Pick a research topic:
- Read your syllabus (assignment instructions).
- Pick a topic that interests you and meets the assignment instructions.
- Narrow or broaden the scope of your topic so that it is "doable."
What's scope? Scope refers to the "people, places and things" or "who, what, when and where" that you are studying.
Identify key concepts:
Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts:
- Oxford Reference - Use dictionaries to help with terminology. Encyclopedias provide background information, an overview of topics and issues and often lead you to further readings
- Encyclopedia of Government and Politics (online)
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
- Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics (online)
- Handbook of public policy agenda setting
- Routledge handbook of public policy
- The Routledge handbook of global public policy and administration
SAGE Research Methods ( supports beginning and advanced researchers throughout a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings)
Develop a search statement to search databases (including news databases), the catalogue, and other academic sources
A search statement includes a list of keywords, combined using Boolean Operators (AND; OR; NOT)
- AND - this will combine concepts, all of which must be found in your list of results
- China AND debt
- OR - either this concept or that concept (or both). This is helpful for generating a list of synonyms. Use synonyms to anticipate the different ways different authors may refer to the same idea. A thesaurus can be helpful for this
- internet OR web OR online
- NOT - do not include this concept
- advertising NOT magazine
- migration NOT bird
- Quote marks - find a specific phrase
- "human rights", "intellectual property"
- Truncation - any other combination of letters to follow
- canad* - will find canada, canadian, canadian's, etc.
- journalis* - will find journalism, journalist, journalistic, etc.
- Combine one or more of these operators
- Put a list of synonyms in brackets
- specify a date or a range of dates
For example, my topic is to investigate whether or not smartphones have a negative impact on society. My search statement might look something like this:
(smartphone OR "mobile phone" OR "cell phone") AND (societ* OR cultur*)
Remember: if searching in a foreign language newspaper, search terms must be in that language
- Use Google Translate to translate English terms into foreign language
- Government Information - Canadian or International background information
- LegisINFO -information about individual bills, government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills)
- Government of Canada InfoBase - federal data converted into visual stories
- Government of Canada- Departmental results reports
- Government Statistics
- World Bank -open repository
- IMF eLibrary
- United Nations iLibrary
- EIU -country reports & economic data
Subjects: search by topic for statistics, articles and reports Statistics Canada
- Census Program: links to census results from 1996 to 2011
- Census Profile (2016 Census)
- Census Datasets (1981-2016)
- Finding and Using Statistics: provides quick tips on how to find, read and use data.
- Definitions, Data Sources and Methods has terminology and methodology information for Statistics Canada surveys. Direct access to questionnaires is also provided.
For more information explore the guide Canadian Government Information and Statistics
This guide lists selected sources of alternative perspective on topics and events. For the purposes of this guide "alternative" means that which does not represent society's mainstream or dominant ideology. However, some alternative media sources are widely read and could be considered mainstream. Both progressive and conservative resources are included, as both are arguably excluded from the mainstream media.
Selected news publications
- Briarpatch | website
- Canadian Dimension | website
- The Dominion
- Adbusters | website
- The American Prospect | website
- Christian Science Monitor | website
- The Intercept [US]
- In These Times | website
- Mother Jones | website
- Middle East Report | website
- The Nation | website
- New Left Review
- The Patriot Post (conservative)
- ProPublica: Journalism in the Public Interest.
- Utne Reader
- Z magazine | website
These sites compile links to news stories from other sources:
- Alternet provides a mix of news, opinion and investigative journalism; a project of the Indepdendent Media Institute.
- AltWeeklies.com news and arts reporting from more than 100 US and Canadian alternative newsweeklies.
- Bourque Newswatch Canadian breaking news and media links.
- CNSNews.com Conservative news portal.
- Common Dreams News Center US based "Breaking News & Views for the Progressive Community" member funded.
- Drudge Report Popular US news site maintained by controversial, self-styled reporter Matt Drudge; includes numerous links to newspapers, newswires and columnists.
- Institute for Global Communications (IGC) With links to PeaceNet, EcoNet, WomensNet, and Anti-racismNet, the IGC "is a gateway for people who want quick access to alternative news and political analysis, or an easy way to search for information and web sites of progressive organizations."
- Inter Press Service News Agency International, non-profit organization formed of "a network of journalists in more than 100 countries....focuses its news coverage on the events and global processes affecting the economic, social and political development of peoples and nations" no national or political base and pursues the objectives of balanced geographical, ethnic and gender representation.
- MediaChannel "Media issues supersite, featuring criticism, breaking news, and investigative reporting from hundreds of organizations worldwide"; collections of television news clips on various topics.
- Oneworld.net International network of values-based co-operative centers with news from global sources.
- WikiNews News source that anyone can contribute to; searchable by region, country or topic.
Directories of alternative publications and organizations
Use these directories to find alternative news sites and publications by name ( e.g. The Tyee), by type (e.g blog or news weekly), by topic (e.g. health policy or GLBT), or by location published (e.g. Canadian or US publications)
- Alternative Press Centre's Alternative Press on the Web Organized by site name or category.
- BlogsCanada Directory of Blogs Canadian blogs categorized into topics such as Politics, News and Information, Beliefs, Business & Finance, Society, etcetera.
- Care2.com News Network Resources organized by issues such as Environment, World, Business, etcetera.
- independentmedia.ca "A directory of non-corporate journalism" lists Canadian print, online, radio, and TV news, "independent" weeklies, student press, a list of of Canadian directories, and opinion websites.
- Newpages.com Categorised list of independent bookstores, independent publishers, literary periodicals, alternative periodicals, independent record labels, alternative newsweeklies and more.
- ZComm Portal for a range of ZCommunications (ZMag, ZNet, ZBlogs, ZVideo) alternative media operations and projects, including news, print, blogs, and video.
Media watchdog and activist sites
- Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives "Independent, non-partisan research institute concerned with issues of social and economic justice".
- Friends of Canadian Broadcasting Includes Media Monitor, a database of news stories on the broadcasting system, media ownership and cultural policies.
- Your Media.ca Information on Canada's largest media conglomerates; launched 17 March 2004 by Canada/CWA, one of the country's largest media unions.
- Centre for Research on Globalization (globalresearch.ca) an independent, non-profit research and media group of writers, scholars, journalists and activists based in Quebec, featuring news feeds sorted by region and by topic.
US and international
- Adbusters "Articles as well as activist commentary from around the world addressing issues ranging from genetically modified foods to media concentration".
- Accuracy in Media (AIM) Non-profit, grassroots citizens watchdog of the news media that seeks to balance a perceived liberal bias in the mainstream media.
- Centre for Digital Democracy "Preserving the openness and diversity of the Internet in the broadband era, and realizing the full potential of digital communications through the development and encouragement of noncommercial, public interest programming".
- Consumers Union Reports
- FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting) US-based "national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986".
- FreePress (US-based) - "a national nonpartisan organization working to increase informed public participation in crucial media policy debates, and to generate policies that will produce a more competitive and public interest-oriented media system with a strong nonprofit and noncommercial sector".
- MediaChannel "Media issues supersite, featuring criticism, breaking news, and investigative reporting from hundreds of organizations worldwide".
- Media Democracy Project (annual conference Media Democracy Day)
- Media Lens a UK-based media-watch project.
- Media Matters for America "Not-for-profit, progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media".
- Project Censored "Media research group which tracks the news published in independent journals and newsletters and compiles an annual list of 25 news stories of social significance that have been overlooked, under-reported or self-censored by the country's major national news media".
- Pew Research Journalism Project "An initiative by journalists to clarify and raise the standards of American journalism"
- Center for Media and Democracy's PR Watch Project to investigate and expose public relations spin and propaganda. Includes the archives of the PR Watch, a quarterly investigative journal; and SourceWatch, a wiki-based directory of the people, organizations and issues shaping the public agenda (formerly Disinfopedia).
Television, video and radio
- AR: Alternative Radio
- Democracy Now! independent TV and radio news programming.
- Free Speech TV
- Paper Tiger Television "PTTV programs analyze and critique issues involving media, culture and politics."
Blogs, wikis and podcasts
- Between the Lines Weekly podcast of news stories and interviews marginalised by the mainstream press.
- BlogsCanada Directory of Blogs Canadian blogs directory organized into categories. Topics include Beliefs & Causes, News & Media, Politics and Opinions, etcetera.
- BriarBlogs Blogs from the Briarpatch magazine website.
- Columbia Journalism Review "Critique of political journalism; analysis of the larger forces -- political, economic, technological, social legal -- that affect press performance day in and day out; monitoring and critiquing the journalism of the business and financial press."
- Dooney's Cafe: an alternate news source Canadian based opinion, analysis and writing; contributors include Stan Persky, Myrna Kostash, and George Bowering.
- Ethical Martini A look at media ethics, intended for students, journalists, media consumers, and other newsworkers.
- SourceWatch A wiki-based investigative journalism resource from the Center for Media and Democracy.
- Z Blogs Bloggers include Noam Chomsky and Michael Albert.
- Looking for a specific newspaper
- From a single country, a good strategy is to span the political spectrum:
- In Canada: Globe and Mail (centre), Toronto Star (left), National Post (right)
- Wikipedia tends to list a newspaper’s political alignment
- Paper of Record: major newspaper of a country considered an authoritative record of events:
- For international topics:
- Globe and Mail (Canada)
- New York Times (United States)
- The Times of London (United Kingdom)
- Le Monde (France)
- search in OMNI to find a specific newspaper title
- Not all newspapers we subscribe to are indexed in the OMNI
- Once you find newspaper, ensure that coverage goes back far enough
Newspapers, Magazines and Trade Publications(use Boolean Operators)
- Canadian Newsstream - Canadian
- Factiva - Canadian and international
- Nexis Uni - Canadian and international
- PressReader (Full-image international newspapers)
- Academic OneFile
- Business Source Complete
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Lean left/center left Center Lean right/ center right
Information based on the https://mediabiasfactcheck.com/
Explore News Guide for more news-related
How a topic was discussed on television/radio broadcasts; great for interviews/panel discussions with experts
- Scanned images
- Scanned images
- Scanned images
Explore News Guide for more news-related resources
- For international topics:
- Think Tank Search - search limited to think tanks dealing in public policy, including NGOs (non-governmental organizations)
- Google.ca (advance)
- site: - limits your search to a specific site
- site: - limits your search to a specific site
Other search engines
Start with the OMNI search box on the library's homepage: searches most databases and other resources simultaneously
Other useful databases to find journal articles for this course include:
- Business Source Complete
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- International Political Science Abstracts
- America History and Life
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (previously CBCA Complete)
- Canadian Public Documents Collection
- Political Science Database (previously ProQuest Political Science)
- Dissertations and Theses Global