How to choose an essay topic
* NEW * Videos and resources produced by Ryan Tucci, First Year Experience Teaching and Learning Technician at MacOdrum Library.
Explore your topic
Omni is the library discovery tool for finding books, eBooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more. You will still need to search other resources to find everything you need because Omni does not search everything that the library acquires.
When to use Omni
- When starting research on a topic
- If you are not sure which databases to use
Check Omni Help for instructions on how to create a good search statement. For assistance using Omni, please contact Research Help.
Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts.
- Archaeological Method and Theory : an Encyclopedia / Linda Ellis (2003)
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought / Michael Ruse (2014)
- Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology / Graeme Barker (1999)
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology / Timothy Darvill (2008)
- Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology (2014)
- Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology / Charles E. Orser (2002)
- Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory / Eric Delson (2000)
- The Oxford Companion to Archaeology / Neil Asher Silberman and Alexander A Bauer (2012)
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology : History and Discoveries / Tim Murray (2001) (vols. 103) CC100.E54 ; (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust)
- The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome / Edward Bispham ; Thomas Harrison ; Brian A. Sparkes (2006) DE59.E3 2006 ; (Online) (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust)
Search the libraries interface below for digitized full text documents and media:
- HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital repository of millions of books, serials, and other materials from research institutions and libraries from around the world.
- Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- Project Gutenberg E-Books is an online library of free electronic books.
Open Access Resources
- Alexandria Archive Institute
"The Alexandria Archive Institute is a non-profit technology company that preserves and shares world heritage on the Web, free of charge. Through advocacy, education, research, and technology programs like Open Context, we pioneer ways to open up archaeology and related fields for all."
- Open Access Archaeology
- Open Archaeology
- tDAR: The Digital Archaeology Record
"The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations."
For a full list of OER, including textbooks, institutional repositories, research portals, visit Open Access (OA) Publications.
Key Databases for Journal Articles
- Anthropology Plus
- Art Full Text
- Art Index Retrospective
- Google Scholar
By connecting via Carleton Library, you will be able to seamlessly connect to the full-text of articles that are part of the library's collection.
- Historical Abstracts
- ProQuest Databases
- Ancient World Mapping Center
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
- Atlas of the Valley of the Kings (online)
- The Digital Archaeological Atlas of the Holy Land (online)
For more information and assistance, contact Sherri Sunstrum.
- Ancient City of Athens
A photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece).
- Ancient World Image Bank (New York University)
The Ancient World Image Bank is a collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world.
Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. An index and links to the website’s contents is here.
- Beazley Archive (Classical Art Research Centre)
Includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
- World Digital Library
For video material at the Carleton University library, do a Keyword search in Omni and limit by "Material Type" and Video/Film.
If you cannot find what you need, search the following database:
- Films on Demand
- Top Documentary Films
Free documentaries online.
- Becoming Human Interactive Documentary (online)
- Archaeological Institute of America Publications:
- The Archaeology Channel
A streaming media website by Archaeological Legacy Institute
- Archaeology Data Service (UK)
This digital repository collects and preserves heritage data.
- Archaeology Magazine (Archaeological Institute of America)
- Electric Archaeology - Digital Media for Learning and Research
Carleton University professor Shawn Graham's blog.
- Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
- Stone Pages: Web Guide to Megalithic Europe
"Use Propylaeum SEARCH for searching and finding literature in the field of Ancient Studies.
- Talking Origins Archive
Includes a comprehensive list of hominin fossils. Recommended by Archaeology magazine.
- Voice of the Shuttle : Archaeology
- Amarna Project
This link provides current research and preservation information of the city Tell el-Amarna.
- Digital Karnak
"The Digital Karnak Project aims to make the site of Karnak more accessible to students and instructors in the English-speaking world."
- The Giza Archives
A comprehensive resource for research on the Giza pyramids
- Hierakonpolis Project Online
"Hierakonpolis, the City of the Hawk, ancient Egyptian Nekhen, is one of the most important archaeological sites for understanding the foundations of ancient Egyptian society."
- Tutankhamun: Anatomy of an Excavation (The Griffith Institute, University of Oxford)
The definitive archaeological record for Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon's discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun.
- American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE)
ARCE's mission is to support research on all aspects of Egyptian history and culture, foster a broader knowledge about Egypt among the general public, and strengthen American-Egyptian cultural ties.
- Egypt Exploration Society
Their mission is to explore Egyptian sites and monuments and share a lasting record of the remains. Today the Society supports archaeological research projects throughout Egypt and Sudan.
- International Association of Egyptologists
"Our websites provide information about worldwide Egyptology and are addressed to scholars and other interested parties as well."
- Ancient Egypt and Archaeology Web Site
- An Ancient History Encyclopedia
- Ancient Origins
- Digital Egypt for Universities - 3D Model Project
- Egyptology Resources
Links to information on site digs, museums, essential resources, etc.
Thot - Thesauri & Ontology for documenting Ancient Egyptian Resources
Referencing your sources is an important part of academic writing. Why?
- it lets you acknowledge the ideas or words of others if you use them in your work
- it helps you to avoid plagiarism
- it demonstrates that you are using the scholarly record and that you can provide authority for statements you make in your term paper
- it enables readers to find the source information
- Writing at University: A Guide for Students / Phyllis Creme; Mary R. Lea (2008)
- Writing Essays: a Guide for Students in English and the Humanities / Richard Marggraf Turley (2016)