Carleton has access to a large collection of electronic resources, including ebooks, audiobooks, and many other format types, which cover a wide range of subject areas.

Ebooks can be located in various ways: searching e-book collections databases, Omni Search, browsing the e-collection platforms of particular resources etc. Research support guides offer in-depth and alternative resources within different fields of study. We also have access to a wealth of open access resources in different formats.

Ebook Collections

Most ebooks can be read directly within the browser screen. However, to Download or Borrow the resource for use on a personal device, certain prerequisites need to be in place. It is recommended to click “details” on the right of each Database e-collection A-Z and read the “Access Notes” area of the page, to confirm what those additional requirements are.

Most major publishers and vendors protect and restrict usage of electronic resources through Digital Rights Management (DRM).

Due to strict DRM parameters, many electronic collections, eg., Ebook Central, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (and others) require additional accounts/logins to be set up on their platforms. These accounts are usually free, and allow functions such as a full download of the resource onto a personal device. They also offer more personalized features, such as creating folders for borrowed ebooks, highlighting text, sharing citations, using social media functions etc.

Note: These personal accounts are used in addition to MyCarletonOne. It is recommended that you create these accounts in advance, making note of all login credentials for future use.

Typically, books that require additional DRM compliant software (eg. Adobe Digital Editions) also have limitations on the number of users that can read/download the resource at a given time, including, restrictions on printing/copying amounts, and, limited “borrowing" time of the material. Once the borrowing period is complete, access to the resource will be automatically disabled. If a preferred title is not available, having these personal accounts with the chosen database, allows for the option of putting a “Hold” on an item and being notified once the resource becomes available again.

When accessing ebooks via mobile devices (e.g. iPad), most publishers recommend using Bluefire Reader. In most cases, the required apps can be found through the devices app store.

Digital Audiobook Collections

Carleton subscribes to Overdrive, which includes a set number of audio titles. Some titles have both ebook and audio formats available for downloading onto a range of devices. They can be listened to within the browser itself, or downloaded in MP3 format to your personal device. The Libby app is available for downloading and is recommended for listening to (and reading) titles. If your device is not compatible with Libby, you can also use the regular Overdrive app instead.

Titles can also be searched individually via OMNI. You are only required to be signed in with your MyCarletonOne login credentials, to access titles.

For further information on using Overdrive, check their Help webpage.

We also have access to Librivox's collection of free audiobooks from the public domain, in a wide range of genres, including plays, poetry, non-fiction, short stories etc. Most files are in MP3 and ogg vorbis formats. They can be listened to within the browser itself, or downloaded in zip format, and transferred to your PC or mobile device. You will need MP3 compatible software, such as ITunes, Windows Media Player or alternatives, in order to listen to the files.

This is an ongoing project with titles being continuously added to the collection.

Further information on accessing and downloading files can be found through their Help webpage.

Content last reviewed: