Digital rights management (DRM) is an approach to copyright protection for digital media that can include publisher restrictions on borrowing time, number of simultaneous users, and the copying and printing permissions of ebook pages. Bluefire Reader is the recommended app to use from most ebook publishers, in accessing DRM ebooks on your iPhone, iPad etc. With Bluefire Reader you can read EPUB and PDF eBooks, using an Adobe login and password.

Carleton University Library has several ebook collections that require an Adobe ID and Adobe Digital Editions including:

Note: Before downloading an ebook, it is recommended to complete the following setup process, to avoid download complications.

Setting up your Adobe ID and Bluefire Reader

Click here to set up your free Adobe ID account. This ID and login are limited for use on six (6) personal devices.

Note: Record all login information for future use.

Download the Bluefire Reader app from your devices App Store

Install and open the free app.

Authorize your device(s) with Bluefire Reader and Adobe ID

To read ebooks on a device (or multiple devices) you will need to authorize each of them using your Adobe ID. (If you haven't yet set up an Adobe ID, you will be prompted to do so)

Enter the Adobe ID and password that you have registered (and made note of) and click "Authorize" to authorize your personal device. You are now set up to borrow ebooks.

Downloading ebooks and reading with Bluefire Reader

To access ebooks, search, for example, Omni or check the Databases: EBook Collections page. From there, select a database and browse the selection of titles we have access to.

Note: We may not have access to all e-resource material within a given database. Most database subscriptions vary over time, with new titles being added or others removed from the collection.

Most databases include their own online reader that enables users to read ebooks within the browser screen. Ebooks that are issued as EPUB files, also offer a better reading experience, making it easier to resize text on various screen sizes (including mobile devices) BlueFire Reader is recommended by database providers for mobile devices. (The equivalent, Adobe Digital Editions, is recommended for Desktop/PC devices)

In order to borrow (or download) an entire book for a longer period of time, many ebook databases require additional logins. These are personal accounts set up on their platforms, and may provide additional features such as, placing a "Hold" on an item, highlighting text, sharing references etc.

Note: These personal accounts (logins) are used along with your MyCarletonOne. It is best to set these up in advance, again, making note of all login credentials.

When you select an ebook to download, follow the prompts. Once the download is complete, it should automatically detect Bluefire Reader and the cover of the title should appear within the main Library screen of the app (providing everything has been registered and authorized correctly)

The following screen shots provide an example of the "Full Download" process of a title to Bluefire Reader, from within the EBSCO ebook collection database

Enter your registered personal account login credentials for the platform/database.

Choose your loan period. This will vary depending on the publisher.

Ensure you have checked off "I have Adobe Digital Editions or equivalent installed"

EPUB format is recommended for mobile devices.

The downloaded file ending in “*acsm” will prompt you to open it within a reader app. Choose Bluefire Reader as recommended.

Note: *ACSM stands for Adobe Content Server Manager. A file ending with this extension, is not the actual ebook file, but a license file that manages the download of the ebook. It is compatible with Bluefire Reader and the equivalent software, Adobe Digital Editions.

Since ebook files can vary in size, some download times may take longer to complete.

Once the download is complete, the ebook cover will appear in the main Bluefire Reader Library screen.

The book cover provides information on the remaining loan period status of the borrowed item. When the borrowing period is over, the title will no longer be available for reading on your device. More details can be found under the Info tab. You also have the option to return the title before the loan period has ended.

Scroll along the bottom to quickly access certain chapters, or follow the arrows to turn the pages.

Details on printing and copying permissions of ebooks

Each ebook will provide details, including permissions related to printing and copying allowances. These allowances have been predetermined by the publisher.

To find this information, select the ebook cover, then select Info at the top of the screen. You will find the total amount of pages allowed for printing and copying within a 24 hr period (from when the ebook was first borrowed/accessed)

Please note: If the printing and copying amount exceeds the daily allowance, or, if the entire ebook is copied over several days, this is considered to be a copyright violation.

Return an ebook before the expiry date

You may want to return an ebook early, before the borrowing period ends. To do so, select Info at the top of the screen, and choose the option to Return Item. This releases the ebook loan from your account, so it is now available for other patrons to borrow.

Removing expired ebook loans

To delete expired ebook covers within the Library screen, choose "Select" on top , then choose the cover of ebook, and click the Recycle bin icon. The .acsm file associated with the expired ebook, is now inactive, but remains on your device until you manually delete it. (It is not necessary to delete it)

Image removed.

For more detailed information on using other features within the app, read the Bluefire Reader User Guide (included with the app download)

Questions

Why do i have to authorize my device?

This is to ensure that you are the individual borrowing the ebooks and the user of the device(s) with Bluefire Reader installed. The Adobe ID is used to verify this information. Any ebooks that you borrow will be associated with that single Adobe ID account whether you use it on one device or up to six in total.

How long is my borrowing time?

It varies. Usually the publisher determines borrowing times. When you download the ebook, you will be provided with the return date. Within Bluefire Reader, click Info tab to see details such as the due back date, file type etc. You also have the option to return the ebook before the loan period expires. On the Info screen select “Return Item”.

Do I have to be connected to the Internet to read e-books?

Not necessarily. If you have completed a full download of the ebook to Bluefire Reader, you can access the ebook without internet access.

I already have an Adobe ID and password set up. What if i have forgotten my password?

You can easily reset your password by clicking on the following link. It is highly recommended to make note of all logins and passwords for future use.

Can I use a Library device to download Bluefire reader app?

Unfortunately, no. Although there is a new version of the software for PC windows, BlueFire Reader can only be downloaded onto your own personal computer or mobile devices (six in total)

See www.bluefirereader.com for general information and updates. Their support webpage offers more details and help.

Content last reviewed: