JOUR 4302 / 5302

Factiva

• Canadian, International and regional newspapers - business sources include:
  • Canada
    • Financial Post (of the National Post) - yes
    • Globe and Mail's Report on Business - yes
    • Toronto Star - yes
  • US / International
    • Financial Times (FT.com) - yes
    • Bloomberg - no
    • Wall Street Journal - yes
• Pros:
  • international coverage; full-text in over 25 languages - best bet for foreign newspapers
  • powerful search with focus on business news
• Cons:
  • limited to 3 users
  • complex search interface and not easy to browse sources without searching
  • subscription excludes some key features (e.g. alerts, exports, and guided search)
• View titles indexed (Excel file) - over 30k sources from 200 countries in 28 languages
• Search tips (note: our subscription excludes personalized customizations like alerts)

Canadian Newsstream

• Canadian Major Dailies
  • Financial Post (of the National Post) - yes
  • Globe and Mail's Report on Business - yes
  • Toronto Star - yes
• Pros:
  • Canadian content
  • Advanced search including multiple news source searching (extensive lookups including organization/company, people & places, and type of news)
• Cons:
  • limited to Canadian content
• View titles indexed - over 400 sources

PressReader

• Canada
  • Financial Post (of the National Post) - yes
  • Globe and Mail's Report on Business - yes (see important Access Notes here)
  • Toronto Star - yes
• US / International
  • Financial Times (FT.com) - no
  • Bloomberg - no (but Bloomberg BusinessWeek Mexico included)
  • Wall Street Journal - no

• Pros:
  • Full digital replicas of print sources (including images, advertisements)
  • Easier to browse, but search limited
• Cons:
  • only rolling 90 days in back-issues (depending upon title)
  • Off-campus access only through Carleton's Virtual Private Network (VPN)

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

• Canada
  • Financial Post (of the National Post) - yes
  • Globe and Mail's Report on Business - no
  • Toronto Star - yes
• US / International
  • Financial Times (FT.com) - yes
  • Bloomberg - various but mostly channel content
  • Wall Street Journal - partial via Wall Street Journal Abstracts

• Pros:
  • Canadian + International news (with special focus on business and legal sources)
  • modern and advanced search
• Cons:
  • Can search, but not browse
  • extensive legal and other content sources may result in too many hits - need to filter by Publication Type and other limiters to exclude some content types

Bloomberg Professional

• Bloomberg Terminals are a standard research platform for financial analysts due to its powerful analytical and research capabilities. These are dedicated computer workstations and not available outside the library.
• Pros:
  • massive in-depth business and news on companies, markets, economies, politics and governments
  • Combines news with real-time company, market and other financial data indicators
• Cons:
  • complex to use initially, and command driven search
  • only available to at our dedicated Bloomberg Terminals on site at MacOdrum Library (back of main floor)
  • need a separate student account
  • re-use of content highly restricted; very proprietary (even with training materials)
• Business subject specialist available for training & orientation

Bloomberg (via Business Source Complete)

Best bet is to access Bloomberg news via Ebsco's Business Source Complete:

• To select one or more Bloomberg publications, browse and select from the Publications menu (top left)
• Direct link examples: Bloomberg Business Week and Bloomberg.com
• Pros:
  • Can browse by issue
  • PDF Full Text includes digital image of print (selected sources)
  • Easy to search
• Cons
  • some indexed fields limited / incomplete in search (e.g. Ticker Symbol)

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (Proquest)

• Canada
  • Financial Post (of the National Post) - yes (but not full-text)
  • Globe and Mail's Report on Business - yes (but not full-text)
  • Toronto Star - yes, with full-text
• US / International
  • Financial Times (FT.com) - yes, partial
  • Bloomberg - no
  • Wall Street Journal - no

The Logic

• "Canada's business and tech newsroom"

Libraries offering news sources - several challenges:

• Access model: the familiar "look & feel" of news sites are not available to us for multi-user campus-wide subscriptions; instead, publishers syndicate content via third party aggregators optimized for large multi-database searching. Discovery via browse is generally not that good and user experience is not consistent across services.
• Date and scope coverage: Some news content won't be indexed in our news databases, and date coverage for any given source will vary between different database offerings
• Competing database aggregators introduces different user interfaces and search capabilities, confusing options, and sometimes scope / date coverage overlaps. You may have to use multiple databases to search the complete publishing record for any given source(s) especially for historical coverage.

Industry Associations & Advocacy

Example government agencies, associations or key trade journals relevant to your industry or sector of interest could include:

• Canada Energy Regulator
• Canadian Grocer
• Canadian Dairy Information Centre
• Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Conference Board of Canada - reports on Canadian economy and industries at the national, provincial and local level
• CRTC - note Carleton's Canadian Media Concentration Research Project
• Retail Council of Canada
• Railway Association of Canada

Corporate Ownership

• Statistics Canada's Inter-Corporate Ownership
• Open Corporates
• Global Investigative Journalism Network on Researching Corporations

Intellectual property, trademarks, law

• Translating legal decisions and developments: Canadian examples (legal blogs); US example for IP developments: see Patently-O