Pick a research topic:
- Read your syllabus (assignment instructions).
- Pick a topic that interests you and meets the assignment instructions.
- Narrow or broaden the scope of your topic so that it is "doable."
What's scope? Scope refers to the "people, places and things" or "who, what, when and where" that you are studying.
Identify key concepts:
Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts:
- Oxford Reference - Use dictionaries to help with terminology. Encyclopedias provide background information, an overview of topics and issues and often lead you to further readings
- Encyclopedia of Government and Politics (online)
- Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics (online)
- Encyclopedia of gender and society
- Gender and Politics The State of the Discipline
- Gender Innovation in Political Science New Norms, New Knowledge
Tips for searching newspaper databases.
Think Tanks - can give an appreciation of government action or inaction in an area, they are research institutes which perform research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture.
Develop a search statement to search databases (including news databases), and other academic sources
A search statement includes a list of keywords, combined using Boolean Operators (AND; OR; NOT)
AND - this will combine concepts, all of which must be found in your list of results
senate AND reform
OR - either this concept or that concept (or both). This is helpful for generating a list of synonyms. Use synonyms to anticipate the different ways different authors may refer to the same idea. A thesaurus can be helpful for this
internet OR web OR online
NOT - do not include this concept
advertising NOT magazine
Mexico NOT city
Quotation marks - find a specific phrase
Truncation - any other combination of letters to follow
Canad* - will find Canada, Canadian, Canadian's, etc.
journalis* - will find journalism, journalist, journalistic, etc.
Combine one or more of these operators
Put a list of synonyms in brackets
(smartphone OR "mobile phone" OR "cell phone") AND (societ* OR cultur*)
Why use journal articles?
- They are more up-to-date than most books.
- They are “peer reviewed” by other scholars in the field who check for academic integrity.
- Every article will contain cited references that appear as footnotes and/or bibliographies.
OMNI Search engine located on the library home page, allows you to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Including books, ebooks, journal articles, and more.
See our list of recommended databases on the Political Science subject guide, which includes:
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- International Political Science Abstracts
- PAIS Index
- Taylor & Francis Journals Online
- Gender Studies Database
- Women in Politics
This is a list of suggested journals in the field of Political Science. Some of these publications are available only in print while others are available online or in print and electronic format.
- Canadian Journal of Political Science
- Perspectives on Politics
- Political Science Quarterly
- Canadian Ethnic Studies
- Ethnic and Racial Studies
- International Feminist Journal of Politics
- Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
- Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics
- Journal of Women, Politics & Policy
- Political Research Quarterly
- Politics & Gender
- Politics, Groups and Identities
- Du Bois Review
OMNI Search engine located on the library home page
use filters on the left hand site and narrow down results to "Books"