This guide is meant for self service. If at any time during the research process, should you feel the need for research support, then email me. You may prefer to directly schedule a virtual appointment with me on Zoom, and other platforms..
The research process
- Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
- examples: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods; Thesaurus of sociological indexing terms; Outline of cultural materials of the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
- Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals
- examples: Anthropology Plus; AnthroSource; eHRAF World Cultures; Sociological Abstracts; Population Index; Annual Reviews; National Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S.); Ethnologue: Languages of the World; ICPSR; JSTOR; Google Scholar; eScholarship Repository (University of California)
- examples: Image-based research a sourcebook for qualitative researchers; The imaginary : word and image
- Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding
- examples: Library research;
- Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in the bibliography of your research paper
- examples: Mendeley, Style Guide (Department of Sociology and Anthropology); APA Citation Style; Style Guide (Canadian Anthropology Society) Revised 2016
1. Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
2. Be specific when determining keywords: synonyms/antonyms and terms to search
3. Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
4. Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms by understanding how search engines operate
examples: Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers
5. Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
examples: Avoiding Disaster: Eddie Gets Organized
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) use controlled vocabulary to access and express the subject content of documents. Anthropology has largely been divided into the following subjects or research areas. This is a searchable index. Click on a link below to discover the Library's holdings in this area:
- Add keywords
- Use the filters on the left of the resulting screen
- Typical filters are Available Online and Peer Reviewed Journals
- Applied anthropology
- Behavioral sciences
- Corporate culture
- Cultural anthropology
- Ethnic groups
- Human behavior
- Human evolution
- Human genetics
- Human geography
- Human societies
- Language and languages
- Political science
- Population studies
- Social sciences
- Social structure
Sources of information
Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
OMNI: the Carleton University Library search portal. Please see Help With Using Omni
Databases tagged 'Anthropology'
Databases by 'Type'
Online journals by 'Subject'
Other suggested databases:
- Annual Reviews: Provides access to review articles in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
- Anthropology Plus: Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles and other documents on anthropology.
- Basic Search eHRAF World Cultures Tutorial [VIDEO]
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database: The Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets: Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference.
- CPI.Q: Contains citations to Canadian English and French language journals.
- Ebsco databases: Provides access to all databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. You may select multiple databases and search them simultaneously.
- ERIC: A database of articles dealing with topics related to education.
- Ethnographic Video Online: for study of human culture and behavior
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Gender Equality Data and Statistics: Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation.
- Gender: Identity and Social Change: Primary source material documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present, focusing on the United States, Great Britain, Canada, and Australia.
- Google Scholar: Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature from many disciplines and sources. Indexes peer reviewed articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.
- HathiTrust Digital Library: HathiTrust is a digital repository of millions of books, serials, and other materials from research institutions and libraries from around the world. HathiTrust offers libraries a means to archive and provide access to their digital content and offers expanded opportunities for innovative use in research, teaching and learning. Covers most subject areas and new material is added regularly.
- ICPSR : Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research: Archives of social science data for research and instruction
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a tool for the social sciences and humanities. It is composed of discipline-based subject modules that provide annotated bibliographies on specific topics.
- Oxford Reference Online: Contains reference materials publshed by Oxford University Press.
- Project MUSE: A collection of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest Databases: ProQuest provides access to a number of databases that cover most subject areas. Search all of them at once or one of the subject clusters. Includes major databases such as PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Philosoher’s Index, and many more.
- PubMed: Provides access to citations covering all areas of medicine and associated fields.
- Qualitative Data Repository: The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences.
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias: provides perpetual access to 27 encyclopedias in the social sciences published between 2005-2011, as well as some other encyclopedias which have been ordered individually.
- SAGE Research Methods: With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods helps researchers of all levels conduct their research.
- Cases: Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions
- Datasets: Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves
- Video: Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum
- Scopus: A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
- WorldCat: A union catalogue of libraries worldwide.
- Research -- Recommended
- The SAGE handbook of fieldwork Hobbs, Dick.; Wright, Richard, 1951- 2006 [electronic resource]
- The SAGE handbook of online research methods Fielding, Nigel, editor.; Lee, Raymond M., 1946- editor.; Blank, Grant, editor. 2017 [electronic resource]
- The SAGE handbook of social gerontology Dannefer, Dale.; Phillipson, Chris. 2010
- The SAGE handbook of social research methods Alasuutari, Pertti.; Bickman, Leonard, 1941-; Brannen, Julia. 2008 [electronic resource]
- The SAGE handbook of visual research methods Pauwels, Luc, Professor, editor.; Mannay, Dawn, editor. 2020 [electronic resource]
- Basic -- Recommended
- The Sage dictionary of cultural studies Barker, Chris, 1955- 2004
- The Sage dictionary of sociology Bruce, Steve, 1954-; Yearley, Steven.; ProQuest (Firm) 2006 [electronic resource]
- Sage deaf studies encyclopedia Sage eReference (Online service); Sage knowledge. 2015 [electronic resource]
- The Sage encyclopedia of qualitative research methods Given, Lisa M. 2008 [electronic resource]
- The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods Bosch, Karen A ; Bryman, Alan ; Liao, Tim F. c2014 [electronic resource]
- The SAGE handbook of applied social research methods Bickman, Leonard, 1941- editor.; Rog, Debra J., editor.; Best, Samuel J., contributor. 2009 [electronic resource]
- How to Read a Book, v5.0 School of Information University of Michigan
- How to Read a Paragraph: The Art of Close Reading
- How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article: Tips and tricks to make reading and understanding social science journal articles easier
- How to Read for Grad School Miriam E. Sweeney
- Read Like a Graduate Student, Not a Mystery Fan William Doane
- Remote research and virtual fieldwork: some resources from uHarvard
Minecraft (Education Edition) is free for Carleton students
Just download the installer from the link below (for Windows 10): https://education.minecraft.net/get-started/alternative-download/
After install, launch the game and log in using your Carleton email address (cmail) and password then you're good to go.