Reference materials are a valuable resource when doing research.
Use dictionaries to help with terminology. Encyclopedias provide background information, an overview of topics and issues and often lead you to further readings.
The library's search tool Omni lets you do just one search to find books, newspaper articles, journal articles, and other types of resources.
Covid 19 Updates:
- Use keywords only, do not search using a full sentence.
- Combine keywords for different ideas with AND
- Search by keyword for specific topics: Globalization AND women
- Or by country: Globalization AND China
- Combine synonyms or similar words for an idea with OR
- Capitalize your AND and OR terms in OMNI
- Use the * at the end of the root of a word to find all the forms of that word
- Use " " quotation marks to find a phrase such as "human rights"
- Resource Type
- Publication Date
More information available here.
Omni Searching on the library homepage
Look for options to create an Alert or a RSS (RSS Made Easy) within a database.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- International Political Science Abstracts
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- PAIS Index
- International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center
For relevant databases in other areas, look at the Subject Guides that best relate to your topic.
- Global Terrorism Database - provides information on domestic and international terrorist attacks around the world since 1970 with annual updates
- Continuum Economics - news monitoring service providing access to articles and analysis on global economic issues.
- PressReader - current coverage of over 1000 newspapers from over 100 countries in more than 60 languages.
- Factiva - global coverage of major news sources
- Canadian Public Documents Collection - Collection of publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library
- NBER (National Bureau of Economics Research) Working Papers
- PolicyFile (U.S. Policy) - Provides access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature.
See a comprehensive list of Think Tanks
Search the OMNI on the library homepage for Academic Writing.
Help is available on campus at the Writing Services.
Others aids for writing include:
- Citation Management - Information & workshops about free citation/document management systems available.
- Cite Your Sources General guide pointing to resources on all the main styles.
- Chicago Style Guide - 16th edition - Purdue Online Writing Lab