Content last reviewed:
Use this guide for finding scholarly resources on Climate Change.
Start here:
Key reference works:
- Encyclopedia of climate and weather (print)
- Encyclopedia of world climatology (online and print)
- Environmental Encyclopedia (online)
- Oxford reference online
- Sage knowledge encyclopedias
- The Little Data Book on Climate Change
Do an initial search on Wikipedia:
- to become familiar with a topic or person of interest
- to broaden your search terms
- Using Wikipedia wisely (watch this video)
Use the library's search box to easily find peer-reviewed journal articles on any topic. Remember to refine your search by selecting the following options to obtain high quality, academic literature:
- Scholarly & Peer-Review,
- Journal Article
- Discipline or Subject
Subject-Specific databases for environmental studies offer a wider varienty of specific searching tools.
- Academic Onefile
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
- Environment Index
- GEOBASE
- GreenFile
- Scopus
- TRID Transportation Research
- Web of Science
Note: If the library does not have what you need, you can order books and/or journal articles from other libraries through RACER. If you are a first time user, you must register first before you can start using it.
Key Climate Journals:
- Climate and Development
- Global Environmental Change
- Hydrological Sciences Journal
- Nature reports: Climate Change
- International journal of ocean and climate systems
- Journal of climate
- Journal of ocean and climate: science, technology, and impacts (open access)
- Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
- Science
- Wiley interdisciplinary reviews - climate change
- Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment - Climate Change
- ICAO Carbon Emissions Calculator: the official UN tool to quantify air travel CO2 footprint
- Climate.gov (NOAA)
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
- OECD Climate Change
- UN and Climate Change
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
- US Global Change Research Program
- UNEP/GRID-Arendal Environmental Knowledge for Change includes maps and graphics about climate change
- World Bank Climate Change includes climate change data
- World Meteorological Organization
Recommended books:
- Climate change (online)
- Drawdown: the most comprehensive plan ever proposed to reverse global warming (print)
- Environmental Indicators (online)
- Green Planet Blues (print)
- The Water will come: rising seas, sinking cities, and the remaking of the civilized world (print)
- World Changing: A User's Guide for the 21st Century (print)
Videos:
- The Age of consequences
- An inconvenient sequel: truth to power
- Climate refugees: the human face of climate change (online)
- Chasing Ice (online)
- Global warming and sea level change (online)
- Ice on Fire (online)
- Melting ice, rising seas (online)
- Ocean acidification: the big global warming story (online)
Web sites:
- Center for Climate and Security
- C40 Cities
- David Suzuki Foundation
- United Nations - Climate Change
- World Bank - Climate Change Knowledge Portal
- World Resources Institute - Climate Data Explorer
Canada
- Statistics Canada
- Historical Climate Data including Canadian Climate Normals
- Canadian Weather Stats
- Canadian Ice Service Archive
- Climate Change Data
- Climate Atlas of Canada
Europe
- European Environment Agency
- Climate change in Europe (text and maps)
United States
- National Environmental Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA)
- IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library - online data repository and analysis tool
- Data Access (National Centers for Environmental Information NOAA)
- Data Distribution Centre (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change)
Global
- ICAO Carbon Emissions Calculator: the official UN tool to quantify air travel CO2 footprint
- Earth Data: Open access to open science (NASA) - data sets and tools
- Past Climate Explorer (Lobelia)
- Ocean Navigator (Fisheries and Oceans Canada)
- National Snow & Ice Data Center
- Google Earth Engine
- Coastal Risk Screening tool (Climate Central)
- Vital Signs of the Planet (NASA Global Climate Change) -includes data and maps
- C02 Footprint Map
