Content last reviewed:
This guide introduces students to important resources who are playing the 'Reacting to the Past' game: Chicago 1968.
Books
- 1968: The Election that Changed America
- American Maelstrom: the 1968 election and politics of division
- Chicago 68
- The Sixties: years of hope, days of rage
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American parties, campaigns and election (print only)
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
- The concise Princeton encyclopedia of American political history
Delegates
Hubert H. Humphrey
- The education of a public man; my life and politics
- This day in history: April 27, 1968, Humphrey announces candidacy for President (Video)
Lyndon B. Johnson
- A companion to Lyndon B. Johnson
- To Heal and to Build: the programs of Lyndon B. Johnson (print only)
Robert F. Kennedy
- 85 Days: the last campaign of Robert Kennedy (print only)
- Robert F. Kennedy and the 1968 Indiana Primary
Eugene McCarthy
- Nobody knows; reflections on the McCarthy campaign of 1968 (print only)
- Clean for Gene: Eugene McCarthy's 1968 presidential campaign (print only)
George Wallace
Books
- Battleground Chicago: the police and the 1968 Democratic National Convention (print only)
- Chicago '68
- Chicago 1968: policy and protest at the Democratic National Convention
- Law and Disorder: the Chicago convention and its aftermath (print only)
- Music and protest in 1968
- Rights in conflict: Chicago's 7 brutal days
- Telling it like it was (print only)
- The sixties and the end of modern America (print only)
- Who spoke up? American protest again the war in Vietnam, 1963-1975 (print only)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
- Encyclopedia of World Biography
- A History of War Resistance in America
- Blackwell Companions to American History: a companion to the Vietnam War
- Columbia guide to the Vietnam War
- Historical Dictionary of Vietnam
People
- Abbie Hoffman, American rebel (print only)
- We are everywhere by Jerry Rubin (print only)
- April 4, 1968 Martin Luther King Jr.'s death and how it changed America
- Edward M. Kennedy: an oral history (print only)
Videos
- Police clash with protestors at the 1968 National Democratic Convention in Chicago ca. 1968
- The WPA Film Library: Riots at the DNC 1968 (part 1). Library has access to Parts 1 - 8 via Films on Demand
- Allen Ginsberg
Books
- Chicago 1968: policy and protest at the Democratic National Convention
- Paper soldiers: the American press and the Vietnam War (print only)
- Troubled Pasts: News and the collective memory of social unrest
- Vietnam: explaining America's lost war
Serials
- Dan Rather Reports
- New York Times Archives
- Harper's Magazine (select Periodical Archive Online)
