Content last reviewed:
Welcome
Your assignments at university are an invitation to join a scholarly conversation by exploring topics in depth, formulating questions, examining existing research in order to build an argument and draw your own conclusions. This guide is intended to introduce the research process.
Pick a Research topic
- Read your syllabus and research paper assignment instructions carefully
- Pick a topic that interests you and meets the criteria of the research paper process
- Need extra help? Click on Choosing an essay topic
For background information
- search on Wikipedia to become familiar with a topic
- to broaden your search term vocabulary
- Watch the video, Using Wikepedia Wisely
Identify events or themes by consulting online encyclopedias or handbooks
- General
- Reference material Specific to World War II
- Holocaust Encyclopedia
- The Oxford Illustrated history of World War II
- The legacy of the Second World War
- Twelve turning points of the Second World War
- The Holocaust: the essential reference guide
- The second World War a complete history
- The Third Reich Sourcebook
- World War II in the Pacific: an encyclopedia
To find books, search Omni by keyword.
If you need more help with finding books, consult:
Try using the Advanced Search in Omni to find books using the subject headings associated with World War II.
When subject searching, it is important to use the exact vocabulary as indicated below. The most useful one for your research paper assignment in this course is: World War, 1939-1945
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Aerial operations
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Atrocities
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Battlefields
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Canada
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Casualties
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Concentration camps
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Diplomatic history
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Draft resisters
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Equipment and supplies
- World War, 1939-1945 -- France
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Germany
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Great Britain
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Italy
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Japan
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Jewish resistance
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Monuments
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Naval operations
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Participation, Female
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Propaganda
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Public opinion
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Refugees
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Sources
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Technology
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Women
More Library of Congress Subject Headings (open WORD file)
- If you need help locating a book on the shelf, consult the Call Number System (Library of Congress) web page for an explanation.
- Finding a book on the shelves video
Basic Search Tips using Omni
1. Identify the main concepts of your research topic and brainstorm possible keywords.
2. Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords and enhance your search. These command words should be capitalized when searching Omni.
Examples:
- Use AND to combine topics - Holocaust AND World War II AND memory
- Use OR to between words or synonyms to find either word - Blitzkrieg OR lightning war
- Use NOT to exclude a term - internment NOT prison
- Use quotation marks to search for phrases - "wartime propaganda"
- Use the asterisk* for word endings to broaden your search - Canad* = Canada, Canada's, Canadian, Canadians
3. Begin searching with Omni search to find books or articles using Boolean Operators as described above. Remember to filter your search by content type for each new search.
4. Here are the filters for finding peer reviewed journal articles in Omni:
- Available Online
- Peer reviewed Journals
- Article
- Subject (optional)
5. Here are the filters for finding books in Omni:
- Available Online
- Books
- Subject (optional)
What are peer reviewed journal articles?
- Peer Review in 3 minutes (video)
To find peer-reviewed journal articles, you have 2 options:
Option 1
Search Omni, the library's main search box by keyword to find academic journals articles. It searches most of the library's databases, simultaneously. For help: How to Find Articles in Omni
When you have a list of results, use the filters on the left side of the results page to refine your search:
- Peer Reviewed Journals
- Articles
- Subject
Option 2
Search subject-specific databases for history by keyword. Recommended databases include:
- America History and Life contains citations and abstracts to articles from journals in all areas of Canadian and U.S. history
- Historical Abstracts
- JSTOR
- Project Muse
Tip: If you are unsure if a journal is scholarly and peer reviewed, check Ulrichsweb. It is the definitive source that lets you know what type of journal you are using by 'content type'.
Search for primary sources using Omni
Search your topic (or historical person of interest) and include one of the following keywords in your search: Diar* (for diary or diaries), correspondence, letters, memoirs, personal narratives, recollection, reminiscences, journals, sources. Example: nurses AND diary AND (World War II)
Search tips:
- Use the bibliographies and footnotes of secondary sources on your topic to help identify primary source material.
- Read: History beyond the text: a student's guide to approaching alternative sources
Historical Newspaper Databases
World War II Online Primary Sources
- Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II
- Canadian Letters and Images Project
- Dr. Seuss went to war - catalog of political cartoons
- Nuremberg Trials Project - historical documents
- Veterans History Project
- World War II Aircraft
- World War II Poster Collection
Digital Archives
- Archives and Primary Sources Databases
- Canadiana
- Digital Public Library of America
- Internet Archive
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
- Historica Canada
- Library and Archives Canada
- Library of Congress Digital Collections
- National Archives (UK)
- New York Public Library Digital Collections
- RUSA Primary Sources on the web guide
Museum web sites
- Canadian Museum of History
- Canada War Museum
- National Museum of the United States Army
- Digital Museums Canada
Referencing your sources is an important part of academic writing - why?
- it lets you acknowledge the ideas and/or words of others if you use them in your work
- it enables readers to find the source information
- it demonstrates that you are using the scholarly record and that you can provide authority for statements you make in your term paper
- it helps you to avoid plagiarism
Citing Tools
- Chicago Citation Style (Notes and Bibliography) web page
- Chicago Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab) web page
- The Chicago manual of style online handbook
Writing Guides
- Writing an annotated bibliography: Youtube video or web page
- Writing Services offers students help with learning the mechanics of academic writing
