The Web of Science and Scopus are more comprehensive, with coverage from multiple databases.
Grey Literature
Grey literature is defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing" ie. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." — ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004
Types of Grey Literature
- Government Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Conference Proceedings (select Conference Proceedings Citation Index)
- Newspapers and Magazines
- Think Tanks
Finding grey literature
- Think Tank Search (Harvard University) – think tanks can give an appreciation of government action or inaction in an area
- Economics Search Engine (American Economic Association)
- Theses Databases:
- Dissertations and Theses Global - Discover dissertations and theses published by educational institutions from around the world, from 1743 to the present (some full text available from 1997 - present)
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - 700,000 doctoral dissertations from outside the U.S. and Canada
- Thesis Canada
Resources
- Alternative Press Index - Indexes over 300 periodicals, newspapers and magazines which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. 90% of the publications indexed in API are unique.
- Canadian Research Index (Provides detailed citations to monographs and serial publications in the Microlog microfiche collection located in MADGIC)
- Canadian Public Policy Collection Collection of publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library
- Social Research and Demonstration Corporation A non-profit research organization, created specifically to develop, field test, and rigorously evaluate new programs.
- NBER (National Bureau of Economics Research) Working Papers
- PolicyFile (U.S. Policy) Provides access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature.
- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
How-to Guide
- Searching Grey Literature - University of Toronto
- EIU.com - provides tables and charting of economic indicators, including disposal income, for all countries.
- Online version of the World Competitiveness Online - analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises based on over 300 criteria grouped into 4 main factors: economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.
- globalEdge - user friendly site from Michigan State University providing statistical data and informaition on 202 countries worldwide.
- Doing business - from the World Bank.
Key Databases
Additional Databases
- Business Source Complete - Search your topic, product, company or industry. Under Refine your results, choose Industry Overview and Industry Profile.
- Factiva - mouse over Companies/Markets from the menu bar at the top of the page, select Industry. Select industry from the list provided. Published profiles are found under Analysis and Profiles from the menu on the left.
- Passport- Select Industries from the menu tab and narrow by country.
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library - Under Browse by, select Topic. Then select Industry Sector Economics for industry profiles or enter the industry name in the search box.
Specialized reports from reputable sources
- World Energy Outlook from the OECD
- Global Auto Report 2016 from Scotiabank
-
Banking and Securities Outlook and other industry reports by Deloitte
Look for valuable information and data from trade associations
Google the industry + country + associations to find trade associations
For example:
Customized search engine for Government Information
- CANSIM II (CHASS)
- Federal Reserve System
- FRED
- Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
- Data Basics
- International House Price Index
- Globalization Institute - real-time data set for OECD
- IMF eLibrary
- OECD iLibrary
- World Bank Data Catalog
Websites for Stats
- Data Library of Kenneth R. French - Distinguished Professor of Finance at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College. He is an expert on the behavior of security prices and investment strategies.
- American Economic Association Data & Resources
- Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2010.
- r4stats
General websites for economists
