If you are just starting out, you may want to use an Assignment Calculator.
This will help you plan your assignment completion based on your due date.
Pick a research topic:
- Read your syllabus (assignment instructions).
- Pick a topic that interests you and meets the assignment instructions.
- Narrow or broaden the scope of your topic so that it is "doable."
What's scope? Scope refers to the "people, places and things" or "who, what, when and where" that you are studying.
Identify key concepts:
Use dictionaries to help with terminology. Encyclopedias provide background information, an overview of topics and issues and often lead you to further readings.
- Dictionary of globalization
- Encyclopedia of international relations and global politics
- Palgrave Dictionary of Transnational History
- The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism
- Colonialism: An International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
- The Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History
- Encyclopedia of Nationalism
- World War I: Encyclopedia
- Oxford Companion to World War II
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War
Online resources like Google and Wikipedia, while not always accurate, are a great way to orient yourself in a topic, since they usually give a basic overview with a brief history and any key points. Reminder: you cannot use Wikipedia as a source in your bibliography!
Searching in a library database is NOT LIKE GOOGLE. You need to learn how to build a proper search in order to get the results you need.
Step 1: Write your topic out in sentence or question form
- What are the legacies of the Great War in a global context?
Step 2: Break your topic sentence up into main ideas or keywords
- Legacies AND Great War AND global
Step 3: Think of synonyms or alternate words to describe each concept
- legacies - aftermath, consequences,
- Great War - World War I, First World War
- global - international, intercontinental
Tip: Use thesaurus, encyclopedias, or a dictionary to find alternate words.
Step 4: Add "Boolean operators" (AND, OR) to make a complete search statement
- Use AND to limit or narrow your search to results that mention all of your keywords.
- legacies AND Great War AND global
- Use OR to broaden your search to include synonyms.
- (legacies OR aftermath OR consequences) AND (Great War OR World War I OR First World War) AND (global OR international OR intercontinental) - Note: you can use as many synonyms for each keyword but OR terms must be bracketed for each term.
Step 5: Add wildcards to search for all possible word endings
A wildcard is usually represented by a *. This is also called truncation.
Your final search string will look like this:
- (legac* OR aftermath OR consequence*) AND (Great War OR World War I OR First World War) AND (global OR international OR intercontinental)
Step 6: Consider Key Phrase searching
Some databases search each word separately. To ensure that your words are evaluated as a key phrase, enclose them in double quotation marks.
- "Great War"
Step 7: Evaluate your results
If you are finding too many or too few results, try these tricks:
To broaden your search (find more):
- Find synonym for each keyword.
- Search for a broader concept ('World War' instead of 'World War I').
- Use wildcards/truncation.
To narrow your search (find fewer):
- Add another concept or idea to your search with AND
- Use more specific words ('World War I' instead of 'World War').
The library's search tool Omni is on the library homepage and lets you do just one search to find books, newspaper articles, journal articles, and other types of resources.
- Use keywords only, do not search using a full sentence. OMNI is not like Google. You cannot type in a question or sentence and get results.
- Use an online thesaurus to help find synonyms for your keywords.
- Use the Step-by-Step Guide to Building your Search above to create your search string.
After doing your search limit or narrow by:
- Peer-Reviewed Journals
- Resource Type
- Publication Date
More information available here.
Omni Searching on the library homepage
Identifying Relevant Articles
- Read the Abstract & Conclusion FIRST - this will give you a good idea if the article is relevant to your topic.
How to do I get material that is not available in the library?
You can order journal articles and print material directly from OMNI now. This service is free and has a very quick turnaround.
Journal articles will be emailed to you and can be available within a few hours.
Print material will be available at the Library Services Desk and you will be notified by email. You can even have your material sent to another university for pick up. For example, if you live downtown, you may want to have your material sent to the University of Ottawa Library.
Watch this video to see how it is done!
If you need assistance with this, contact the Library Services Desk:
- 613-520-2600 ext. 2734
You may not find all you need in OMNI, so your next step should be checking the subject specific library databases.
Use the same Search Tips as found above in Find Books or see the Step-by-Step Guide to Building your Search. The databases are not like Google. You cannot search an entire question or sentence.
Tip: Most databases provide a way to restrict the results of a search to peer-reviewed or academic articles. This may be done differently from database to database.
Databases to use:
- America History and Life (historical database that covers Canada and the US)
- Historical Abstracts (historical database that covers the rest of the world)
- Other History Databases (click on "details" to discover what is covered in each database)
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- International Political Science Abstracts
- PAIS Index
- Google Scholar
DO NOT LIMIT yourself to these databases alone. For example, if you are doing a topic that is economic in nature, check the databases listed under Economics, or if your paper has a feminist slant you will want to look at the databases listed under Women's and Gender Studies. Here is a complete list of Databases by Subject.
Research Skills Tips:
- Start broad, then dive into the specifics. Get a good overview of your topic (see information above in Getting Started...). Then start narrowing down to more specific ideas.
- Learn how to recognize a quality source. Not every source is reliable, so it’s crucial that you recognize good sources. To determine a reliable source, use your analytical skills and critical thinking. Ask yourself the following questions:
- Does this source agree with other sources I have found?
- Is the author an expert in the field?
- Does the author’s point of view have a conflict of interest regarding this topic?
- Verify information from several sources. The internet is a big place, and, for the most part, anyone can say whatever they want online—many websites don’t evaluate their content for factual accuracy. Use the CRAAP test to help determine the accuracy of online information.
- Start early!
- Stay organized
- Use the Library!
Understanding the Academic Articles you read
Reading and comprehending academic articles is not easy. Use the information here to help with this process.
Search OMNI on the library homepage for Academic Writing.
Help is available on campus at the Writing Services.
You may find the following writing resources helpful as well:
- Purdue Online Writing Lab
- Writing the Research Paper Video
- Student research and report writing : from topic selection to the complete paper
- Grammar and style
Tips to avoid plagiarism
- Quoting, Paraphrasing and Summarizing.
- This is an excellent video on paraphrasing which can be a little tricky.
TAKE NOTES: writing down page numbers and references throughout your research is a good way to save time when you need to quote and cite sources
NEVER copy and paste material unless you cite it properly.
At the end of each paper/report you must CITE ALL SOURCES you have used, whether you quote them directly or paraphrase the ideas.
When in doubt, ask for help!
- Citing Your Sources
- Paraphrasing (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
- OWL (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Please contact me for individualized assistance. I am more than happy to help!
- A - Z listing of numerous library topics such as Writing a Book Review and Avoid Plagiarism.
- Visit the Research Help Page.
- Ask a librarian online or by text
If you are interested in figuring out library research on you own, try the Choose your Own Research Adventure pages.