Content last reviewed:
Pîjashig Kwe kwe! Tunngahugit! She:kon! Aanii! Boozhoo! Tansi! Taanishi! Hello! Bienvenue!
The MacOdrum Library is located on the unceded territories of the Algonquin nation. This guide is designed for graduate students in the School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies.
Introductions to graduate research
Student2Scholar
The Student2Scholar (S2S) modules will help graduate students in the social sciences develop their core academic literacies and research skills, enabling them to participate more actively and confidently in their communities of research. Modules fall within four categories in the S2S learning journey: Inquiry and Exploration; Investigation and Organization; Analysis and Evaluation; and Creation and Communication. Each module includes a wide range of interactive, self-paced learning activities and assessments.
Sage research methods
SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers throughout a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.
Thesis & dissertation writing guides
Ebooks
- Academic writing and publishing: A practice guide
- How to design, write, and present a dissertation proposal
- How to write a thesis
- The handbook of scholarly writing and publishing
Print books
Activity: Review literature review tools
Literature review writing guides
- 7 steps to a comprehensive literature review : a multimodal and cultural approach
- Systematic approaches to a successful literature review
Useful peer-reviewed journal articles
- Arksey, H., & O'Malley, L. (2005). Scoping studies: towards a methodological framework. International journal of social research methodology, 8(1), 19-32.
- Baumeister, R. F., & Leary, M. R. (1997). Writing narrative literature reviews. Review of general psychology, 1(3), 311-320.
- Torraco, R. (2016). Writing integrative literature reviews: Using the past and present to explore the future. Human Resource Development Review, 15(4), 404–428. https://doi.org/10.1177/1534484316671606
See also the ebooks in the first section of this guide. Guides to writing dissertations typically include a section on writing a literature review.
Finding academic literature
- Use this worksheet to brainstorm research problems and key concepts in order to build search strategies.
- Interlibrary loans: Get an account to access materials from other libraries
Databases
- Use the Canadian Studies quick and detailed guides for finding databases and other resources.
- Dissertation databases
- Dissertations and Theses Global (Search for dissertations and theses published globally)
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Search for doctoral dissertations from outside North America)
- JSTOR text analyzer: Upload your own text or document into JSTOR and Text Analyzer will process the text to find the most significant topics and then recommends similar content on JSTOR.
Specialized collections
- Academic journals
- Open access
- Jurn: Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Open access at Carleton
- Open access journals published at Carleton
- Open access
Canadian Studies professors recommend the following journals:
- Acadiensis
- American Review of Canadian Studies
- Archivaria
- British Journal of Canadian Studies
- Canadian Ethnic Studies
- Canadian Historical Review
- Canadian Journal of Communication
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies
- Canadian Journal of Political Science
- Canadian Journal of Sociology
- Globe: Revue internationale d'etudes quebecoises
- History and Memory
- International Journal of Canadian Studies
- Journal of Canadian Studies
- Journal of the Canadian Historical Association
- Labour/Le Travail
- Social History
- Southern Journal of Canadian Studies
- Topia: Canadian Journal of Cultural Studies
Note: Some are available only in print; others are available in print and electronic format. Check UlrichsWeb for information about individual journals. Ulrichsweb is a source of bibliographic and access information for over 300,000 serials.
Find grey literature
Grey literature is an important source of information in arts and social science research that:
- adds a valuable global perspective
- provides detailed overviews on specific populations
- may be only source of local information
Grey literature is defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing" ie. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004
Types of grey literature
- Government information
- Dissertations and theses
- Conference proceedings
- Newspapers and magazines
Library resources
- Google Scholar (change country, for example, to find international material)
- Government information
- Databases such as Canadian Business and Current Affairs and Web of Science
Resources
- Grey Net (an international directory of organizations in Grey Literature and a repository)
- Grey Literature Database - Canadian Evaluation Society
Heritage conservation archival publications
- Heritage Ottawa Newsletters (1974-2013)
- ICOMOS Canada Past Publications (1975-2008)
- Ontario Heritage Trust Heritage Matters (Past issues 2005-date)
Citation management and reference rot
- Use online tools to manage your sources (e.g., save citations, pdfs and create bibliographies).
- Start a Perma.cc account to create permanent links for online sources (avoid reference rot!).
Many digital and electronic resources are available through the library.
- Ebooks: The library has a number of ebook collections. These collections include:
- Journal articles
- Films
- Maps
To retrieve these materials with a keyword search in the library main search engine or other databases:
- To find ebooks, use the "available online" and "books" filters in Omni.
- To find journal articles
- Use the "available online" and "articles" filters in Omni
- Use the "linked to full text" filter in other databases.
In addition, virtual research support is also available:
- Ask a Librarian offers virtual reference desk services seven days a week.
- Individual consultations: Email your librarian or subject specialists to arrange an individual consultation via Big Blue Button.
Looking for digital or electronic materials that are not in the Carleton University Library collection? Email your librarian or subject specialist.
- Consider depositing your data in Dataverse.
Research ethics at Carleton University
The library offers workshops on using NVivo (a qualitative data analysis tool) and other research-related topics.
CURVE is Carleton's institutional repository.
This repository collects, preserves and provides open access to the academic, research output and creative works of Carleton faculty and scholars.
Writing process
Open Access
Graduate Student Open Access Award
$1000 award encourages Carleton graduate students to make their work more widely available on the internet by publishing research in open access journals.
ORCID
What is an ORCID and do I need one?
ORCID is a digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, and automated links between you and your professional activities.
Journal rankings
Citation-based metrics used for ranking journals. This may be important for:
- preparing your portfolio
- assessing the impact and quality of a journal relative to a particular discipline or field
- tenure and promotion in academic circles
Copyright
