Women and Health Fall 2022

How to search

George Boole: George Boole (Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy) >professor of mathematics at Queen’s University, Cork, Ireland 1849-64

  • Boolean logic is credited with laying the foundations for the information age

  • Created an algorithm using words as I/O (number) values

  • Words cloak numeracy

No general method for the solution of questions in the theory of probabilities can be established which does not explicitly recognize, not only the special numerical bases of the science, but also those universal laws of thought which are the basis of all reasoning, and which, whatever they may be as to their essence, are at least mathematical as to their form. -Wikipedia

Boolean operators/joiners AND, OR, NOT

  1. Conjunction expressed as: x AND y - Google Search, x +y - Google Search

  • generates binary results (0s and 1s)

  • is used to decrease screen results

  1. Disjunction expressed as a bracketed statement (x OR y) - Google Search

  • is used to increase screen results

  1. Negation expressed as x NOT y - Google Search, x -y - Google Search

  • is used to exclude terms from screen results

  1. Multiplication expressed as *

  • is used to expand stem words >prefixes >suffixes

  1. Phrase

  1. NumRange 2017-2022 - Google Search

Word order

> Comment on: Big pond/small fish v small pond/big fish

> where 1+1=2 doesn’t work (1+1=0)

  1. x - Google Search
  2. y - Google Search
  3. x y - Google Search
  4. y x - Google Search

Math function order

>Comment on acronym: bedmas - Google Search

  1. Division ()
  2. Multiplication *
  3. Addition AND
  4. Subtraction NOT

Search string: robert smith carleton university library - Google Search

2m records

All operators: (robert OR smith) +carleton* +university -library - Google Search

<100 records

10 Tips

  1. Keywords comb through the text for words; like an index
  2. Subject words find content; like ToC
  3. Google has no index it crawls the web each time. We pay publishers…
  4. Meaning: Apple >tech or fruit >tablet
  5. Natural language not controlled vocabulary ?
  6. only first term(s) searched entirely >other keywords are ‘conditional’ or keyed on the first term(s) used
  7. Spelling: >fiber >fibre, color, labor
  8. Stop words: do not use punctuation, conjunctions, articles, prepositions >except in “phrase” searches >main title not subtitle
  9. UPPERCASE use for all search engines
  10. Use mostly adjectives > adjective forms are positive, comparative, and superlative >tall, taller, tallest. Often end in: -able, -ous, -er, -est

Research tools

  1. Article indexes and databases
  2. Borrowing privileges
  3. Cited reference searching
  4. Citing your sources
  5. Current awareness
  6. Data Centre
  7. Electronic books
  8. Government documents
  9. Interlibrary loans
  10. Journal Search - sociology (exlibrisgroup.com)
  11. News resources
  12. Omni help
  13. Open access
  14. Other libraries
  15. Research methods
  16. Search engines
  17. Theses and dissertations
  18. Videos >streaming

Subject headings

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) use controlled vocabulary to access and express the subject content of documents. This is a searchable index. Please click on a link below to discover the Library's holdings in this area:

  • Add keywords
  • Use the filters on the left of the resulting screen
  • Typical filters are Available Online and Peer Reviewed Journals
  1. Besant, Annie, 1847-1933 (exlibrisgroup.com)
  2. Clinical Trials as Topic
  3. Demographic aspects
  4. Engel, George L. (exlibrisgroup.com)
  5. Feminism
  6. Health -- Sex differences
  7. Human Experimentation
  8. Human rights in patient care
  9. Knowlton, Charles, 1800-1850 (exlibrisgroup.com)
  10. Malthus, T. R (Thomas Robert), 1766-1834 (exlibrisgroup.com)
  11. Marginality
  12. Medical care -- Sex differences
  13. Minority & ethnic groups
  14. Patient Selection
  15. Sexual and reproductive rights
  16. Trials
  17. Women -- Health and hygiene -- Sociological aspects >International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) (who.int)
  18. Womens rights

Databases

  1. Databases tagged 'Sociology'
  2. Databases by 'Type'
  3. Online journals by 'Subject'

Other suggested databases

  1. Canadian Public Documents Collection: Curated collection of monograph publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of Canadian public policy, health and medical research. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and Canadian Health Research Collection.
  2. CINAHL Database: Premier database for nursing and allied health literature.
  3. EBSCO Databases: Provides access to all databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. You may select multiple databases and search them simultaneously.
  4. Gender Studies Database: The database contains articles and other documents in the field of gender studies.
  5. Google Scholar: Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature from many disciplines and sources. Indexes peer reviewed articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.
  6. JSTOR: Digital library of academic journals, books and primary sources.
  7. Minority Health and Health Equity Archive: an electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy from uMaryland
  8. National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) - CDC: An overview of surveys and programs administered by the National Center for Health Statistics that have been completed.
  9. ODESI: search for "Health statistics at a glance" covers information on socio-economic risk factors or determinants of health, health status, new information on health outcomes, expanded information on utilization of the health care system, and causes of death. The indicator tables show extended time series for Canada, provinces and territories.
  10. Project MUSE: A collection of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
  11. ProQuest Databases: ProQuest provides access to a number of databases that cover most subject areas.
  12. PubMed: Provides access to citations covering all areas of medicine and associated fields.
  13. ScienceDirect Journals: Provides access to Elsevier journals in the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences and social sciences.
  14. World Health Organization: The World Health Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health.

Course objective

Critically assess the biomedical model and unpack lived experiences within health care systems >Identify the social, political, economic, and cultural factors affecting women’s lives, jobs, and health

  1. Internet search engine: (social OR political OR economic OR cultural) factors... - Google Scholar
  2. Academic search engine: Omni - Carleton University Library - biomedical model (exlibrisgroup.com)
    Content last reviewed: