Content last reviewed:
Science
- PubMed - explore biomedical literature with links to our databases, including ability to set a COVID PubMed Search Alert
- Scopus - scientific, medical, and social sciences literature
- Web of Science - scientific and multidisciplinary
- Scholars Portal Journals - multi-disciplinary, daily updates here
Specific Journals
- Nature - peer reviewed research, authoritative news
- Science - research spanning the sciences
- The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) - biomedicine
- The Lancet - medical journal - once in, scroll down for access to other Lancet publications
- The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) - biomedical science and clinical practice
Librarian for Health and Biosciences: Heather MacDonald
Research Portals
- Dimensions - articles, chapters, preprints, and datasets linked through a single platform including publication metrics, altmetrics, MeSH terms, and more
- LitCOVID - curated subset of PubMed, can browse by geographic location, date published, categories such as mechanism, transmission, case reports...
- COVID-19: Global literature on coronavirus disease - from WHO, updated daily, can filter by topic
- COVID-19 Information Portal (EBSCO) - real-time updates created for healthcare community
- COVID-19 in the Global South - research from countries in Africa, Asia, and Latin America on the impacts of the pandemic, sourced from think tanks in effected countries
- COVID-19 Response: Resources on the United Nations' iLibrary - including books, reports, and policy briefs
- SSRN's Coronavirus and Infections Disease Research Page
- Lens.org COVID-19 Datasets - patent documents, scholarly research works metadata, and biological sequences from patents
- Global Social Responses to Covid-19
Attention Researchers:
- Mandated by Canada's Chief Science Officer, see CanCOVID, a network of Canadian COVID-19 researchers, clinical collaborators, and healthcare stakeholders. By invitation only for those engaged in the response effort, review and register here
Attention Carleton Community:
- The Carleton COVID-19 Archival Collection is being developed to preserve official messaging, programming, and community-based experiences from this moment in history. It is a partnership between Corporate Records and Archives along with MacOdrum Library's Archives & Special Collections. Please follow the link above for more details and contacts for contributing internally- and externally-sourced material
PrePrints
- Research made public prior to peer review. Typically shared to gather feedback, under COVID-19 preprint servers are valuable resources to monitor for the latest scientific research.
*can cross-search these repositories via Web of Science [on landing page, change "Search in" from "All Databases" to "Preprint Citation Index"]
Community Reviews
- PubPeer - Forum for finding and posting comments/questions on published papers + browser extension to discover associated PubPeer comments in the course of your research
- Publons - Crowd-sourced community reviews of pre-prints and other papers focused on COVID-19 research
- Rapid Reviews: COVID-19 - from MIT, rapid-review overlay journal, expert reviews in a matter of days (sign up for daily/weekly updates)
Open Access (OA)
- Freely available, peer reviewed research
- For more OA resources, see our guide for Open Access (OA) Publications
COVID-19 by the Numbers and Other Information
Canadian Sources
- Statistics Canada - COVID-19: A Data Perspective
- COVID-19 Canada Open Data Working Group - COVID-19 in Canada
- COVID-19 Vaccination in Canada (Government of Canada)
- COVID-19 Data Resources (University of Toronto) - Extensive guide of Canadian and International resources
- Public Health Agency of Canada - Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)
- Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) - COVID-19 Resources
- Status of COVID-19 cases in Ontario - daily snapshots
- Open Ottawa Data - Focus on COVID-19
- McMaster Health Forum - Focus on clinical guidelines re treatment, transmission, has rapid & systematic reviews
- UBC Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) for Beginners to Experts - Sections aimed at various user groups, updated 2x/day, suggested search terms
International Sources
- Johns Hopkins University, Medicine - Coronavirus Resource Center + Dashboard
- World Health Organization (WHO) - Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Pandemic + News
- United Nations (UN) Department of Economic and Social Affairs - UN COVID-19 Data Hub
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Coronavirus (COVID-19) + Newsroom
- NIH- Coronavirus (COVID-19) - news releases, guides for the public
- Our World in Data - Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) - Statistics and Research
Data from News Sources
- CBC News - Tracking the Coronavirus
- CTV News - Tracking Every Case of COVID-19 in Canada
- Toronto Star Real-time updates for Ontario
- The New York Times - Coronavirus in the U.S.: Latest Map and Case Count
- COVID Tracking Project - initiative started by The Atlantic, "collects and publishes the most complete testing data available for US states and territories"
ODESI
- Ontario's Data Portal provides social science microdata and aggregate data
- A growing number of COVID-19 public use microdata files are available for download and analysis
- Contact Dataservices@carleton.ca for guidance
Librarian for Data and Statistics: Jane Fry
Mapping, Geographic Information System (GIS), and Geography Databases
- Scholars GeoPortal - large scale geospatial datasets
- COVID-19 Canada Health Regions Shapefile (if off-campus, log into proxy first in a new tab)
- Canada-specific COVID-19 GIS data from Esri - data from Provincial Health Ministries
- International COVID-19 GIS data from Esri
- Ontario Public health unit boundaries shapefile
- COVID-19 in Ottawa Neighborhoods (including vaccination) - link to data at bottom of page
- GIS dataset used by the Johns Hopkins Dashboard
Librarian for GIS: Rebecca Bartlett, Subject Specialist: Meaghan Kenny
- GEOBASE - earth sciences
Subject Specialist for Geography: Susan Tudin
Government Information
- Canadian Government Information (University of Toronto) - Very comprehensive guide
- Canadian Institutes of Health Research - Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
- HillNotes COVID-19 - Provides research analysis and a collection of authoritative documents on current events of significant interest to Canadian Parliament
- iPolitics - Canadian politics and policy
- National Research Council (NRC) - Making a difference in the fight against COVID-19
Public Policy
- PAIS Index - public affairs and policy
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database - current events, government, and politics
Workplace
- Gartner Research Campus Access - business insights, advice, and tools
National and International Security
- Janes - defense, security intelligence, and analysis
- Columbia International Affairs Online - international politics, security studies, global finance
- National Security, Intelligence and Terrorism (subject guide)
Librarian for Public Policy and International Security: Aleksandra Blake
Psychology and Sociology
- PsycINFO - behavioral and social sciences
Subject Specialist for Psychology: Joel Rivard
Carleton University Health & Counselling Services: COVID-19 Update
- Sociological Abstracts - social and behavioral sciences
Subject Specialist for Sociology: Robert Smith
Indigenous Peoples
- Indigenous Services Canada - Coronavirus (COVID-19) and Indigenous communities
- Indigenous Studies Subject Guide - Excellent collection of government information and grey literature
Librarian for Indigenous Studies: Martha Attridge Bufton
Legal Considerations
- Osgoode Hall Law School of York University - links to legal resources
- Law in the Time of COVID-19 - Columbia Law School eBook (primarily, though not exclusively U.S. focused)
Legal Studies Librarian: Julie Lavigne
Subscription Databases
- EIU.com (Economist Intelligence Unit) - country analyses and forecasts, risk analyses, industry analyses
- EconLit with Full Text - working papers and scholarly journals
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library - outlooks beginning to emerge reflecting the impact (be sure to sign onto the library's proxy or VPN first)
- Business Source Complete - news, magazines, reports, trade publications, and scholarly articles
- CEPR Discussion Papers - on research and policy (including real-time publication of vetted Covid Economics papers)
- Wire Report - Canada's telecom and media sector
Staying Current
- Bank of Canada
- Statistics Canada
- Canadian Economic Dashboard and COVID-19
- The Daily - daily updates regarding the effects of COVID-19 and the economy
- Financial Accountability Office of Ontario - Reports
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) - Tackling coronavirus (COVID-19)
- The World Bank - World Bank Group and COVID-19 (coronavirus)
- International Monetary Fund
- European Central Bank
- Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System - Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Librarian for Business and Economics: Matthew Gertler
Subscription Databases
- Canadian Newsstream - cross-Canada coverage including regional publications
- Factiva - international
- PressReader - international digital reproductions of print newspapers and magazines. Download the PressReader app (ensure you are connected through VPN when using the app)
- Eureka.cc - French language (Canadian) newspapers
Online News
- BBC - Coronavirus Pandemic
- The Globe and Mail - Coronavirus
- The New York Times - The Coronavirus Outbreak
- STAT - Coronavirus
Additional MacOdrum Library Guides
- Fake News and Content Evaluation
- Broadcast Transcripts - international television and radio
- Think Tanks - broader perspective beyond universities, media, and government
Subject Specialist for Journalism and Media Studies: Ryan Tucci
University of Toronto's COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide
Information for the General Public
-
- Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) - From Public Health Ontario. Includes research and reports
- ECHO- Coping with COVID - From Ontario Mental Health & U of Toronto. Free online mental health support sessions + portal of resources
- WHO- Advice for the Public - including their Myth busters
- Consumer Reports - Corona Virus Research Hub- info not easily found elsewhere, e.g. on using your own oximeter. NOTE US source so some information may not apply to Canadian context
- Merck Manuals on COVID-19 - Information and Resources
Evaluating COVID-19 Information
- Fact Check Explorer - Hosted by Google, aggregate search tool covering fact checking sites such as Snopes, PolitiFact, FactCheck.org etc.
- How Can I Spot Misinformation about the Coronavirus and COVID-19? - From University of Toronto Libraries
- How to Spot Fake News at the Time of COVID - From IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations), includes a downloadable infographic
- Retraction Watch - Retracted coronavirus (COVID-19) papers
- Sifting Through the Coronavirus Pandemic - From Digital Information Literacy Specialist Mike Caulfield at Washington State University
- Understanding Health Research - Collaborative project from UK universities, not specifically about COVID
Post-Secondary Education
- Carleton University - Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information Website
- Statistics Canada - Impacts of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Postsecondary students + infographic
- University Affairs (UA) - COVID-19: Updates for Canada's Universities
- Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT) - COVID-19 and the Academic Workplace: Questions & Answers
- Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) - COVID-19 Response Resources
- The Chronicle of Higher Education (subscription database)
- Academica Top Ten - daily news items from across the academic sector in Canada: subscribe here
