PSYC 2003

To find library resources on the history of psychology related to this course, you can do a subject search in the library search tool Omni using one of the following subject headings:

history - psychology
psychology - experimental - history
psychoanalysis - history
ethnopsychology - history
behaviorism (psychology) -- history
parapsychology - history

The following are a few resources to get you started:

Textbook
A history of modern psychology in context [online] 2010

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the history of psychological theories [online] 2012
Fifty key thinkers in psychology [online] 2004
The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology [online] 2010

Dictionaries
Psychology: the key concepts BF31 .R53 2009
Elsevier’s dictionary of psychological theories BF31 .E44 2006

Handbooks
Oxford handbook of the history of psychology:
global perspectives BF81 .O94 2012

Books
A brief history of modern psychology BF95 .B43 2007
A history of psychology : a global perspective BF81 .S55 2011
Annotated readings in the history of modern psychology BF95 .G66 2010
Putting psychology in its place [online] 2010
Psychology : Pythagoras to present BF81 .M35 2009
Psychology’s territories: historical and contemporary perspective BF121 .P86 2007
from different disciplines
Critique of psychology: from Kant to postcolonial theory [online] 2005
The anatomy of impact: what makes the great works of BF105 .A46 2003
psychology great
Evolving perspectives on the history of psychology [online] 2002
The history of psychology: fundamental questions BF81 .H574 2003
The anatomy of impact : what makes the great works of
psychology great [online] 2003
A century of psychology : progress, paradigms, and
prospects for the new millennium BF105.C44 1997

To search for books on a topic you are researching, do a KEYWORD search using the library search tool Omni.

The following is a sample of books that may be of interest based on the subject areas presented in the course outline. Please click on the call number below for a particular item to see the complete Omni record.
On the Omni record page for the item, by clicking on the call number or subject heading(s) (i.e. under Subject), you will be connected to related resources.

Pre-scientific psychology
The sciences of the soul: the early modern origins of psychology BF101 .V5313 2011
From soul to mind : the emergence of psychology from
Erasmus Darwin to William James BF103.R44
The Problematic science : psychology in nineteenth-century
thought BF103.P76 1982
Psychology and life (MÜnsterburg) [online] 1899
Humanics [online] 1860

Physiology, Psychophysics, and science of the mind
Elements of scientific psychology (Dunlap) [online] 1922
Wilhelm Wundt and the making of a scientific psychology BF105.W54 1980
Opening Skinner's box : great psychological experiments
of the twentieth century BF198.7 .S57 2004
Great psychologists and their times : scientific insights BF109.A1 S56 2002
into psychology's history
Elements of psychophysics (Fechner) BF237.F3313 1860
Psychophysics : a practical introduction BF237 .K53 2016
Mind, brain and adaptation in the nineteenth century:
cerebral localization and its biological context from Gall to Ferrier QP353.Y6 1970
The First century of experimental psychology BF181.F5
Marking the mind : a history of memory [online] 2008
Constructing the subject : historical origins of psychological research BF181 .D27
Constructing scientific psychology : Karl Lashley's mind-brain
debates BF109.L37W45
Intellectual functions and the brain : an historical perspective QP360.M348
Following Charcot : a forgotten history of neurology and psychiatry RC339.52.C453 F65 2011

Germany and psychology
Gestalt psychology in German culture, 1890-1967 BF203.A84
Composing the soul : reaches of Nietzsche's psychology BF109.N54 P37 1994
German psychology of to-day: the empirical school [online] 1886

European psychology
European perspectives in psychology ( 3 volumes) BF108.E85E87
A short history of British psychology, 1840-1940 BF108.G7H4 1964
Changing the rules : psychology in the Netherlands, 1900-1985 BF38.5.D3513 1995
Red Vienna and the golden age of psychology, 1918-1938 BF108.A92G37

History of cognitive psychology
Cognitive psychology in the Middle Ages BF201.K46
The mechanization of the mind : on the origins of cognitive
science BF311 .D84513
The prehistory of cognitive science BF311 .P739 2007
Minds, brains, computers : an historical introduction to the BF311 .H339 2002
foundations of cognitive science

Psychology and medicine
History of psychiatry and medical psychology [online] 2008
Mind, brain and adaptation in the nineteenth century:
cerebral localization and its biological context from Gall to Ferrier QP353.Y6 1970
Principles of physiological psychology (Wundt) [online] 1901
An outline of psychobiology (Dunlap) [online] 1917

History of experimental psychology (Instrumentation and methodology)
A history of modern experimental psychology :
from James and Wundt to cognitive science BF181 .M27 2007
Forty studies that changed psychology: explorations into
the history of psychological research BF105 .H63 2009
Opening Skinner's box : great psychological experiments of
the twentieth century BF198.7 .S57 2004
The Rise of experimentation in American psychology BF181.R57 1988
The First century of experimental psychology BF181.F5 1979
Laboratory studies in operant behavior [online] 1963
Psychology through experiment BF181.H78 1963
Instructor's manual for experiments and demonstrations
in psychology [online] 1940
A history of experimental psychology (Boring) BF95.B6 1929

American psychology
A history of ideas in American psychology BF105 .K45 2001
The origins of behaviorism : American psychology, BF199.O38 1985
1870-1920
Soviet and American psychology during World War II BF105.S68 1997
American psychology since World War II : a profile
of the discipline BF105.G54 1982
The romance of American psychology : political culture
in the age of experts, 1940-1970 BF108.U5 H47 1995
Models of achievement : reflections of eminent
women in psychology BF109.A1 M62

Early schools of psychology
Contemporary schools of psychology [online]
Panorama of psychology BF81 .V37 2011
Psychologies of 1930 [online]
Progress in modern psychology : the legacy of
American functionalism BF201.5.P76
Psychology: theoretical-historical perspectives [online]

Psychoanalysis

History of behaviourism and developmental psychology
Beyond the century of the child : cultural history and
developmental psychology HQ767.87 .B49 2003
History of behavior modification : experimental
foundations of contemporary research BF637.B4K42 1978
Lectures on conditioned reflexes (Pavlov) [online] 1928
Principles of behavior modification (Bandura) RC489.B4B3 1969

Psychology as a profession
Architects of adjustment : the history of the psychological BF108.U5N36
profession in the United States
Psychologists on the march : science, practice, and
professional identity in America, 1929-1969 BF108.U5C36 1999
Psychology and the Department of Veterans Affairs: a historical [online]
analysis of training, research, practice, and advocacy
The professionalization of psychology in Nazi Germany BF108.G3G4813
Professional psychology in Canada BF108.C3P7


Psychology and social action
The psychology of prejudice : from attitudes to social action BF575.P9 J29 2011 [online]


Global psychology
History of psychology in the black experience :
perspectives then and now BF108.A3 O845 2012
The Oxford handbook of the history of psychology : BF81 .O94 2012
global perspectives
Social psychology in South Africa HM251 .S67499 1991
'Race', racism, knowledge production and psychology in DT1756.R297
South Africa
Cultural issues in psychology : a student's handbook [online] 2010
Handbook of Indian psychology BF108.I6 H36 2008
Handbook of cultural psychology GN502 .H385 2007
Internationalizing the history of psychology BF81 .I575 2006
Post-Soviet perspectives on Russian psychology BF108.R8P67
Even the rat was white : a historical view of psychology BF105.G87 1998
From colonial to liberation psychology : the Philippine experience BF108.P6E57
Indian psychology BF108.I6S56 1985
Psychology in the Soviet Union [online] 1998
The Middle East : a cultural psychology GN502 .G76 2005
Psychology of the Japanese people DS821.M4813
The origins of Indian psychology BL1112.57.R43
Handbook of Indian psychology BF108.I6 H36 2008
Asian perspectives on psychology BF108.A8A86
Psychological research in Communist China, 1949-1966 BF108.C48C48 1969

The following databases may be useful in searching for articles related to your topic.
For search strategies for each of these databases, please consult the ppt presentation on database search for this course (posted on CU Learn course page).

1. PsycINFO
2. JSTOR
3. America History and Life
4. Historical Abstracts (non-North American)
5. Scholars' Portal Journals
6. Web of Science
7. Scopus

The journal databases allow you to search for journal articles on a particular topic. You may wish to search a particular journal for articles. The following is a sample of journals in the CU collection that contain articles of historical significance in various areas of psychology.

Journals on the history of psychology in the CU library collection:
History of psychology (1998 - )
Journal of the history of the behavioral sciences (1965 - )
History of the human sciences (1988 - )

Journals on the history of science in the CU library collection:
Annals of science (1936 - )
Archive for history of exact science (1960 - )
British journal for the history of science (1962 - )
Centaurus (1950 - )
Early science and medicine (1996 - )
History of science (1962 - )
ISIS (1913 - )
Osiris (1936 - )
Perspectives on science (1993 - )
Revue d'histoire des sciences (1947 - 1970)
Studies in the history and philosophy of science (1970 - )

You will find some journal articles on various aspects of the history of psychology in some of the following core psychology journal archives in the CU library

Acta psychologica (1935 - )
American psychologist (1946 - )
L’année psychologique (1894 - )
Annual review of psychology (1950 - )
British journal of psychology (1953 - )
British journal of mathematical and statistical psychology (1965 - )
British journal of medical psychology (1997 - )
Canadian psychologist (1950 – 1974)
continued by Canadian psychological review (1975 – 1979)
continued by Canadian Psychology (1980 - )
Character and personality (1932 - )
Contemporary psychology (1956 – 2004)
continued by PsycCRITIQUES (2004 - 2017)
International journal of psychology (1966 - )
Journal of abnormal psychology (1906 - 1921)
continued by Journal of abnormal psychology and social psychology (1921 - 1925)
continued by Journal of abnormal and social psychology (1925 - 1964)
Journal of applied psychology (1917 - )
Journal of comparative psychology (1921 - )
Journal of experimental psychology ( 1916 – 1974)
continued by: Journal of experimental psychology. Animal behavior processes (1975 - ), and:
Journal of experimental psychology. General, (1975 - ) and:
Journal of experimental psychology. Human learning and memory, (1975 - ) and:
Journal of experimental psychology. Human perception and performance.(1975 - )
Journal of experimental research in personality (1965 - 1973)
Journal of general psychology (1928 - )
The Pedagogical seminary and journal of genetic psychology by volume (1891- 1953)
continued by Journal of genetic psychology ( 1954 - )
Journal of humanistic psychology (1961 - )
Journal of personality (1932 -)
Journal of philosophy, psychology and scientific methods (1904 – 1920)
continued by Journal of philosophy (1921 - )
Journal of the experimental analysis of behavior (1958 - )
Mind (1876 - )
Psychological bulletin (1904 - )
Psychological reports (1955 - )
Psychological research (1974 - )
Psychological review (1894 - )
Psychonomic studies (1964 – 1972) split into:
Bulletin of the psychonomic society (1973 – 1993) followed by:
Psychonomic bulletin review (1994 – 2000) followed by Cognitive, affective & behavioral neuroscience
Animal learning and behavior (1973 -1993) followed by Learning and behavior (2003 - )
Physiological psychology (1973 – 1986) followed by Psychobiology (1987 - )
Memory and cognition (1973- )
Scandinavian journal of psychology (1960 - )
Soviet Psychology (1966 – 1991)
continued by Journal of Russian and East-European psychology (1992 - )
Theoria (1935 - )

Primary sources
Primary sources are documents/artefacts created at the time of an event or shortly thereafter by an individual(s) who observed or witnessed the event and/or collected data from that event. Some documents written after the event such as autobiographies could also be considered as primary sources.

In other words, primary sources could be:

1. Original works such as diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, film footage, autobiographies, official records, personal narratives, empirical articles

2. Physical artefacts such as instruments, tools


Finding primary resources in the CU library collection

1. Books as primary sources
To find primary sources (books written by pioneers in psychology), you may wish to search the PsycBOOKS collection or do an AUTHOR search in our own library search tool Omni using the author's name. These resources will provide you with insight on how these pioneer researchers developed emerging fields of study in psychology.
Here is an example:
Author: Boring, Edwin Garrigues
An AUTHOR search in Omni (with the added filter, "books") brought up 14 results. By doing an author search in the PsycBOOKS collection, you will find 3 results.

You may also consider looking up resources such as lecture series or special historical collections. Simply do a keyword search in Omni using the lecture name and/or limit your search to a particular time period.
For example, a search for the Woodworth, Robert Sessions brought up a number of documents from that collection.
Another such example comes from :
Columbia University lectures: dynamic psychology (1918)
This book presents enlarged and modified versions of the the Jesup Lectures for 1916-1917, given at the American Museum of Natural History with the cooperation of Columbia University. Topics of discussion include: Modern Movement in Psychology; Problems and Methods of Psychology; Native Equipment of Man; Acquired or Learned Equipment; Factor of Selection and Control; Factor of Originality; Drive and Mechanism in Abnormal Behavior; and Drive and Mechanism in Social Behavior.

Other historical e-book collections you may wish to search in our library include:
Project Gutenburg (select Psychology under the Book Category link)
PsycBOOKS (search via PROQUEST using the advanced search feature) search by author or keyword and limit your search to a particular time period

Correspondance/letters by pionners in psychology are also useful as they provide more personal accounts of developments of a particular research area. You can search the CU library collection for these resources by doing a keyword search using the name of the pionneer along with the term correspondance or letters.

Eg. Sigmund Freud and letters

Note: Please be aware that the terminology may differ for a particular historical period.
For example, the following document describes the process of learning in young children as "brain stuffing".

Brain stuffing and forcing [microform] / by Daniel Clark (1887)
FC18.C15 N. 01601

Journal articles as primary sources: how to find them in the CU library collection

PsycINFO
Empirical articles would fit the definition of a primary sources. To find these types of articles, limit your search in PsycINFO to "empirical article" (under the methodology heading). Search using either keywords to describe the area of interest (eg. psychoanalysis) and limit your search to a specific historical date range and/or pioneer researcher (limit to an author search).

Into the mind (2011)
Classic studies in psychology (2009)
B. F. Skinner: A Fresh Appraisal (2011)
Classical and operant conditioning (2005)
Obedience (1965)
Jung speaks of Freud (1957)
Race and Intelligence: Science's Last Taboo (2011)
Asylum: history of the mental institution in America (2006)
Madness: history (2005)

VHS format
Dr Gordon Allport, Part 1. (1964) (also online)
Jung speaks of Freud (1957)
Obedience (1965)

Classic experiments
Stanford prison experiment
Albert Bandura's bobo doll experiment
Asch conformity experiments
Little Albert experiment
Visual clift experiment
B.F. Skinner's operant conditionning chamber
B.F. Skinner's pigeon ping pong experiment
Unconscious motivation instructional film 1949
Comparative tests on a chimp and human infant pt1 1931-1932
Lobotomy - PBS documentary on Walter Freeman

Scholarly societies and associations
Cheiron: The International Society for the History of Behavioral & Social Sciences
European Society for the History of the Human Sciences
Forum for the History of Human Science
History & Philosophy Section of the British Psychological Society
History & Philosophy of Psychology Section of the Canadian Psychological Association
History of Science Society
International Society for the History of the Neurosciences
International Society for Psychophysics
Society for the History of Psychology (American Psychological Association Division 26)
Canadian Society for the history and philosophy of science

e-collections
The History of Psychology - e-text about the historical and philosophical background of psychology (C. George Boeree)
study guide and practice quizzes also available
History and theory of psychology Eprint archive (York University, Christopher D. Green)

Timelines
Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues historical timeline
Milestones in neuroscience research
Today in the history of psychology
EPoCH (tool developed by the Open University to explore the development of thinking in psychology across time as well as within social and
historical contexts).
Historical figures in social psychology
History of psychology archives

Websites of physical archives
APA history and archives
Archives of the history of American psychology - University of Akron
Brass Instrument Psychology at the University of Toronto
History of Psychology collection at Barnard University
Museum of the history of science collection (Oxford)
Museum of the history of psychological instrumentation at Montclair State University

Collections of primary source texts
Classics in the History of Psychology - on-line full texts of 250+ historically significant primary source articles, chapters, & books (Christopher D. Green, Ed.)
Fondation Jean Piaget - Collection of primary sources by, and secondary sources about, Jean Piaget (in French; edited by Jean-Jacques Ducret and Wolfgang Schachner)

Biographies
People in psychology (UC Santa Barbara)

Multimedia resources
This week in the history of psychology (podcasts, Christopher, D. Green, York University)
All about psychology (video collection)
An oral history of Gestalt therapy

Blogs (subscribe to their RSS feeds for regular updates)
Advances in the history of psychology (Christopher, D. Green, York University)
Centre for the history of psychology at the University of Akron
History of psychology roundup (PsychCentral)
Iberoamerican Network of Researchers in the History of Psychology (RIPeHP)

The Library’s Cite Your Sources web page provides a list of tools and guidance on how to properly reference sources that are used to write term papers.

RefWorks is a web-based tool that lets you create, manage, and format bibliographies and papers in a wide variety of styles (APA, MLA,…)

For research and writing guides, search the library catalogue – try a subject search using:
Report writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Some recommended writing guides :

The brief Penguin handbook (2nd edition)
PE1408 .F24 2010
1 copy on Reserve (RSV/1st edition)
1 copy at the Research Help Desk

Effective writing in psychology : papers, posters,and presentations
BF76.7 .B45 2012

How to write in psychology : a student guide
BF76.8 .B425 2009

Making sense: A student’s guide to research and writing: psychology and the life sciences
BF76.7 .N67 2005