SOCI 2040 Phillip Primeau

George Boole: George Boole (Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy) >professor of mathematics at Queen’s University, Cork, Ireland 1849-64

• Boolean logic is credited with laying the foundations for the information age

• Created an algorithm using words as I/O (number) values

• Words cloak numeracy

No general method for the solution of questions in the theory of probabilities can be established which does not explicitly recognize, not only the special numerical bases of the science, but also those universal laws of thought which are the basis of all reasoning, and which, whatever they may be as to their essence, are at least mathematical as to their form. -Wikipedia

Boolean operators/joiners AND, OR, NOT

• Word order

> Comment on: Big pond/small fish v small pond/big fish > where 1+1=2 doesn’t work (1+1=0)

• Math function order

>Comment on acronym: bedmas - Google Search

Search string

No operators: robert smith carleton university library - Google Search

2m records

All operators: (robert OR smith) +carleton* +university -library - Google Search

<100 records

10 Tips

1. Keywords: comb through the text for words; like an index
2. Subject words: find content; like ToC
3. Google has no index it crawls the web each time. We pay publishers…
4. Meaning: Apple >tech or fruit >tablet
5. Natural language not controlled vocabulary ?
6. only first term(s) searched entirely >other keywords are ‘conditional’ or keyed on the first term(s) used
7. Spelling: >fiber >fibre, color, labor
8. Stop words: do not use punctuation, conjunctions, articles, prepositions >except in “phrase” searches >main title not subtitle
9. UPPERCASE use for all search engines
10. Use mostly adjectives > adjective forms are positive, comparative, and superlative >tall, taller, tallest. Often end in: -able, -ous, -er, -est

Evaluating sources

• 4-step source assessment (acrl.org)

Selected LCSH

>Show dropdown b/w kw and sw

1. Appetite disorders
2. Diet -- history
3. Dinners and dining -- History
4. Dinners and dining -- Religious aspects -- Christianity
5. Food -- History
6. Food -- Psychological aspects
7. Food -- Religious aspects
8. Food -- Religious aspects -- Hinduism
9. Food -- Social aspects
10. Food -- Social aspects -- History
11. Food habits -- History
12. Food preferences -- History
13. Food supply -- History
14. Gastronomy
15. Nutrition -- Psychological aspects
16. Sociology of Culture

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Suggested reading

1. America's Eating Habits: Changes and Consequences
2. Critical perspectives in food studies
3. Encyclopedia of food and culture
4. Encyclopedia of food science research
5. Food History – A Bibliographic Database
6. Food History and Legends
7. Food of the western world
8. Food Timeline
9. Global food history
10. The Cambridge world history of food
11. The concise encyclopedia of foods & nutrition
12. The food chronology : a food lover's compendium of events and anecdotes, from prehistory to the present
13. The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America

Food Studies - Selected Journals

Cultural & Social

1. Anthropology of Food
2. Canadian Food Studies
3. CuiZine: the Journal of Canadian Food Cultures/Revue des Cultures culinaires au Canada
4. Food and Foodways
5. Food, Culture, and Society
6. Gastronomica: the Journal of Critical Food Studies
7. Global Food History
8. Graduate Journal of Food Studies : a peer-reviewed journal on food studies for graduate students
9. Journal for the Study of Food and Society
10. Journal of social history (Online)
11. Nutritional Anthropology
12. The senses & society

Business (Marketing and More)

1. Canadian Grocer
2. Food and Drink
3. Food Engineering
4. Food Management
5. Food Manufacture
6. Food Policy
7. Food Security
8. International Journal of Food Engineering
9. QSR Magazine

Science & Engineering Approaches

1. Critical Reviews in Food Science & Nutrition
2. Cyta: Journal of Food
3. Flavour
4. Food & Function
5. Food Bioscience
6. Food Research International (Canadian Food Institue...)
7. Food Reviews International
8. Food Science & Nutrition
9. Food Science and Technology International
10. Frontiers in Nutrition
11. Journal of Culinary Science & Technology
12. Journal of Food Measurement and Characterization
13. Innovative Food Science and Emerging Technologies
14. Journal of Food Biochemistry
15. Journal of Food Engineering
16. Molecular Nutrition and Food Research
17. Trends in Food Science and Technology

Data

• Statistics Canada - Finding Data | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)

Journal metrics

• Journal Citation Reports: lets you see how journals in various disciplines are ranked by measures such as impact factor (average number of citations per article).
• Measuring your Research Impact | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)

Citation Management

• Save time and be organized by using some kind of citation management tool such as Zotero, Mendeley for all of the references you are collecting during your research. Most tools can turn your references into properly formatted bibliographies, and with additional plug-ins they can allow you to easily insert your citations into your papers as you write. We provide one-on-one support for a number of these tools.

See our Citation Management page for more information.

• APA | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)

Institutional repository

• Search Whole Repository | CURVE (carleton.ca)

1. Conducting a Literature Review | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)
2. I need help creating a thesis statement | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)
3. Writing an Annotated Bibliography | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)
4. Writing an Annotated Bibliography Video | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)
5. Writing an Outline for your essay | MacOdrum Library (carleton.ca)