RELI 5780 | MacOdrum Library

We [I] would like to begin by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg people.

Finding Books

Omni

Use Omni to find books, government documents, conference proceedings, and journals. This search tool makes it easy to locate many types of library materials in the MacOdrum Library. Key in the search term in the Basic Search screen. This is the default search interface. More search options are available in Advanced Search:

If you know the title of the item you seek, perform a TITLE search.
If you know the author, perform an AUTHOR search. Enter the author's name with the surname first.
Otherwise, try a KEYWORD or SUBJECT search.

Search Tips
Join concepts together using AND and OR

Use AND when the concepts are not related such as religion AND society. This narrows the search as both of those words must be in the information that is being returned.

Use OR when the concepts are similar, and it does not matter which word is found in the information that is being returned. For instance, church OR religion. This broadens the search.

Use truncation when you want to allow for several spellings or variations on a word. For instance, religi* will retrieve religion, religions, religious.

Once you find one or more good books, look at the SUBJECT headings that have been used. Follow those SUBJECT heading links to find related books.

Other Search Tools:
- HathiTrust Digital Library
- University of Ottawa
- WorldCat
  Database of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Offers Over 62,000,000 million bibliographic records.
- Library and Archives Canada
- Centre for Research Libraries (CRL)
- Library of Congress
- British Library

Reference Resources

Use reference materials for an overview and background information for your topic, or to find good keywords to use when searching databases. These are dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, bibliographies, indexes and abstracts.

To find reference materials in Omni, perform a KEYWORD or SUBJECT search
for example - KEYWORD search: religion AND canad* AND encyclop*
for example - SUBJECT search: religion encyclopedias

Examples:

Oxford Reference (Online) Gateway to dictionaries and encyclopedia in Religion and Philosophy.
SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias
Encyclopaedia Iranica / Ehsan Yarshater (1996-)
Encyclopaedia Judaica / Fred Skolnik, Michael Berenbaum (2007)
Encyclopaedia of Islam / H.A.R. Gibb (1960-) DS37.E523 (vols. 1-11)
Encyclopedia of Religion / Lindsay Jones (2005) (2004)
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'¯an / Jane Dammen McAuliffe (2001) (Online at HathiTrust)
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America / Rosemary Skinner Keller, et. al. (2006) BL458.E527 2006
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals / Frank A. Salamone (2004) (Internet Archive)
Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology / Alan Barnard, Jonathan Spencer (2010) (2002) (print.- 1996)
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences / Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes (2002)

eBook Collections

Brill Carleton University subscribes to two subfiles: Middle East and Islamic Studies (2007-2011) and Social Sciences (2010-2011).
Canadian Publishers Collection Includes major Canadian University Presses, among them the University of Toronto Press, the UBC Press, Les Presses de l'Université du Québec and McGill-Queen's University Press.
Columbia International Affairs Online
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Ebook Central includes ebooks from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press and Taylor & Francis
Scholars Portal Books Fulltext available for books from the following publishers: Springer, Oxford University Press, American Psychological Association, Cambridge University Press, Canadian presses and government and non-governmental organizations
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 Collection from University of California Press on a wide range of topics.
Wiley Online Journals

See a full list of ebook collections.

Finding Journal Articles

Look for a Subject Guide on the discipline of your topic. Explore multiple guides when a topic is multidisciplinary.

Relevant Subject Guides include

Select Journal Articles tab or Databases Tab to see a list of relevant indexes and databases.

Recommended Databases

America: History and Life
Anthropology Plus
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
CPI.Q
Sociological Abstracts
Web of Science (contains Social Sciences Citation Index)

Also consult multidisciplinary databases such as:

Citation Searching

Citation databases will list articles that cite earlier published articles.

Web of Science
Select Cited Reference Search and search by surname and first inital * of author.

Scopus
Select Author Search from menu bar.

Tips for effective searching -

If you find one relevant article for your reseach it can lead to other relevant papers by the following:

using the databases, including Omni, look to find all papers & books published by the author or co-authors
explore the bibliography in the paper for sources
using Web of Science or Scopus, look for articles that cite the article you found. Remember, some databases will also list citing articles but those lists are limited to the current database. The Web of Science and Scopus are more comprehensive, with coverage from multiple databases.

News Sources

Consult News for details of news sources.

Tips for searching newspaper databases.

For current Canadian newspapers/news:

Canadian Newsstream
Canadian Business & Current Affiars Database transcripts of CBC (TV and radio) and CTV (TV) news shows
CBC News Newswork Archive (formerly CBCNewsWorld): The Library has an archival collection of videotapes of the 24-hour programming output of the CBC Newsworld channel, commencing with September 1991.
Eureka.cc
Factiva
Nexis Uni

For historical Canadian & other newspapers:

The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844 (1844-2014)
New York Times Archives 1851-2014
Toronto Star: Pages of the Past 1894 - 2015
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
Christian Science Monitor (Daily) and Weekly (2009- )
The Sun (New York), 1833-1916 ; 1916-1920
Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780
Washington Post (1877-2001)

For international sources:

Primary Sources

Library guide defining Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources.
Help Guides from other universities can also help -
What are primary sources? from Yale University

A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the period being studied. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Also included are works created later by an eyewitness or a participant in an event, e.g. memoirs/autobiographies.

Types of primary sources:

Original documents (including excerpts and translations): diaries, speeches, manuscrips, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records, ancient literature, magazine and newspaper articles.
Creative works: poetry, drama, novels, printed music, sound recordings, art.
Relics or artefacts: pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings.
Statistics and raw data
Reproductions, facsimiles or replicas of original documents, creative works or artefacts are also acceptable as primary sources.

Examples of primary sources:

Reports and Documents from the Ontario Ministry of Education.
The life and letters of Annie Leake Tuttle: working for the Best
The Constitution of Canada
Newspaper article from the time an event occurred
Photographic reproduction of Benjamin Chee Chee's "Dancing Goose"
Sacred texts
Publications, speeches etc from church or religious groups.
Vatican
The Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter Day Saints

Finding primary sources in the library collection

Original documents can be found by consulting the Archives and Special Collections (ARC) website.
Reproductions can be found by checking Omni.

Use specific words to locate primary sourcees in the library's search tool, such as: correspondence, sources, diaries, letters, personal naratives. KEYWORD search examples:

[PERSON’S NAME] AND [SUBJECT]: correspondence
[PERSON’S NAME] AND [SUBJECT]: diaries
[PERSON’S NAME] AND [SUBJECT]: letters
[KEYWORD] AND [SUBJECT]: sources

In the library's electronic and microform collections

Early English Books Online
Canadiana
Peel's Prairie Provinces
CIHM (Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions)
Microfiche reproductions from the time of the first European settlers to the 1920s. Items can be searched in Omni by entering relevant KEYWORDS or SUBJECTS and adding AND CIHM to the search

Historical Digital Newspapers

Government Information

Canadian Parliamentary Publications (Pre-Confederation)
Canada Year Book 1867-1967 available online (Statistics Canada)
Official Reports of the Debates of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada (1883-86 to 1896-1900 - Early Canadiana) ; (1901- lipad) ; (1881-1950 DDV CA1 X1 .D23)
House of Commons Debates, Official Report (various years)
Documents on Canadian External Relations
Historical Statistics of Canada

For more assistance, go to the Government Information Webpages

Available on the Internet

Original documents are usually unique, so they are kept in a place of preservation such as archives and libraries Archives Canada, Library and Archives Canada, ARCHEION, and Archives of Ontario. Many of these institutions have undertaken digitization projects to make their holdings more accessible. This is only a select list of websites that have primary sources available free on the Web.

Artefacts Canada
Discover the Collection (Library and Archives Canada)
Early Chinese Canadians 1858-1947 (Library and Archives Canada) (Archived Content)
First Among Equals: The Prime Minister in Canadian Life and Politics (Library and Archives Canada) (Archived Content)

Various speeches by Canadian Prime Ministers

For American primary sources, see the Subject Guide: American History: Finding and Using Primary Sources, Newspapers and Archives.

Centre for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
A great institution to check for historical documents, newspapers, journals, archives and other sources. "The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery." Carleton University Library is a mermber of CRL.

Research Methods - Qualitative Research

NVivo
NVivo is just one of many software packages available that can help you with qualitative data analysis. Keep track of all data associated with your project, code your data, create models to help organize your research, run queries on your coded data, create charts and reports for sharing with others...

NVivo workshops are offered every term.

In Omni search by Subject under Qualitative Research to find books in the collection, including:
Dictionary of qualitative inquiry / Thomas A Schwandt (2001) (Online at HathiTrust)
Encyclopedia of evaluation / Sandra Mathison (2005) (Onine at HathiTrust) (online)
Focus groups: a selective annotated bibliography / Graham R. Walden (2008-) (Onine at HathiTrust)

Theses and Dissertations

To find theses and dissertations start with:

OR... View the full list of our theses and dissertations databases.