Book Arts | MacOdrum Library

Join Our Mailing List!

CLICK HERE to sign up for periodic updates on news, volunteer information, events and happenings in the Lab.

On May 5, the MacOdrum Library hosted "Learning With Our Hands," an on-line event that provided a tour of the Book Arts Lab and celebrated the work created by students in the Lab during the winter semester. View the video HERE.

Download The (Shorter) Book Arts Lab Guide to Core Course Modules for Faculty, Staff and Students:

Shorter Book Arts Modules.pdf (207.7 KB)

About the MacOdrum Library Book Arts Lab

About the Macodrum Library Book Arts Lab

The Book Arts Lab is located on the Main (2nd) Floor of MacOdrum Library (Rooms 234E & 234F). The Lab is the centre of books arts practice on campus, featuring vintage printing presses and type, traditional bookbinding equipment, tools for calligraphy and relief block cutting, paper decorating facilities and workshop space. The Lab is operated by the Research Support Services department, located in Room 238ML.

Accessibility: Everyone is welcome in the Book Arts Lab! Our goal is always to make the space as accessible as possible, so that all folks can explore the rich and varied world of Book Arts. Some activities may require accommodations or adaptations to meet individual needs. If you have concerns about barriers or limitations, please don’t hesitate to reach out to the Master Printer or your professor so we can work together to support your participation in Lab activities.

What Are the Book Arts?

The book arts:

refer to those crafts, trades, philosophies and ideals that relate to the notion of the book.
span the depth and breadth of human civilization and therefore research in the subject touches on most fields, including art history, art, history, literature, the sciences, engineering, architecture, industrial design, library sciences etc.
includes the physical aspects of the book, its structure, purpose, aesthetics and style,
includes the appearance and message of the text itself, with an emphasis on how all elements of the book create an intellectual and holistic picture of a book’s meaning.
see also discussion of the term “Artists Books” (Yale)

The book arts include, but are not limited to:

calligraphy and mark making
bookbinding
printing and printmaking
paper making and decoration
block cutting for illustrations

Synonymous search terms for “Book Arts”:

“Print Culture”
“Print Media”
“Bibliographical Studies”
“Fine Press”

Various skills, trades and professions surround these areas, such as:

typography	graphic design	digital fonts	book design
e-book design	publishing	drawing	Product design
Interior design	Graphic design	Ceramics	Glass
Jewellery	Textiles	Furniture	Fashion
clothing	Illustration	Metalsmithing	Retail design
Architecture	Industrial design	Sustainability	Advertising
Packaging	Theatre	Exhibitions	Web design
Computer design	Computer graphics	Animation	Garden design
Landscape architecture	Urban design	Education	Design management
Inclusive design	Universal design	Design history

Researchers should also explore beyond the bounds of the university, exploring the web and the thousands of book artists who continue to practise the ancient trades, often in combination with new or emerging technology

INTRODUCTORY MODULES

BOOK ARTS BASIC TRAINING MODULES
BAL101: Safety in the Book Arts Lab	0.5 HRS
BAL102: LAB Tour	1 HR
BAL103: What are Book Arts?	1.5 HRS

Bookbinding	Letterpress	Block Cutting	Calligraphy/ Mark Making	Papermaking/ Paper Decorating
BB101: Intro to Bookbinding	LP101: Intro to Letterpress	BC101: Intro to Block Cutting	CM101: Intro to Calligraphy	PM101: Intro to Paper
BB102: Tools and Materials	LP102: Setting Type by Hand	BC102: Tools & Materials	CM102: Ancient Marks	PM102: Paste Paper
BB103: Historical Styles	LP103: Components of the Forme	BC103: Linocutting	CM103: Tools and Nibs	PM103: Marbled Paper
BB104: Contemporary Styles	LP104: Letterpress Printing Basics	BC104: Wood Cutting	CM104: Exercises - The Power of Practice	PM104: Paper Making
BB105: Experimental Bindings	LP105: Working with Woodtype	BC105: Wood Engraving

Bookbinding	Letterpress	Block Cutting	Calligraphy/ Mark Making	Papermaking/ Paper Decorating
PM201: Longstitch	LP201: Typesetting, justified text, and other challenges	BC201: Cutting and printing an illustration in relief	CM201: Fonts vs Hands: Calligraphic Typography	PM201: Pulp Fictions: Paper foundations
PM202: Multi-section structure w/o glue	LP202: Typesetting, ornaments, and borders	BC202: Traditional wood cutting	CM202: Chinese brush	PM202: Mixing Oil & Water: Making Marbled Paper
PM203: Coptic Binding	LP203: Press Make-ready	BC203: Carving period ornamentation	CM203: Creating tools for mark making	PM203: Mixing Paste & Colour: Making Paste Paper
PM204: Cased in Library binding	LP204: Letterpress & Typography Basics	BC204: Carving type & script
PM205: Accordion Book

Videos

1. The Writer's Tools

2. Mark Making & Calligraphy

3. The Codex

4. Typography & Setting Type

5. A Brief History of Printing

6. Relief Block Printing - Woodcuts, Wood Engravings

Book Arts Resources

* NEW * Videos and resources produced by Ryan Tucci, First Year Experience Teaching and Learning Technician at MacOdrum Library.

Synonymous search terms for “Book Arts”:

“Print Culture”
“Print Media”
“Bibliographical Studies”
“Fine Press"
"Private Press"
"Small Press"
"Book Materiality"

Periodicals & Journals

Resources

Book Arts Centres

The MacOdrum Library has a growing collection of print resources related to the Book Arts.

In the stacks, book arts related material can be found in Subclass Z, located on Floor 1 of the Library.

Z4-115.5 Books (General)
Z116-659 Book industries and trade
Z662-1000.5 Libraries
Z1001-1121 General bibliography
Z1201-4980 National bibliography
Z5051-7999 Subject bibliography
Z8001-8999 Personal bibliography

Link to a more detailed listing.

Academic Journal Indices

Book arts and bibliographical studies have concentrations, but are also scattered throughout broader subject categories. Keep this in mind while searching, and be aware that different fields may use different key words and subject words to describe their articles.

Primary Sources

Archives and Special Collections
Archives and Special Collections (ASC), located on the 5th Floor, possess examples of:

Book Arts Collection
rare and old books
incunabula (sheets and books printed between 1450-1500 CE)
early writing and script from the middle ages
writing and printing on vellum
bookbinding from 1400-present, incl. leather, vellum and paper wraps, wooden board covers etc.
fine bindings
miniature books 1600 to present
broadsides and posters, especially 20th century
The Special Collection of Modern Poetry consists of poetry written chiefly in the English language since 1940 and published by small and private presses.

The staff in Archives & Special Collections (ASC) will be pleased to assist you with any queries you may have regarding rare and old books and papers. Go to the ASC Contacts page for more information.