Content last reviewed:
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of Globalization
- International dictionary of public management and governance
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Oxford Scholarship Online Limit search to economics, management, political science, etc.
- Handbook of globalization, governance, and public administration
- The international handbook of public administration and governance
- Routledge handbook of political management
- The SAGE handbook of governance
Country Information
- EIU Economist Intelligence Unit provides current and historical economic data and forecasting.
- globalEdge excellent free site from Michigan State University. Explore the contents on the left hand side:
for example: Select Culture - Culture Crossing Guide is a database of cross-cultural information about every country in the world. Select Risk - to find the political and business risk rating plus strengths, weaknesses and current trends.
from the main page look for: US Commercial Service - Country Commercial Guide, Country profile etc. - Doing Business and Enterprise Surveys from the World Bank
- Human development report
-
In addition to the resources listed below, you may wish to consult the U.S. Department of State publications, Background Notes and the U.S. Department of State. Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs for significant information about Asian governments with links to national government institutions and agencies.
This tab contains information to help you find primary sources for research Asian studies and related topics. Many archival documents and first-hand accounts are accessible in published form. For more information on primary sources at Carleton University check the "Archives and Special Collections" link.
Current news
- PressReader - easy to use global coverage pdf format. The back file varies by title.
- Continuum Economics (formerly Roubini Global Economics) excellent news monitoring service. Create an account for global economic news and analysis.
- Factiva
- Nexis Uni
- BBC News: South Asia
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
For historical newspapers:
- The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
- New York Times 1851-2005
- Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
Tips for searching newspaper databases.
Use library's home page search tool OMNI, to find books, journal articles, media, and more with a single search.
Also try the Advanced Search.
Key Subject related databases for Journal Articles
- PAIS Index
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- EconLit with Full Text
- British History Online
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- International Political Science Abstracts
- Empire Online
- Web of Science
- Business Source Complete
- World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records
- Dissertations & Theses Global
Tips for effective searching -
If you find one relevant article for your research it can lead to other relevant papers by the following:
- using the databases, including OMNI, look to find all papers & books published by the author or co-authors
- Explore the bibliography in the paper for sources
- Using Web of Science or Scopus, look for articles that cite the article you found. Remember, some databases will also list citing articles but those lists are limited to the current database. The Web of Science and Scopus are more comprehensive, with coverage from multiple databases.
Journal Ranking
Journal Citation Reports - Provides evaluation of journals by the impact factor within a given discipline.
Choose Select Categories and limit by subject areas such as:
- Business, Finance
- Economics
- International Relations
- Management
- Political Science
- Public Administration
In addition to the resources listed below, you may wish to consult the U.S. Department of State publications, Background Notes and the U.S. Department of State. Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs for significant information about Asian governments with links to national government institutions and agencies.
The National Security Archive (George Washington University)
China
- Chinese Economic Information Network (in Chinese) (Chinese State Information Center)
- The WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources
- ChinaSite.com
- Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the US
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China
- National People's Congress
- Chinese Pamphlets: Political Communication & Mass Education
India
- Indian Parliament
- LII of India
- National Portal of India
- The India Papers Collection (via National Library of Scotland)
- Judgments Information System- free resource. Judgments of the Supreme Court of India and other High Court judgments
- GOI web directory -free resource. Government of India directory of web resources
- AdvocateKhoj Law Library -free resource. A new communication platform designed for legal professionals in India. Their Law Library contains an exhaustive list of Acts and Rules passed by the Indian Parliament
- Library of Congress Legal Research Guide: India
Japan
- House of Councillors
- Japan Links (non-governmental with government links)
- Japan Ministry of Foreign Affairs Official Website
- Web Japan (non-governmental with government links)
These libraries maintain extensive Southeast Asia library collections.
Refer to their excellent guides for detailed government information at the local, state, and national levels.
- Asian Library (University of British Columbia)
- Asia Pacific Region (Australian National University) (archival site)
- Portal to Asian Internet Resources (University of Wisconsin)
- South & Southeast Asian Studies (Columbia University)
- International Statistical Agencies (US Census) provides a list of national statistical agencies
- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
- Digital South Asia Library (Provides statistical information from the colonial period through the present on British colonies)
- China Data Online
- Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries
- Statistics Bureau (Japan)
- Web Japan -Many links to statistical information about Japan
- National Bureau of Statistics of China
- World Competitiveness Online
- World Development Indicators
- APEC
- ASEAN
- Asian Development Bank
- Indian Brand Equity Foundation -An initiative of the Ministry of Commerce and Industry
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific
Trade Statistics
