This guide serves as a starting point for locating secondary sources on poetry and prose fiction for FYSM 1004D.
* NEW * Videos and resources produced by Ryan Tucci, First Year Experience Teaching and Learning Technician at MacOdrum Library.
We [I] would like to begin by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg people.
In the study of English literature, the actual text is the primary source.
Use Omni, our new online discovery tool, to locate the literary work. The default search option on the library homepage is a keyword search. From Omni Advanced Search, Select Title and Under Material Type, select Books from the drop down menu. Enter the author's name with the surname first and type the title in the search box. To find other book titles written by the author, redo the search and choose Author field to limit your results.
You can also search Omni to locate the Call Number. Listed below are the letters and numbers assigned to the six texts to be studied:
- Brooke, Rupert, The Complete Poems of Rupert Brooke. (1922) – PR6003.R4 1933
- Owen, Wilfred, War Poems and Others (1992) – PR6029.W4 A6 1992
- Sasson, Siegfried, The War Poems of Siegfried Sassoon
- Barker, Pat, Regeneration (2014) - RSV PR6052.A6488 R4 2014
- Larsen, Nella, Passing (2000) - RSV PS3523.A7225 P37 2000 ; PS3523.A7225 P37 1997
- Woolf, Virginia, Mrs. Dalloway – PR6045.O72 M7 1929
Google Books also has a vast repository of book titles in the public domain with dates prior to 1924. The Internet Archive offers access to millions of ebooks. You can read the full text online or download in a variety of formats.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
HathiTrust Digital Library is another good resource to check. It is a partnership of libraries and other research institutions devoted to digitizing and preserving their collections and making them available online. Carleton University Library is not a partner institution. Certain content is not available in Canada.
Europeana Collections “is Europe’s digital library, museum, gallery and archive. From books, photos and paintings to television broadcasts and 3D objects, Europeana Collections provides online access to a vast store of cultural heritage material from across Europe.”
- The War Poetry Website
- includes poetry of the First World War
- First World War Poetry Digital Archive
“The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7,000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research.”
- World War One : Reframing First World War Poetry (British Library)
“Dr Santanu Das considers how the examination of war poetry has changed and looks beyond typical British trench lyric to explore the variety of poetic responses.”
- Gale Primary Sources combines these four digital archives in a single cross-search interface:
- Guardian (1821-2003)
- International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
- This digitization project preserve and provide public access to historic newspapers from around the world. Note some digital collections may require fee payments.to access content.
- New York Times Archives
Researching Your Topic
1. Guide to Literary Research, Writing and Critical Reading (EBSCO)
– This EBSCO research guide covers the basics of how to research your topic.
2. The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth (2016) (2008)
3. Check the A-Z Subject guides
- Subject guides are a good place to get started. They will give you an overview of the topic.
Example: English Language and Literature -This guide offers access to literary content and analysis.
4. Use Concept maps to organize, and craft creative ideas. Concept mapping can help you narrow your topic and find related terminology to use in a search query string:
- VUE (Visual Understanding Environment) (Tufts University)
- See Concept mapping (Royal Roads University) for other mapping tools
Use reference materials such as bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and guides to locate relevant information on a topic.
Suggested Reference Resources:
- A dictionary of contemporary world history by Riches, Christopher(2016)
- A Dictionary of critical theory by Buchanan, Ian (2018)
- Key Concepts in Literary Theory by Julian Wolfreys et. al. (2016)
- Cambridge Companion to...Handbooks dedicated to single authors or literary movements. Best to use keywords to narrow the results
- Literary research guide: an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies by James I. Harner PR83 BIBL .H37 (2002) (1998) ; (Online at Internet Archive)
Poetry and Prose
- The New Oxford Book of War Poetry by Jon Stallworthy (2014)
- The Poetry Handbook : a Guide to Reading Poetry for Pleasure and practical Criticism by John Lennard (2005)
- War Poetry by Jon Stallworthy (2014)
- The Poetry handbook a guide to reading poetry for pleasure and practical criticism by John Lennard (2005)
- Fighting Forces, Writing Women Identity and Ideology in the First World War by Sharon Ouditt (1994)
- Modernism, History and the First World War by Trudi Tate (2013)
- Modernisms : a Literary Guide by Peter Nicholls (2009) (1995)
- The Great War and the Language of Modernism by Vincent B. Sherry (2003)
Academic journals and popular magazines - do you know the difference?
- Check in Ulrichsweb to be sure!
- Go to the publisher's web page to see criteria for submissions
Why use journals?
- They are more up-to-date than most books.
- They are “peer reviewed” by other scholars in the field who check for academic integrity.
- They are concise and focused on a specific aspect of a topic.
- Every article will contain cited references that appear as footnotes and/or bibliographies.
- Most are now online and accessible anytime and from off campus.
For best results do a search using keywords or phrases in a subject database to find references to scholarly articles.
When a database gives you an option, always limit to scholarly (or academic or peer reviewed) journals.
Never limit to full-text only because you will miss any references to articles in journals when another vendor has the full-text publishing rights.
When searching databases, use operators to join concepts together using AND, OR and NOT.
Use AND to narrow a search
example: trench warfare AND poetry - both terms must be found
Use OR when the concepts are similar, and it does not matter which word is used.
example: prose OR poetry OR fiction - search one or all words ; only one of the three terms must be found
Use NOT to focus a search when a topic contains multiple search terms
wilfred owen NOT siegfried sassoon - exclude some words
Use quotation marks around phrases to ensure the database searches for it that way.
example: "nella larsen"
Use truncation (*) and wildcards (?) when you want to allow for several spellings or variations on a word.
example: critic* will find all the words - critic, critics, critical, criticism, etc.
example: wom?n returns items with the words woman or women
example: (sanity OR madness) AND "virginia woolf"
1. Always capitalize "AND", "OR, and "NOT" in Omni.
2. Always enclose OR statements in parentheses.
Other Discovery Tools:
Use the Interlibrary Loans RACER form to request items not held at Carleton's library.
Consult the News Guide for details of news sources.
Tips for searching newspaper databases.
1. Look at all writings by a relevant author and co-authors.
2. Explore the bibliography of a relevant article for more articles.
3. Discover if the articles have been cited since publication.
Use Citation Indexes to find if a particular author and/or paper has been cited by other authors.
Some useful links and resources are listed below:
Rupert Brooke (1887-1915)
- The lost voices of World War I : an international anthology of writers, poets & playwrights / Tim Cross (1998) PN6071.E8C76 1998
- Friends of the Dymock Poets
- The Collected Poems of Rupert Brooke (Project Gutenburg)
- Rupert Brooke: Poet-Soldier (ThoughtCo.)
- The Rupert Brooke Society
Wilfred Owen (1893-1918)
- Above the dreamless dead : World War I in poetry and comics /Chris Duffy (2014) PR605.W65 A26 2014
- The Collected poems of Wilfred Owen (1964) PR6029.W4 A17 1964
- Poetry Foundation
Comprehensive biography of war poet Wilfred Owen. Includes links to poems.
- The War Poets Association
- Wilfred Owen (British Library)
Include links to articles on the British Library website
- The Wilfred Owen Association
has biography and chronology section
War Poet Wilfred Owen – A Remembrance Tale (WWI Documentary) (BBC) (58:15) -
Siegfried Sassoon (1886-1967)
- Counter-attack, and other poems / Siegfried Sassoon (1918) PR6037.A86.C7 1918
- Draft Siegfried Sassoon poem reveals controversial lines cut from Atrocities (The Guardian)
- EFG 1914 Film Project :European Film Gateway
- Siegfried Sassoon (In Our Time BBC) (41:39)
“Melvyn Bragg and guests discuss the war poet Siegfried Sassoon; a homosexual war hero who became a bitter opponent of the First World War and a devout Catholic.”
- The First World war Poetry Digital Archive
- The Poetry Archive: Siegfried Sassoon
Pat Barker (1943- )
- Two Borrowings in Pat Barker's Regeneration / Duckworth, Alistair M., Journal of Modern Literature, 2004, Vol.27 (2), pp.63-67.
- Regarding Violence in Pat Barker's Double Vision / Gildersleeve, Jessica Peer English, 4 (2009), pp.32-46.
Nella Larsen ( 1891-1964 )
- Sneaking Around : Idealized Domesticity, Identity Politics, and Games of Friendship in Nella Larsen's Passing / Herring, Frank, Arizona Quarterly: A Journal of American Literature, Culture, and Theory, 2001, Vol.57(1), pp.35-60.
- Sexual and Identity Politics in Nella Larsen's Passing : Women as Commodity / Goodspeed-Chadwick, Julie, Griot, Houston, Tex. Vol. 22, Iss. 2, (Fall 2003): 99
Virginia Woolf (1882-1941)
- A Bibliography of Virginia Woolf / B. J. Kirkpatrick ; Stuart Nelson Clarke (1997)
- Virginia Woolf : a guide to research / Thomas Jackson Rice (1984) PR6045.O72Z5117
- The Cambridge companion to Virginia Woolf / Sue Roe ; Susan Sellers (2000) PR6045.O72Z56848
- The Cambridge Introduction to Virginia Woolf / J. Goldman (2006) (online) (online)
- Palgrave advances in Virginia Woolf Studies / Anna Snaith (2007) PR6045.O72Z843 2007
- Virginia Woolf / Michael H. Whitworth (2005)
Remember to always evaluate any information or website before using it as a source for your research.
Tip Ask and answer the 5 W's of Journalism: Who, What, Where, When and How when gathering and evaluating your information.
- Argument in Composition by John D. Ramage (2009)
- Thinking on the Page : a College Student's Guide to Effective Writing by Gwen Hyman and Martha Schulman (2015)
- The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays about Literature by Paul Headrick (2014)
Need help with writing? Book an appointment with Writing Services.
Use these resources:
- Oxford English Dictionary (Online) by Oxford University Press (2000-)
- Online Etymology Dictionary
Some databases allow you to search a thesaurus to find out what subject headings are being used within that database. To see an example, go to Subjects from the navy blue menu tab in MLA International Bibliography, then choose Thesaurus from the drop down menu. To find related terms, make sure to check the text box before you click the hyperlinked word.
You also find sources of thesauri online:
- Thesaurus (Merriam-Webster)
Need help with citation? Visit the Research Help Desk on the main level in the library.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
- IRSC Libraries
- Ask the MLA
- Using MLA Format (MLA Style Center)
- MLA Citation Style
This resource is based on the 7th edition. For the revised 8th edition, please consult the official MLA Handbook (8th ed.)
- Carleton Library Citation Guides
- Examples of MLA Citation Style/ MLA documentation:
- MLA Style: In-Text Citations (8th Ed., 2016) (3:26) ; Youtube
- MLA Style: List of Works Cited (8th Ed., 2016) (11:50) ; Youtube
- Examples of MLA Citation Style/ MLA documentation: