Content may be out of date
Use the library search tool Omni to search for books, e-books, government documents, dissertations, conference proceedings available in the Carleton University Library.
Use the TITLE option if you know the title of a book.
Use the AUTHOR option (last name, first name), if you know the author of a book in the Omni advance search feature.
If you trying to find books on a topic in the library, do a KEYWORD search in Omni. Use quotations around search phrases (e.g. “five-factor model"). When you find a book that is relevant to your research, scroll down and look at the SUBJECT headings. Select the appropriate SUBJECT heading and follow the link that will lead you to other relevant books available in our library.
Some examples of books available in our library on the topic of personality:
The evolution of personality and individual differences BF698.9.B5 E86 2011
Personality traits : theory, testing and influences BF698.5 .P47 2011
Handbook of personality and self-regulation BF698 .H63 2010
Personality from biological, cognitive, and social perspectives BF698 .P3695 2010
Personality traits : classifications, effects and changes BF698 .P373 2010
The Cambridge handbook of personality psychology BF698 .C36 2009
Personality : classic theories and modern research BF698 .F744 2009
The psychology of personality : viewpoints, research, and applications BF698 .C177 2009
Personality psychology : domains of knowledge about human nature BF698 .L3723 2008
Finding resources at other libraries using their catalogue:
University of Ottawa
WorldCat (Catalogue of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Offers Over 62,000,000 million bibliographic records.)
Library and Archives Canada
Centre for Research Libraries (CRL)
Library of Congress
British Library
To search for journal articles on a topic, use the databases listed under Psychology. Here are a few recommended databases for research on personality psychology:
PsycINFO
Contains citations with abstracts to articles and other documents in all areas of psychology and the behavioural sciences.
Produced and updated weekly by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Date Coverage: 1806-present; book content from 1987-present
Fulltext: No
PsyArticles
Provides access to articles in APA journals on current issues in psychology
Date Coverage: 1988 - present
Fulltext: Yes
Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations with abstracts to articles, books and other written materials on sociology Topics include methodology, history, and technology of sociology; social psychology; group interactions; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena; social change; rural and urban sociology; sociology of religion, arts, education, science ; social welfare; community development; planning and forecasting; studies in poverty and violence; clinical sociology.
Date Coverage: 1952 - present
Fulltext: No
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
Provides worldwide coverage available of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. More than half of Scopus content originates from Europe, Latin America and the Asia Pacific region. Updated daily.
Date Coverage: 2000 - present
Fulltext: No
To find articles on your topic, start with a keyword search. To retrieve a copy of an article in non-fulltext databases, use the GET IT! to determine if the library has access to a copy of that article.
