English Language and Literature

Reference Materials

* NEW * Videos and resources produced by Ryan Tucci, First Year Experience Teaching and Learning Technician at MacOdrum Library.
Gale Literature (Literature Criticism)
MLA International Bibliography
Oxford English Dictionary Online View the index of common abbreviations used by OED Online on this page.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism / Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth (1997- ) (1994)
The Oxford Guide to Library Research / Thomas Mann (2015)

Databases

Gale Literature
A good resource to locate literary criticism
Literary Resource Center
MLA International Bibliography (ESBCOhost)
This database is the most comprehensive index for research works on literatures and languages.
C19, The Nineteenth Century index
A collection of 19th-century books, periodicals, official documents and newspapers.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in during the eighteenth century.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Online bibliography covering all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Google Scholar
JSTOR
Project MUSE
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
A Canadian reference resource made up of scholarly journals, trade publications, books, newspapers, and magazines.

Archives and Primary Sources

Centre for Editing Early Canadian Texts
The Centre for Editing Early Canadian Texts is unique from other literary projects in that it was the first project in Canada dedicated to the preparation of scholarly editions of early English-Canadian prose.

Modern Poetry Collection

The Special Collection of Modern Poetry consists of poetry written chiefly in the English language since 1940 and published by small and private presses.

This collection highlights the collaboration of authors, illustrators, printers, and publishers in the creation and distribution of modern poetry, alongside the larger or more commercial presses. Included are limited editions, and poetry published in unusual formats, such as broadsides, posters, a book bound in Japanese fashion, accordion books and miniatures. Canadian authors are well represented and form the main part of the collection. Poets published by prominent small presses during 1969-80 are particularly well covered. The location code for these items is SPC.

Rare and Rarefolio Collection

Rare and valuable items which support the curriculum and research interests of the University have been collected since the 1960s. Rarity, monetary and research value are among criteria for inclusion in the collection. Location codes for these items are RAR and RAF. Highlights from the collection incllude a Facsimile collection of William Blake's Illuminated Books (Trianon Press 1950- and William Blake Trust, Princeton University Press, 1991-) in addition to Early Canadian Literature and other works of British, French Revolutionary and Russian history.

English Faculty Publications

Faculty

View the scholarly publications of members of the Department of English Language and Literature:

Barrows, Adam
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Research Excellence Award Recipient (2018)

Beecher, Donald
Professor of English Language and Literature and Montaigne Prize from the Canadian Society for Renaissance Studies Recipient (2017)

Bozak, Nadia
Assistant Professor of English Language and Literature

Brouillette, Sarah
Professor of English Language and Literature and Marston LaFrance Research Fellowship Recipient (2017-2018)

Calkin, Siobhain Bly
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Research Excellence Award Recipient (2018-19)

Casteel, Sarah Phillips
Professor of English Language and Literature and Visiting Fellow, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (2019-2020)

DeCook, Travis
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Research Award for Junior Faculty Recipient (2010)

Dragunoiu, Dana
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton university Teaching Achievement Award Recipient (2016)

Greenspan, Brian
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and International Co-Investigator, AHRC Follow-on Funding for Impact and Engagement Scheme Grant Recipient (2017-19)

Henderson, Jennifer
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Jamieson, Sara
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Johnson, Brian
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Kamra, Sukeshi
Professor of English Language and Literature and Marston LaFrance Research Fellowship Recipient (2008)

Keen, Paul
Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Insight Grant Recipient (2017-22)

Leckie, Barbara
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton Research Achievement Award Recipient (2018-19)

Mason, Jody
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Explore Development Grant Recipient (CORIS) (2018-19)

Medd, Jodie
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Faculty Graduate Mentoring Award Nominee (2017)

Murray, Julie
Supervisor of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor of English Language and Literature; Insight Development Grant Recipient (co-applicant) (2016-18)

Murray, Stuart J.
Professor of English Language and Literature and Visiting Scholar, University of Georgia (2017)

Norris, Robin
Chair and Associate Professor of English Language and Literature ; FASS Research Achievement Award Recipient (2014)

Nudelman, Franny
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton University Development Grant Recipient (2017-18)

Schroeder, Janice
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Teaching Innovation Award Recipient (2017)

Vellino, Brenda
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and CURO Development Grant Recipient (2013-2015)

Wallace, Andrew
Supervisor of Undergraduate Studies and Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Watson, Percy
Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Conference Grant (2011)

White, Micheline
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton Research Development Grant Recipient (July 2015-July 2016)

Williams, Grant
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Standard Research Grant Recipient (2006)

The following is a selection of books written or edited and published by Carleton University's faculty members.

Barrows, Adam
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Research Excellence Award Recipient (2018)

Publications

“Spastic in Time: Time and Disability in Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five“. Journal of Literary and Cultural Disability Studies 12.4 (2018): 391-405.
“Time and the Literature of Globalization” in Time and Literature. Ed. Thomas Allen. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2018. 242-256.
“Living the rhythms of the global: Time, globalization discourse, and rhythm-analysis” in Time, Globalization and Human Experience. Ed. Paul Huebener, Susie O’Brien, Tony Porter et.al. London: Rutgers, 2017. 174-190.
Time, Literature, and Cartography after the Spatial Turn: The Chronometric Imaginary. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2016.
“Joyce’s Panarchy: Time, Ecological Resilience, and Finnegans Wake.” James Joyce Quarterly 51.2-3 (Winter-Spring 2014): 333-352.
“Chinese Eyes and Muddled Armenians: The Hogarth Press and British Racial Discourse” in Interdisciplinary/Multidisciplinary Woolf: Selected Papers from the 22nd Annual International Conference on Virginia Woolf. Ed. Ann Martin and Kathryn Holland. Clemson, S.C.: Clemson University Digital Press, 2013. 237-242.
“Eastward Journeys: Literary Crossings of the International Date Line.” Modern Language Quarterly 73.2 (June 2012): 157-174.
“Time Without Partitions: Midnight’s Children and Temporal Orientalism.” ARIEL: a review of international English literature 42.3-4 (July-October 2011): 89-101.
The Cosmic Time of Empire: Modern Britain and World Literature. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2011.
“‘The Shortcomings of Timetables’: Greenwich, Modernism, and the Limits of Modernity.” Modern Fiction Studies 56.2 (Summer 2010): 262-289 (winner of the Margaret Church Memorial Prize for best essay of 2010).
“Heidegger the Vampire Slayer: The Undead and Fundamental Ontology” in Zombies, Vampires, and Philosophy: New Life for the Undead. Ed. Richard Greene and K.Silem Mohammad. Chicago: Open Court, 2010. 69-80. (BF1556.Z66 2010)
“Teaching the Literature of Revolution.” Radical Teacher 85 (August 2009): 29-38.
“The Static Clock and the Old Manchild: Temporality in Twentieth-Century African Literature.” Literature Compass 5.3 (2008): 633-644.

Beecher, Donald
Professor of English Language and Literature and Montaigne Prize from the Canadian Society for Renaissance Studies Recipient (2017)

Books

Annibale Caro, The Scruffy Scoundrels, a new translation in a bi-lingual edition (with Massimo Ciavolella). New York: Italica Press, 2017.
Giovanni Boccaccio, The Decameron, Selected Tales. Trans. with Intro. and Notes (with Massimo Ciavolella) for Broadview Press, Peterborough and Calgary, 2017.
Adapted Brains and Imaginary Worlds: Cognitive Science and Renaissance Literature, Montreal: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2016. (print, online)
Giovan Francesco Straparola, The Pleasant Nights. Two volumes. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2014. (print - 2012, online -v.1, online -v.2)
Ferrand, Jacques. Traite sur la maladie d’amour (1623). Ed. with introduction and annotations in French by Donald Beecher. Paris: Garnier Classique, 2010.
Ars Reminiscendi: Mind and Memory in Renaissance Culture. Eds. Donald Beecher and Grant Williams. Toronto: CRRS Publications, 2009.
Renaissance Comedy: The Italian Masters. Volume I and Volume II. Lorenzo da Ponte Library. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2009.
Dickenson, John. Greene in Conceit. Ed. with introduction and annotations by Donald Beecher and David Margolies. Barnabe Riche Society Publications No.19. Toronto: CRRS Publications, 2008. (PR2499.D43G74 2008)
Renaissance Comedy: The Italian Masters. Volume I. Lorenzo da Ponte Library. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2008. (PQ4149.R45 2008)

Recent Publications

“Timothy Bright’s Dilemma: Materializing the Wrath of God.” Mirrors of Melancholy. Ed. Hélène Cazes. Turnhout: Brepols, 2010.
“Suspense is Believing: The Reality of Ben Jonson’s Alchemist.” Seeing is Believing, Or Is It? Ed. André Lascombes and Richard Hillman. Collection THETA Vol. 8, Centre d’études Superièure de la Renaissance (2009): 3-14.
“The Fables of Bidpai from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance.” Renaissance Medievalisms. Ed. Konrad Eisenbichler. Toronto: CRRS Publications, 2008. 94-106. (CB361 .R42 2009)
“‘Folk Psychology’ and the Reality of Theatrical Characters: The Case of John Marston’s The Fawn.” Outsiders Within: Figures of Mediation in Tudor Drama. Ed. André Lascombes and Richard Hillman. Collection THETA Vol. 8, Centre d’études Superièure de la Renaissance (2007): 273-90.

Bozak, Nadia
Assistant Professor of English Language and Literature

Short-story Collection

Thirteen Shells. House of Anansi Press, (2016)
El Niño. House of Anansi Press, (2016) (PS8603.O94N56 2014)
Orphan Love. House of Anansi Press, (2008) (PS8603.O94O66 2007)

Books

The Cinematic Footprint: Lights, Camera, New Brunswick, N.J. Rutgers University Press (2012) (print, online)

Brouillette, Sarah
Professor of English Language and Literature and Marston LaFrance Research Fellowship Recipient (2017-2018)

Books

UNESCO and the Fate of the Literary. Forthcoming from Stanford University Press, 2019.
Literature and the Creative Economy. Stanford University Press. 2014. (online, online)
Postcolonial Writers and the Global Literary Marketplace. London: Palgrave, 2007 (PR9080.5 B76 2007)

Recent Publications

“Romance Work.” Theory and Event 22.2 (Apr. 2019): 451-464.
“Wageless Life.” Los Angeles Review of Books (Oct. 2019)
“On the African Literary Hustle.” Blind Field (Aug. 2017)
“Neoliberal Tools (and Archives).” Co-written with Daniel Allington and David Golumbia. Los Angeles Review of Books (May 2016):
“US-Soviet Antagonism and the ‘Indirect Propaganda’ of Book Schemes in India in the 1950s.” University of Toronto Quarterly 84.4 (Fall 2015): 170-188.
“UNESCO and the Book in the Developing World.” Representations Vol. 127 (Summer 2014): 33-54.
“Academic Labour, the Aesthetics of Management, and the Promise of Autonomous Work.” nonsite (May 2013)
“Human Rights Markets and Born into Brothels.” Third Text 25.2 (2011): 169-76.
“Creative Labour and Auteur Authorship: reading Somers Town.” Textual Practice 25.3 (2009): 829-47.
“Contemporary literature, post-industrial capital, and the UK creative industries.” Literature Compass 4 (2007): 122-33.

Calkin, Siobhain Bly
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Research Excellence Award Recipient (2018-19)

Books

Saracens and the Making of English Identity: The Auchinleck Manuscript. New York: Routledge, 2013, 2005.

Recent Publications

“Arthour and Merlin,” The Encyclopedia of British Medieval Literature. Ed. Siân Echard and Robert Rouse. Chichester: Wiley-Blackwell, 2017.
“Crusades Romance,” The Encyclopedia of British Medieval Literature. Ed. Siân Echard and Robert Rouse. Chichester: Wiley-Blackwell, 2017.
“King of Tars,” The Encyclopedia of British Medieval Literature. Ed. Siân Echard and Robert Rouse. Chichester: Wiley-Blackwell, 2017.
“Endings in the Auchinleck Manuscript,” in The Auchinleck Manuscript: New Perspectives, ed. Susanna Fein. York: York Medieval Press, 2016. pp. 156-75.
“Devotional Objects, Saracen Spaces and Miracles in Two Matter of France Romances” in Medieval Romance and Material Culture, ed, Nicholas Perkins. Cambridge: D.S. Brewer, 2015. pp. 59-74.
“The Beauchamp Pageants.” Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History, Volume 5 (1350-1500). Ed. David Thomas and Alex Mallett. Leiden: Brill, 2013, pp. 583-86.
“Saracens” in Heroes and Anti-Heroes in Medieval Romance, ed. Neil Cartlidge. Cambridge: D.S. Brewer, 2012. pp. 185-200.

Casteel, Sarah Phillips
Professor of English Language and Literature and Visiting Fellow, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (2019-2020)

Books

Caribbean Jewish Crossings: Literary History and Creative Practice. Essay collection co-edited with Heidi Kaufman. Charlottesville: U of Virginia P. Forthcoming in Fall 2019. https://www.upress.virginia.edu/title/5260
Calypso Jews: Jewishness in the Caribbean Literary Imagination. Columbia UP, 2016. (PR9205.05.C39 2016)
Canada and Its Americas: Transnational Navigations. Essay collection co-edited with Winfried Siemerling. Montreal and Kingston: McGill-Queen’s UP, 2010 (print, online).
Second Arrivals: Landscape and Belonging in Contemporary Writing of the Americas. New World Studies series. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2007 (PR9175.C37 2007).

Selected Recent Publications

“Caribbean Literature and Global Holocaust Memory.” Holocaust Memory and Racism in the Postwar World. Ed. Avril Alba and Shirli Gilbert. Wayne State UP. (2019)
“Teaching Blacks and Jews in Transnational Perspective.” MLA Options for Teaching Jewish American Literature. Ed. Rachel Rubinstein and Roberta Rosenberg. (forthcoming)
“Triangulating Memory: Sephardism in Caribbean Literature.” The Sephardic Atlantic: Colonial Histories and Postcolonial Perspectives. Ed. Sina Rauschenbach and Jonathan Schorsch. Palgrave Macmillan, 2018. 277-98.
“Swan Street, Visual Memory and the Archive.” American Jewish History 2 (April 2017): 237-40.
“David Dabydeen’s Hogarth: Blacks, Jews, and Postcolonial Ekphrasis.” Cambridge Journal of Postcolonial Literary Inquiry 1 (January 2016): 117-133.
“Landscapes: America and the Americas.” The Cambridge History of Jewish American Literature. Ed. Hana Wirth-Nesher. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2016. 413-31.
“Writing Under the Sign of Anne Frank: Creolized Holocaust Memory in Michelle Cliff and Caryl Phillips.” Modern Fiction Studies. 4 (Winter 2014): 796-820.
“Port and Plantation Jews in Contemporary Slavery Fiction of the Americas.” Callaloo: A Journal of African Diaspora Arts and Letters. 37.1 (Winter 2014): 112-129.
“Calypso Jews: Holocaust Refugees in the Caribbean Literary Imagination.” Holocaust Studies: A Journal of Culture and History. 19.2 (Autumn 2013): 1–26.
“Sephardism and Marranism in Native American Fiction of the Quincentenary.” MELUS2 (Summer 2012): 59-81.

DeCook, Travis
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Research Award for Junior Faculty Recipient (2010)

Books

The Origins of the Bible and the Early Modern Deployment of Theology (Cambridge University Press, 2021)
Co-edited, with Donald Beecher, Andrew Wallace and Grant Williams, Taking Exception to the Law: Materializing Injustice in Early Modern English Literature (University of Toronto Press, 2015). (print, online, online)
Co-edited, with Alan Galey, Shakespeare, the Bible, and the Form of the Book: Contested Scriptures (Routledge, 2011). (PR3012.S55 2012)

Recent Publications

“‘Divinity, adieu!’: The Modern Subject and the Encounter with Scripture in Christopher Marlowe’s Doctor Faustus.” Literature and Theology (32.3 (September 2018): 321-339
“The Extrinsic Bible: Francis Bacon’s New Atlantis, Concepts of Scripture, and the Question of Secularity.” Religion and Literature 47.1 (2015)
“Francis Bacon’s ‘Jewish Dreams’: The Specter of the Millennium in New Atlantis.” Studies in Philology 110.1 (2013).
“Northrop Frye and the Book as Metaphor and Material Artifact.” University of Toronto Quarterly 81.1 (2012).
“Scriptural Negotiations and Textual Afterlives,” co-authored with Alan Galey, Shakespeare, the Bible, and the Form of the Book. (PR3012.S55 2012)
“Apocalyptic Archives: The Reformation Bible, Secularity, and the Text of Shakespearean Scripture.” Shakespeare, the Bible, and the Form of the Book. (PR3012.S55 2012)
“Unearthing Radical Reform: Antiquarianism against Discovery.” The Invention of Discovery, 1500-1700. Ed. James Dougal Fleming. Ashgate, 2011. (Q180.55.D57I58 2011)
“The Ark and Immediate Revelation in Francis Bacon’s New Atlantis.” Studies in Philology 105.1 (2008): 103-122.
“Utopian Communication.” Studies in English Literature 48.1 (Winter 2008): 1-22.
“Temporality and the Text of Scripture in Thomas More’s Religious Polemics.” Moreana 169 (2007): 226-248.
“The History of the Book, Literary History, and Identity Politics in Canada.” Studies in Canadian Literature 27.2 (2002): 71-87.

Dragunoiu, Dana
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton university Teaching Achievement Award Recipient (2016)

Books

Vladimir Nabokov and the Art of Moral Arts, Northwestern University Press, 2021
Vladimir Nabokov and the Poetics of Liberalism, Northwestern University Press, 2011. (PS3527.A15 Z63 2011)

Peer-Refereed Essays

“Lolita: Nabokov’s Rewriting of Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov.” Nabokov Studies 13 (2014): 20-32.
“Neo’s Kantian Choice: The Matrix Reloaded and the Limits of the Posthuman.” Mosaic: A Journal for the Interdisciplinary Study of Literature 40.4 (2007): 51-67.
“J.M. Coetzee’s Life & Times of Michael K and the Thin Theory of the Good.” Journal of Commonwealth Literature 41.1 (2006): 69-92.
“Vladimir Nabokov’s Ada: Art, Deception, Ethics.” Contemporary Literature 46.2 (2005): 311-39.
“Psychoanalysis, Film Theory, and the Case of Being John Malkovich.” Film Criticism 26.2 (2001-2002): 1-18.
“Vladimir Nabokov’s Invitation to a Beheading and the Russian Radical Tradition.” Journal of Modern Literature 25.1 (2001): 53-69.
“Fundamental Ambiguities: Existential Freedom and Responsibility in J.M. Coetzee’s Foe.” Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction 42.3 (2001): 309-26.
“Hemingway’s Debt to Stendhal’s Armance in The Sun Also Rises.” Modern Fiction Studies 46.4 (2000): 868-92.
“Dialogues with Berkeley: Idealist Metaphysics and Epistemology in Nabokov’s Bend Sinister.” Nabokov Studies 5 (1998/1999): 47-62.

Essays in Books

“Nabokov and Liberalism” in Vladimir Nabokov in Context. Edited by David Bethea and Siggy Frank. Cambridge UP, 2018.
“On Pity and Courtesy in Nabokov’s Ethics.” Edited by Brian Boyd and Marijeta Bozovic. Nabokov Upside Down. Evanston: Northwestern UP, 2016.

Essays Translated by Others

“Życie i czasy Michaela K: J.M. Coetzeego i wąska teoria dobra.” Trans. Piotr Jakubowski. In Wielcy artyści ucieczek: Eseje o Życiu i czasach Michaela K J.M. Coetzeego w trzydziestą rocznicę publikacji powieści. Ed. Piotr Jakubowski and M. Jankowska. Kraków: “Ha!art,” 2013. [“J.M. Coetzee’s Life & Times of Michael K and the Thin Theory of the Good,” in Great Escape Artists: Essays on J.M. Coetzee’s Life & Times of Michael K on the 30th Anniversary of Its Publication. Eds. Piotr Jakubowski and M. Jankowska. Cracow: Ha!Art, 2013]

Greenspan, Brian
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and International Co-Investigator, AHRC Follow-on Funding for Impact and Engagement Scheme Grant Recipient (2017-19)

Recent Publications

“The Scandal of Digital Humanities.” in Matthew K. Gold and Lauren Klein, eds.,Debates in the Digital Humanities 2019. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press.
Emily Christina Murphy, Brian Greenspan & Shannon Smith. “The Undergraduate Summer Intensive: Principles of Pedagogy and Design.” in Crompton, Lane & Siemens, eds. Doing Digital Humanities: Practice, Training, Research. Routledge (2016).
“Are Digital Humanists Utopian?” In Matthew K. Gold and Lauren, Debates in the Digital Humanities 2016. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press: 393-409.
Kim Martin, Anabel Quan-Haase, Brian Greenspan (co-author). (2016). “STAK –Serendipitous Tool for Augmenting Knowledge: Connecting Digital and Physical Resources.” Digital Studies/Le champ numérique 2016.
“Burning Canada’s Libraries and other Monumental Errors.” MediaTropes 5 (2) (2015): 89-101.
“Don’t Make a Scene: Game Studies for an Uncertain World.” Digital Studies/Le champ numérique Vol.5 (2014-15).

Henderson, Jennifer
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Books

Settler Feminism and Race Making in Canada. University of Toronto Press, 2003. (print, online, online)

Edited collections

(co-edited with Pauline Wakeham) Reconciling Canada: Critical Perspectives on the Culture of Redress. University of Toronto Press, 2013. (print, online)
(co-edited with Eva C. Karpinski, Ray Ellenwood, and Ian Sowton) Trans/acting Culture, Writing, and Memory: Essays in Honour of Barbara Godard. Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2013. (print, online)

Chapters in books

“The Camp, the School, and the Child: Discursive Exchanges and (Neo)liberal Axioms in the Culture of Redress,” in Reconciling Canada: Critical Perspectives on the Culture of Redress. Eds. Jennifer Henderson and Pauline Wakeham. University of Toronto Press, 2013.(print, online)
(with Brian Johnson) “Maddin, Melodrama, and the ‘Pre-National,’” in Double-Takes: Intersections Between Canadian Literature and Film. Ed. David Jarraway. University of Ottawa Press, 2012.
“Something not unlike enjoyment”: Gothicism, Catholicism, and Sexuality in Kiss of the Fur Queen” in Unsettled Remains: Canadian Literature and the Postcolonial Gothic. Eds. Cynthia Sugars and Gerry Turcotte. Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2009. (PS8191.G6U57 2009)
“At Normal School: Ernest Thomson Seton, L.M. Montgomery, and the New Education.” Home-Work: Postcolonialism, Pedagogy, and Canadian Literature. Ed. Cynthia Sugars. University of Ottawa Press, 2004. (online, online, online)
“Femme(s) Focale(s): Gail Scott’s Main Brides and the Post-Identity Narrative.” Gail Scott: Essays on Her Works. Ed. Lianne Moyes. Guernica Editions, 2002. 72-100. (Reprint.) (PS8587.C655Z67 2002)

Journal articles

“Residential Schools and Opinion-Making in the Era of Traumatized Subjects and Taxpayer-Citizens,” Journal of Canadian Studies 49.1 (2015) 5-43.
(co-authored with Keith Denny) “The Resilient Child, Human Development, and the ‘Post-democracy,’” Biosocieties 10.3 (September 2015) 352-378.
“Transparency, Spectatorship, Accountability: Indigenous Families in Settler-State ‘Postdemocracies,’” English Studies in Canada 38.3-5 Sept-Dec (2012) 299-330.
“Taste and Colonial Conjugality in Susan Frances Harrison.” Canadian Literature 212 (Summer 2012).
(with Pauline Wakeham) “Colonial Reckoning, National Reconciliation?: First Peoples and the Culture of Redress in Canada,” English Studies in Canada, Vol. 34, Issue 4, Spring 2010.
“Can The Third Wave Speak?” Atlantis 32.1 (2007) 68-78.
“Of Bombs, Baking, and Blahniks” (with Lauren Gillingham, Julie Murray, and Janice Schroeder). English Studies in Canada, Readers’ Forum on “The State of Feminism.”31.2-3 (June/September 2005) 22-30.
“How Janey Canuck Became a Person.” Topia: Canadian Journal of Cultural Studies 13 (Spring 2005) 73-87.
“Fat Shoes” in Tessera 31 special issue on “Fetishism” (Winter 2002) 5-13.
“Critical Canadiana.” American Literary History 13:4 (Winter 2001). 789-813.

Jamieson, Sara
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Recent Publications

“Ethics and Infant Feeding in Alice Munro’s Stories.” Ethics and Affects in the Fiction of Alice Munro. Edited by Amelia DeFalco and Lorraine York, Palgrave-Macmillan, 2018. 13-33.

“Alice Munro and the Memorized Poem .” Alice Munro’s Miraculous Art: Critical Essays. Ed. Janice Fiamengo and Gerald Lynch. University of Ottawa Press, 2017. 79-95.

“Reading the ‘St. Louis Whirligig’: Hockey, Masculinity, and Aging in Paul Quarrington’s King Leary” Journal of Canadian Studies 48.3 (2014): 181-199.
“Reading the Spaces of Age in Alice Munro’s ‘The Bear Came Over the Mountain.” Mosaic: A Journal for the Interdisciplinary Study of Literature 47.3 2014. 1-17.
“‘Surprising Developments’: Midlife in Alice Munro’s Who Do You Think You Are?” Canadian Literature 217 (2013): 54-71.
“Joan Barfoot’s Exit Lines and the Pastoral of Old Age.” American Review of Canadian Studies 42.2 (2012): 370-83.

Johnson, Brian
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Recent Publications

“‘The Strangeness of My Heritage:’ Lovecraft’s Poe and the Anxiety of Influence.” The Lovecraftian Poe: Essays on Influence, Reception, Interpretation, and Transformation. Ed. Sean Moreland. Bethlehem: Lehigh University Press, 2017. 1-25.
“Prehistories of Posthumanism: Cosmic Indifferentism, Ecology, and Alien Genesis from H.P. Lovecraft to Ridley Scott.” The Age of Lovecraft: Cosmic Horror, Posthumanism, and Popular Culture. Eds. Jeffrey Weinstock and Carl H. Sederholm. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2016. 97-116.
“The Infinite Grail-Quest of Samuel R. Delany’s Nova: Romance, Science Fiction, and the (Post-) Modern Tarot.” Tarot in Culture. Ed. Emily E. Auger. Valleyhome Books, 2014. (BF1879.T2A943 2014)
“Canadian Psycho: Genre, Nation, and Colonial Violence in Michael Slade’s Psycho-Thrillers.” Crime Fiction Canada: Essays on Canadian Crime Fiction, Television, and Film. Eds. Jeannette Sloniowski and Marilyn Rose. Waterloo: Wilfred Laurier UP, 2014. 55-82.
“Beyond the Lure: Teaching Horror, Teaching Theory.” Fear and Learning: Essays on the Pedagogy of Horror. Eds. Aalya Ahmad and Sean Moreland. Jefferson, NC: McFarland: 2013. 95-123. (PN1995.9.H6F395 2013)
(with Jennifer Henderson) “Maddin, Melodrama, and the Pre-National.” Double Takes: Intersections Between Canadian Literature and Film. Ottawa: U of Ottawa P. 2013. 77-93.
“Libidinal Ecologies: Eroticism and Environmentalism in Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing.” Sexual Ideology in the Works of Alan Moore: Critical Essays on the Graphic Novels. Eds. Todd A. Comer and Joseph M. Sommers. Jefferson, NC: McFarland. 2011. 16-27.
“Son of a Smaller (Super)Hero: Ethnicity, Comic Books, and Secret Identity in Richler’s Novels of Apprenticeship.” Canadian Literature 207 (2010): 26-40.
“How To Build a Haunted Nation: The ‘Cheerful Ghosts’ of Robertson Davies’ High Spirits.” University of Toronto Quarterly. 78.4 (2009): 1012-28.
“Viking Graves Revisited: Pre-Colonial Primitivism in Farley Mowat’s Northern Gothic.” Unsettled Remains: Canadian Literature and the Postcolonial Gothic. Eds. Cynthia Sugars and Gerry Turcotte. Waterloo: Wilfred Laurier Press. 2009. 23-50. Reprint. (PS8191.G6U57 2009)
“Simulacra and Stimulations: Cocksure, Postmodernism, and Richler’s Phallic Hero.” Canadian Literature 198 (2008): 12-27.

Kamra, Sukeshi
Professor of English Language and Literature and Marston LaFrance Research Fellowship Recipient (2008)

Books

Bearing Witness: Partition, Independence, End of the Raj. Calgary: University of Calgary Press, 2002.
Kipling’s Vision: A Study in his Short Stories. New Delhi: Prestige Press, 1988.

Recent Publications

“The Vox Populi, or the Infernal Propaganda Machine, and Juridical Force in British India.” Cultural Critique 72 (2009).
“Partition and post-Partition Acts of Fiction: Narrating Painful Histories.” Partitioned Lives: Narratives of Home, Displacement, and Resettlement. Ed. Nandi Bhatia and Anjali Gera Roy. Delhi: Dorling Kindersley, 2007. 99-115.
“Recording 1857: The Economy of the Government Report.” The Nation across the World: Postcolonial Literary Representations. Ed. Harish Trivedi, Meenakshi Mukherjee, C. Vijayasree and T. Vijay Kumar. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2007. 127-158.
“Giving the City a Miss?: Propaganda Text of the Indian Freedom Movement and its Exclusions.” Journal of Commonwealth and Postcolonial Studies 12.2 (2005): 1-36.

Keen, Paul
Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Insight Grant Recipient (2017-22)

Books

The Humanities in a Utilitarian Age: Imagining What We Know, 1800-1850. Palgrave Macmillan, forthcoming.
Mary Wollstonecraft in Context. Co-edited with Nancy E. Johnson. Cambridge University Press, forthcoming.
Interacting with Print: Keywords for the Era of Media Saturation. One of 24 equal authors. Chicago University Press, 2018.
The Age of Authors: An Anthology of Eighteenth-Century Print Culture. Broadview Press, 2014. (PR1297.A54 2014)
Literature, Commerce, and the Spectacle of Modernity, 1750-1800. Cambridge University Press, 2012. (PR448.S64 K45 2012)
Bookish Histories: Books, Literature and Commercial Modernity, 1700-1900. Co-edited with Ina Ferris. Palgrave Macmillan, 2009. (Z1003.5.G7 B67 2009)
Revolutions in Romantic Literature: An Anthology of Print Culture, 1780-1832. Broadview Press, 2004. (PN603.R49 2004)
The Radical Popular Press in Britain, 1817-1821. Editor. 6 Volumes. Pickering & Chatto, 2003.
The Crisis of Literature in the 1790s: Print Culture and the Public Sphere. Cambridge University Press, 1999.

Recent Articles

“‘The Philosopher in the Workshop’: Rethinking the Literatures of Knowledge and Power,” Studies in Romanticism. Special Issue: “Romanticism in a New Key.” Forthcoming.
“Conservatism,” Mary Wollstonecraft in Context. Ed. Nancy E. Johnson and Paul Keen. Cambridge University Press. 2020.
“Introduction.” Co-written with Nancy E. Johnson. Mary Wollstonecraft in Context. Ed. Nancy E. Johnson. Cambridge University Press. 2020.
“Towards a Radical Humanism,” special issue of the Praxis series in Romantic Circles on “Raymond Williams and Romanticism,” ed. Jonathan Sachs and Jon Klancher. Forthcoming.
“Book-Making,” The Oxford Handbook of British Romanticism. Ed. David Duff. Oxford University Press, 2019. Pp. 437-48.
“‘Extravagance, Tea, and Trumpery’: Irony and Education in Thomas McCulloch’s Stepsure Letters,” Studies in Canadian Literature. Co-written with Cynthia.
“‘No London street-Arabs for me’: The Unnatural Orphan in Anne of Green Gables,” L.M. Montgomery and the Matter of Nature. Ed. Rita Bode and Jean Mitchell. McGill-Queens University Press, 2018. Pp. 157-70.
“Against Utilitarianism: Two Hundred Years of ‘Useful Knowledge,'” Romantic Circles.
“Fashionable Subjects: Curious Exhibits and the Limits of Sociability,” The Sites of Romantic Sociability. Ed. Kevin Gilmartin. Cambridge UP, 2016.
“Radical Atlantic: Joseph Howe and the Culture of Reform,” Journal of Canadian Studies. Volume 48.3 (2014): 30-48.
“Imagining What We Know: The Humanities in a Utilitarian Age,” Humanities 3 (2014): 73-87. Special Issue: “The Challenges of the Humanities, Past, Present, and Future,” ed. Albrecht Classen.
“‘The Good Things Above’: The Commercial Modernity of Vincent Lunardi,” The 18-Century Common (2013)
“Shelley on the Assembly Line: A Defence of the Humanities,” Keats-Shelley Review 26.2 (2012).
“‘Uncommon Animals’: Making Virtue of Necessity in the Age of Authors,” Bookish Histories: Books, Literature and Commercial Modernity, 1700-1900. Ed. Paul Keen and Ina Ferris. Palgrave Macmillan, 2009. Pp. 41-60. (Z1003.5.G7B67 2009)
“Foolish Knowledge: The Commercial Modernity of the Periodical Press.” European Romantic Review 19 (July 2008): 199-218.
“The ‘Balloonomania’: Science and Spectacle in 1780s England.” Eighteenth-Century Studies 39.4 (2006): 507-535.

Leckie, Barbara
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton Research Achievement Award Recipient (2018-19)

Books

Open Houses: Poverty, the Novel, and the Architectural Idea in Nineteenth-Century Britain. Philadelphia: Univ. of Penn Press, 2018.
Culture and Adultery: The Novel, the Newspaper, and the Law, 1857-1914. Philadelphia: Univ. of Penn P [New Cultural Studies Series], 1999. (PR878.A37 L43)
Rohinton Mistry. Toronto: ECW P, 1996. Rpt. Canadian Writers and Their Works. Vol. 11 Eds. Robert Lecker, Jack David, Ellen Quigley. Toronto: ECW P, 1996. 104-61. (PS8077.C36)

Edited Books

Mayhew, Henry. London Labour and London Poor. Co-edited volume with Janice Schroeder. Downsview: Broadview P. Forthcoming 2018.
Sanitary Reform in Victorian Britain: End of Century Assessments and New Directions. Ed. Vol. 6 General Ed. of 6-volume edition: Michelle Allen Emerson. London: Pickering & Chatto. Forthcoming Spring 2012.

Recent Publications

“Animated Conversations: Form, Transformation, and the Category of the Novel in the 1880s.” The Literary 1880s. Eds. Andrew Taylor and Penny Fielding. Cambridge: Cambridge UP. Forthcoming.
“Sequence and Fragment, History and Thesis: Samuel Smiles’s Self-Help, Social Change, and Climate Change.” Nineteenth-Century Contexts 38.5 (2016): 305-17.
“‘A New Departure in Biography’: Samuel Smiles’s Writing.” Nineteenth-Century Prose 43.1-2 (Spring-Fall 2016): 283-301.
“Reader-Help: How to Read Samuel Smiles’s Self-Help.” Media and Print Culture Consumption in Nineteenth-Century Britain: The Victorian Reading Experience. Eds. Anna Gasparini and Paul Rooney. London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2016.
“On Print Culture: Mediation, Practice, Politics, Knowledge.” [An omnibus review article.] Victorian Literature and Culture 43.4 (December 2015): 895-907.
“Historical Distance and Questions of Form in 5½ Points.” Journal of the Canadian Historical Association / Revue de la SHC 26.2 (2015): 22-31.
“The Victorian Culture of Censorship.” Blackwell Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature. Eds.Dino Franco Felluga, Pamela K. Gilbert, and Linda K. Hughes. Oxford: Blackwell, 2015. See also Blackwell Reference Online. http://www.literatureencyclopedia.com/subscriber/tocnode.html?id=g9781118405383_chunk_g97811184053835_ss1-10
“The Bitter Cry of Outcast London Controversy (1883): Print Exposé and Print Reprise.” BRANCH (Britain, Representation and Nineteenth-Century History). Ed. Dino Franco Felluga. Extension of Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net. 2014. Web. http://www.branchcollective.org/
“Prince Albert’s Exhibition Model Dwellings in Hyde Park, 1851.” BRANCH (Britain,Representation and Nineteenth-Century History). Ed. Dino Franco Felluga. Extension of Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net. 2014. Web. http://www.branchcollective.org/
“Censorship, The Novel, and Print Culture.” Oxford Handbook of the Victorian Novel. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2013. 166-82.
“What is the Social Problem Novel?” Victorian Literature: 21st Century Perspectives. Ed. Larry Mazzano. Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2013. 87-110.
“The Architecture of Middlemarch: From Building Cottages to the Home Epic.” Nineteenth-Century Studies. 24 (2012): 53-79.

Mason, Jody
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature; Cross-appointed to the School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies and SSHRC Explore Development Grant Recipient (CORIS) (2018-19)

Books

Home Feelings: Liberal Citizenship and the Canadian Reading Camp Movement (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2019.
Writing Unemployment: Worklessness, Mobility, and Citizenship in Twentieth-Century Canadian Literatures (University of Toronto Press, 2013) (PS8101.U46 M37 2013)

Recent Articles / Chapters in Books

“‘Capital Intraconversion’ and Canadian Literary Prize Culture.” Book History 20 (2017): 424–46.
“Creating a ‘Home Feeling’: The Canadian Reading Camp Association and the Uses of Fiction, 1900-1905.” Labour / Le Travail 76 (Fall 2015): 109-32. http://www.lltjournal.ca/index.php/llt/article/view/5811
“‘Rebel Woman,’ ‘Little Woman,’ and the Eclectic Print Culture of Protest in The Woman Worker, 1926-1929.” Canadian Literature 220 (Spring 2014): 17-35.
“A Family of Migrant Workers: Region and the Rise of Neoliberalism in the Fiction of Alistair MacLeod.” Studies in Canadian Literature 38.1 (2013): 151-69. http://journals.hil.unb.ca/index.php/SCL
“Afro-Caribbean Writing in Canada and the Politics of Migrant Labour Mobility.” Cultural Grammars of Nation: Diaspora and Indigeneity in Canada. Ed. Melina Baum Singer, Christine Kim and Sophie McCall. (Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2012) (print, online)
“Antimodernist Paradox in Canada: The Graphic Publishers (1925–1932) and the Case of Madge Macbeth.” Journal of Canadian Studies 45.2 (Spring 2011): 96-122.

Medd, Jodie
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Faculty Graduate Mentoring Award Nominee (2017)

Books

The Cambridge Companion to Lesbian Literature. Ed. Jodie Medd. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2015. (PN56.L45 C36 2015)
Lesbian Scandal and the Culture of Modernism. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2012. (PR478.H65 M43 2012)

Recent Publications

“The Well of Loneliness,” Global Encyclopedia of LGBTQ History. Eds. Howard Chiang, et. al. Macmillan, 2019.
“ ‘I didn’t know there could be such writing’: The Aesthetic Intimacy of E.M. Forster and T.E. Lawrence,” Queer Bloomsbury. Eds. Madelyn Detloff and Brenda Helt. University of Edinburgh Press, 2016. 258-275. PR478.H65 Q44 2016
“Queer Fiction in Contemporary Britain.” The Blackwell Companion to British Literature, Vol. IV: Victorian and Twentieth-Century Literature. Eds. Heesok Chang, Robert DeMaria, Jr., and Samantha Zacher. Blackwell, John Wiley and Sons, 2014. 424-439.
“Encountering the Past in Recent Lesbian and Gay Fiction.” The Cambridge Companion to Gay and Lesbian Writing. Ed. Hugh Stevens. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011. (PN56.H57 C33 2011)
“‘Patterns of the Possible’: National Imaginings and Queer Historical (Meta)Fictions in Jamie O’Neill’s At Swim, Two Boys.” GLQ (Gay and Lesbian Quarterly) 13.1 (2007): 1-31.
“‘Seances and Slander’: Radclyffe Hall in 1920.” Sapphic Modernities. Ed. Laura Doan and Jane Garrity. New York: Palgrave Press, 2006. 201-216. (print, online)
“The Cult of the Clitoris: Anatomy of a National Scandal.” Modernism/Modernity 9.1 (January 2002): 21-49. Reprinted in in Sexuality and Identity. Ed. Leslie J. Moran. International Library of Essays in Law and Society Series. Ashgate Publishing, 2006. 137-170.

Murray, Julie
Supervisor of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor of English Language and Literature; Insight Development Grant Recipient (co-applicant) (2016-18)

Recent and Forthcoming Publications

Co-editor. “Romantic Life.” Conference issue of European Romantic Review. Forthcoming.
“1970s Critical Reception.” Mary Wollstonecraft in Context. Eds. Nancy E. Johnson and Paul Keen. Cambridge University Press,
Six entries in The Cambridge Guide to the Eighteenth-Century Novel, 1660-1820. Ed. April London.
“Sensibility.” The Cambridge Companion to Eighteenth-Century Thought. Ed. Frans, 2018.
“Mary Wollstonecraft and Modernity.” Women’s Writing 23.3 (July 2016): 366-77. (Special Issue: Festschrift in honour of Professor Janet Todd: “A Life in Feminist Scholarship”).
“The Country and the City and the Colony in The Woman of Colour.” LUMEN. Vol. 33 (2014): 87-99.
“Mary Hays and the Forms of Life.” Studies in Romanticism. 52 (Spring 2013): 61-84.
“Histories of Female Progress in Memoirs of Modern Philosophers.” Eighteenth-Century Fiction. 22.4 (Summer 2010): 673-692.
“Joanna Baillie’s Rayner and Romantic Spectacle.” European Romantic Review. 21.1 (January 2010): 65-76.
“At the Surface of Romantic Interiority: Joanna Baillie’s Orra.” Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net. No. 56 (November 2009).
“Company Rules: Burke, Hastings, and the Specter of the Modern Liberal State.” Eighteenth-Century Studies 41.1 (2007): 55-69.
“Governing Economic Man: Joanna Baillie’s Theatre of Utility.” ELH (English Literary History) 70.4 (2003): 1043-65.

Murray, Stuart J.
Professor of English Language and Literature and Visiting Scholar, University of Georgia (2017)

Books

D. Holmes, S.J. Murray, & T. Foth (eds.), Radical Sex Between Men: Assembling Desiring-Machines (Routledge, 2018) (HQ76.115.R33 2018)
A. Blum & S.J. Murray (eds.), The Ethics of Care: Moral Knowledge, Communication, and the Art of Caregiving (Routledge, 2017) (R726.8.E84 2017)
S.J. Murray & D. Holmes (eds.), Critical Interventions in the Ethics of Healthcare: Challenging the Principle of Autonomy in Bioethics (Ashgate Publishing, 2009) (R724.C755 2009)

Selected Recent Publications

S.J. Murray & T. Lemieux, “Combat—Débat: Parataxis and the Unavowable Community; or, The Joke,” Philosophy & Rhetoric, vol. 52, no. 1 (2019), 78–85
S.J. Murray, S. Corneau, D. Medico, & S. Burgess, “Is #MeToo Casting a Shadow on Sexual Pleasure?,” The Conversation Canada, 1 April 2019
A. Guta & S.J. Murray, “On the Possibility of Being Governed Otherwise: Exploring Foucault’s Legacy for Critical Social Science Studies in the Field of HIV/AIDS,” in Thinking Differently about HIV/AIDS: Contributions from Critical Social Science, eds. E. Mykhalovskiy & V. Namaste (UBC Press, 2019), 39–71
S.J. Murray, “Thanatopolitics,” in Bloomsbury Handbook to Literary and Cultural Theory, ed. J.R. Di Leo (Bloomsbury, 2018), 718–719
S.J. Murray, “Canada’s Moral Negligence in Jamal Khashoggi’s Murder,” The Conversation Canada, 28 November 2018
S. Burgess & S.J. Murray, “Carceral Biocitizenship: The Rhetorics of Sovereignty in Incarceration,” in Biocitizenship: Somatic Subjects, Embodied Sociality, and Lively Politics, eds. K. Happe, J. Johnson, and M. Levina (New York University Press), 51–69
J. Pariseau-Legault, D. Holmes, & S.J. Murray “Understanding Human Enhancement Technologies through Critical Phenomenology,” Nursing Philosophy (2018), doi:10.1111/nup.12229
S.J. Murray & D.L. Steinberg, “To Mourn, To Re-imagine without Oneself: Death, Dying, and Social Media/tion,” Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience, Special Issue on Illness Narratives, vol. 4, no. 1 (2018), 1–31, doi:10.28968/cftt.v4i1.29632.
S.J. Murray & S. Kendall, “‘Let Us Eat Cake’: Speaking for the Dead,” Qui Parle, vol. 26, no. 2 (2017), 325–328
S.J. Murray, “On Rhetoric and the School of Philosophy Without Tears,” Philosophy & Rhetoric, vol. 50, no. 4 (2017): 528–551
S.J. Murray, D. Holmes, & S. Burgess, “Mort d’Ashley Smith : entre bio-politique carcérale et souveraineté judiciaire,” Sociétés: Revue des sciences humaines et sociales, no. 136 (2017), 73–90
S.J. Murray & T. Lemieux, “Apprehending the Death of Jamel Dunn,” Los Angeles Review of Books, The Philosophical Salon, 18 September 2017
S. Kendall & S.J. Murray, “Trump’s Law: Toward a Necropolitical Humanitarianism,” Critical Legal Thinking, 10 April 2017
S.J. Murray, “Neoliberal Biopolitics through the Spectacles of the Gene,” Science as Culture, vol. 26, no. 2 (2017): 255–259, doi:10.1080/09505431.2016.1238890
S.J. Murray, “Affirming the Human? The Question of Biopolitics,” Law, Culture and the Humanities, vol. 12, no. 3 (2016), 485–495
S.A. Stevenson & S.J. Murray, “Aboriginal Bioethics as Critical Bioethics: The Virtue of Narrative,” American Journal of Bioethics, vol. 16, no. 5 (2016), 52–54
A. Guta, S.J. Murray, & M. Gagnon, “HIV, Viral Suppression and New Technologies of Surveillance and Control,” Body & Society (2016), doi:10.1177/1357034X15624510
S. Burgess & S.J. Murray, “Cutting Both Ways: On the Ethical Entanglements of Human Rights, Rites, and Genital Mutilation,” American Journal of Bioethics, vol. 15, no. 2 (2015): 50–51
S.J. Murray, “Hegel’s Pathology of Recognition: A Biopolitical Fable,” in The Rhetorical Contours of Recognition [Special Issue], Philosophy & Rhetoric, vol. 48, no. 4 (2015): 443–472

Norris, Robin
Chair and Associate Professor of English Language and Literature ; FASS Research Achievement Award Recipient (2014)

Recent Publications (2010 to present)

“The Sevenfold-Fivefold-Threefold Litany of the Saints in the Leofric Missal and Beyond.” Anglo-Saxon England 43 (2014): 183–207.
<“Genre Trouble: Reading the Old English Vita of Saint Euphrosyne.” Writing Women Saints in Anglo-Saxon England. Ed. Paul E. Szarmach. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2013. 121–39. (PR179.W65 W75 2013)
“Hegemony.” A Handbook of Anglo-Saxon Studies. Ed. Jacqueline Stodnick and Renée R. Trilling. Critical Theory Handbooks. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012. 55–68.
Anonymous Interpolations in Ælfric’s Lives of Saints. Ed. Robin Norris. OEN Subsidia 35. Kalamazoo: Medieval Institute Publications, 2011.
“Introduction.” Anonymous Interpolations in Ælfric’s Lives of Saints. Ed. Robin Norris. OEN Subsidia 35. Kalamazoo: Medieval Institute Publications, 2011. 1–12.
“Resistance to Genocide in the Postmodern Beowulf.” Literature Compass 8 (2011): 435–8. Online.
“Reversal of Fortune, Response, and Reward in the Old English Passion of Saint Eustace.” Anonymous Interpolations in Ælfric’sLives of Saints. Ed. Robin Norris. OEN Subsidia 35. Kalamazoo: Medieval Institute Publications, 2011. 97–117.

Nudelman, Franny
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton University Development Grant Recipient (2017-18)

Books

John Brown’s Body: Slavery, Violence, and the Culture of War (Cultural Studies of the United States Series, University of North Carolina Press, 2004) (E468.9.N84 2004)
Remaking Reality: U.S. Documentary Culture After 1945, co-edited with Sara Blair and Joseph Entin (University of North Carolina Press, April 2018)

Work-In-Progress

Sleeping Soldiers: Dreamwork in the Age of Expansion (under contract, Verso Books)

Articles and Reviews

“Death in Life: Documenting Survival After Hiroshima,” in Remaking Reality: U.S. Documentary Culture After 1945 (University of North Carolina Press, April 2018)
“Reporting Nuclear Dread: The Stranger at Didion’s Door,” a/b: Auto/biography Studies32 (Autumn 2016): 591-96
“New Soldiers and Empty Boys: Imaging Traumatic Memory,” Visual Studies 30 (June 2015): 210-221
“Take Me to the River,” Review Essay on Katherine Boo’s Behind the Beautiful Forevers and Rana Dasgupta’s Capital, Contemporary Literature (Spring 2015): 181-190
“Against Photography: Susan Sontag’s Vietnam,” Photography and Culture 7.1 (2014): 7:20
“‘Marked for Demolition’: Mary McCarthy’s Vietnam Journalism,” American Literature 85.2 (2013): 363-87
“Trip to Hanoi: Anti-War Travel and International Consciousness,” in New World Coming: The Sixties and the Shaping of Global Consciousness, eds. Karen Dubinsky, Catherine Krull, Susan Lord, Sean Mills, Scott Rutherford (Between the Lines, 2009): 237-246 (D848.N485 2009)
Review of Sharon Cameron’s Impersonality and Branka Arsic’s Passive Constitutions, American Literature (September 2009)
“‘The Blood of Millions’: John Brown’s Body, Public Violence, and Political Community,” American Literary History (Winter 2001). Reprinted in Afterlife of John Brown, eds. Eldrid Herrington and Andrew Taylor (Palgrave Press, 2005)
“‘Ghosts Might Enter Here’: Toward a Reader’s History,” in Scribbling Women: Engendering and Empowering the Hawthorne Tradition, eds. Melinda Ponder and John Idol (University of Massachusetts Press, 1999)
Review of Caroline Levander’s Voices of the Nation: Women and Public Speech in Nineteenth-Century Literature and Culture, American Literature (September 1999)
“‘Emblem and Product of Sin’: The Poisoned Child in The Scarlet Letter and Domestic Advice Literature,” The Yale Journal of Criticism 10 (Spring 1997)
“Beyond the Talking Cure: Listening to Female Testimony on The Oprah Winfrey Show,” in Inventing the Psychological: Toward a History of Emotional Life in America, eds. Joel Pfister and Nancy Schnog (Yale University Press, 1997): 297-315 (BF108.U5I58)
“Harriet Jacobs and the Sentimental Politics of Female Suffering,” English Literary History 59 (1992)

Schroeder, Janice
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and FASS Teaching Innovation Award Recipient (2017)

Recent and Forthcoming Publications

“Detachment Theory: History, Story, and Language in Maurice Mierau’s Detachment: An Adoption Memoir. Journal of Mennonite Studies. Vol 36, 2018, 57-74.
“The Publishing History of Henry Mayhew’s London Labour and the London Poor.” BRANCH: Britain, Representation, and Nineteenth Century History. Extension of Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net. Ed. Dino Franco Felluga. Web. April 30, 2019.
“Clearing the Air: Margaret Hale’s Emotional Labour in North and South.” Women’s Writing. Forthcoming.
Co-editor, London Labour and the London Poor by Henry Mayhew. Forthcoming 2018.
“Secrets Grow Small and No Longer Exist”: Dora Dueck’s This Hidden Thing.” 11 Encounters with Mennonite Fiction, ed. Hildi Froese Tiessen. 2017.
Editor, Special issue for Victorian Periodicals Review on Victorian education and the periodical press. Winter 2017.

Journal Articles

"Of Bombs, Baking, and Blahniks", English Studies in Canada. 31, June-Sept 2005, 22-30.
"Better Arguments : The English Woman's Journal and the Game of Public Opinion", Victorian Periodicals Review, 35 (3) Fall 2002, 243-71

Vellino, Brenda
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature; Cross-appointed faculty member in the Human Rights and Social Justice program in The Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies; and CURO Development Grant Recipient (2013-2015)

Recent and Forthcoming Publications

“`Re-Creation Stories’: Re-Presencing, Re-embodiment, and Repatriation Practices in Leanne Betasamosake Simpson’s “How to Steal a Canoe.” Canadian Journal of Native Studies. 38: 1 (2018): 129-152
“Restaging Indigenous – Settler Relations: Intercultural Theatre as Redress Rehearsal in Marie Clement’ and Rita Leistners The Edward Curtis Project.”Theatre Research in Canada. 38.1 (Spring 2017): 92-111.
“Beyond the Trauma Aesthetic: The Cultural Work of Human Rights Witness Poetries.” Routledge Companion to Literature and Human Rights. Ed Sophia McClennan and Alexandra Schulteis Moore. New York: Routledge, 2016. (PN56.H79 R68 2016)
“Cultivating Translocal Citizen Witness: Contemporary Human Rights Poetry as `Remembrance/Pedagogy.’” Options for Teaching: Human Rights and Literature. Eds. Alexandra Schulteis Moore and Elizabeth Goldberg. New York: MLA: 2015.
— With Sarah Waisvisz. “The Steveston Noh Project as Redress Theatre from Below.” Canadian Literature. Spring 2013.
—.With Sarah Waisvisz. “Yael Farber’s Molora and Colleen Wagner’s Monument as Post-Conflict Redress Theatre.” College Literature. 40.3 Summer 2013: 113-37.
“‘History’s Pulse Measured with Another Hand’: Precarity Archives and Translocal Citizen Witness in Dionne Brand’s Inventory.” University of Toronto Quarterly. 82.2 Spring 2013: 242-260.
“Seamus Heaney’s Transitional Justice for Post-Conflict Societies.” Peace Review. 20.1 (April 2008).
“Machine Age Discourse, Mechanical Ballet, and Popular Song as Public Archive in Dorothy Livesay’s `Day and Night’.” Studies in Canadian Literature 32.2 (2007): 43-58.
“Human Rights Poetry as Proxy Trial: Bodies and Bystanders in Margaret Atwood’s `Footnote to the Amnesty Report on Torture.” The Adventurist Jurist. Eds. Diana Majury and Atkinson, Logan. Toronto: U of Toronto P, 2007.

Wallace, Andrew
Supervisor of Undergraduate Studies and Associate Professor of English Language and Literature

Monograph

The Fact of Rome: Medieval and Renaissance Afterlives of Roman Britain (forthcoming)
Virgil’s Schoolboys: The Poetics of Pedagogy in Renaissance England. Oxford University Press. 2010. (PA6825.W35 2010)

Co-Edited Volume

Taking Exception to the Law: Materializing Injustice in Early Modern English Literature, ed. Donald Beecher, Travis DeCook, Andrew Wallace, and Grant Williams (University of Toronto Press, 2015).

Refereed Essays and Book Chapters

“Education.” John Donne in Context, ed. Michaeld Schoenfeldt (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019), 131-138.
“Pedagogy, Education, and Early Career.” Edmund Spenser in Context, ed. Michael Schoenfeldt (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2016).
“Spenser’s Dead,” Spenser Studies 30 (2016): 255-270.
“‘What’s Hecuba to him?’: Pain, Privacy, and the Ancient Text.” Ars Reminiscendi: Mind and Memory in Renaissance Culture, ed. Donald Beecher and Grant Williams (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2009).
“Edmund Spenser and the Place of Commentary.” Spenser Studies 22 (2007): 153-170.
“Virgil and Bacon in the Schoolroom.” ELH, 73 (2006): 161-185.
“Reading the 1590 Faerie Queene with Thomas Nashe.” Studies in the Literary Imagination 38.2 (2005): 35-49.
“‘Noursled up in life and manners wilde’: Spenser’s Georgic Educations.” Spenser Studies 19 (2004): 65-92.
“Placement, Gender, Pedagogy: Virgil’s Fourth Georgic in Print.” Renaissance Quarterly 56 (2003): 377-407.

Forthcoming Essays and Book Chapters

“Poetry and Pedagogy: Lyric Voices and the Grammar of the Self,” Oxford Handbook of Renaissance Poetry, ed. Jason Scott-Warren and Andrew Zurcher (Oxford: Oxford University Press). Forthcoming.

Watson, Percy
Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Conference Grant (2011)

Books

Dialing 911: American Culture Post 9/11. Co-Authored with Bruce Tucker. London: Palgrave, 2012.
Becoming Biosubjects: Bodies, Systems, Technologies./ Co-Authored with Sheryl Hamilton, Rebecca Sullivan, Neil Gerlach. Winner of the 2012 Gertrude J. Robinson Award for Best Book in Communication. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2011. (, online)
Our Cannibals, Ourselves: The Body Politic. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2004. Nominated for the Rene Wellek Book Award. (, online)
Border Crossings: Thomas King’s Cultural Inversions. Co-Authored with Arnold E. Davidson and Jennifer Andrews. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2003. (print, online, online)
Detective Agency: Women Re-Writing the Hard-Boiled Tradition. Co-Authored with Manina Jones. Berkeley: The University of California Press, 1999. (PS374.D4W35)
Patriarchal Desire and Victorian Discourse: A Lacanian Reading of Anthony Trollope’s Palliser Novels. Toronto: The University of Toronto Press, 1995. Nominated for the Rene Wellek Book Award, and the James Lowell Prize. (PR5688.W6W35)
The Disruption of the Feminine in Henry James. The University of Toronto Press, 1992. Nominated for the Rene Wellek Book Award, and the James Russell Lowell Prize. (PS2127.W6 W34)

Editions

The Portrait of a Lady. London: Everyman Paperbacks, 1995. Reprinted 1999.

Edited Collections

Pop Can: Popular Culture in Canada. Co-Edited with Dr. Lynne Van Luven. Toronto: Prentice-Hall, 1999. (FC95.4.P66)

Articles in Refereed Journals

“Rethinking Canadian and American Nationality: Indigeneity and the 49th Parallel in Thomas King.” Co-Authored with Jennifer Andrews. Invited Submission. American Literary History. 18.3 (2006): 600-617.
“From General’s Daughter to Coalminer’s Daughter: The Case of Jessica Lynch.” (Co-Authored with Bruce Tucker). Special issue of Canadian Review of American Studies. 36 (2006), Ed. by Dana Medoro and David Churchill.
“Interrogating Judicial Bodies: Women and the Legal Thriller.” South Central Review. 18.3-4 (2001): 21-37.
“Border Crossings: Alterna(rra)tives in Thomas King’s Green Grass, Running Water. Genre. XXXI.1 (1998): 73-86.
“Form and Forum: The Agency of Detectives and the Venue of the Short Story.” Narrative. 6.2 (1998): 123-139.
“A Slippage of Masks: Dis-Guising Catwoman in Batman Returns.” Canadian Journal of Film Studies. 6.1 (1997): 91-110.
“`The Tie of a Common Aversion’: Sexual Tensions in Henry James’s The Other House. The Henry James Review 17.1 (1996): 11-21.
“Untangling Karla’s Web: Post-National Arguments and Cross-Border Crimes.” Co-Authored with Michael Dorland. American Review of Canadian Studies. 26.1 (1996): 31-48.
“Paretsky’s V.I. as P.I.: Revising the Script and Recasting the Dick.” Literature/Interpretation/Theory. 4 (1993): 1-11.
“`There had to be some way to show the difference’: Authorial Presence and Supplementarity in James’s `The Private Life.'” Victorian Review. 18.1 (1992): 13-23.

Contributions to Books

“’The Girl who pays our salaries’: Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy.” In Rape and Crime Fiction. London: Palgrave, 2012. 1-35.
“Public Education and Citizenship: What Not To Wear in the United Kingdom and the United States.” In Crossing the Pond: American Remakes of British Television. Eds. Carlen Lavigne and Heather Marcovitch : Palgrave, 2011: 75-99.
“Communicating Indigeneity: Thomas King’s Detective Fiction.” Co-Authored with Jennifer Andrews. In Detective Fiction in Canada. Ed. Jeanette Sloniowski Forthcoming: 2011.
A Post-Colonial Henry James?” Invited Submission. In Henry James in Context. Ed. David McWhirter. Cambridge University Press, 2011: 136-152.
“Sharon McCone: From PI to Anti-Terrorist.” Invited Submission. Echoes from a Wild and Lonely Place: Marcia Muller and American Literature. Eds. Alexander Howe and Christine Jackson. London: McFarland & Company, 2008: 79-91.
“James, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.” Invited Submission. Palgrave Advances in Literature: Henry James. Ed. Peter Rawlings. . London: Palgrave, 2007: 80-99
Queering Vietnam: Katherine V. Forrest’s Liberty Square.” Talk the Talk: Oral History and the Vietnam War. Eds. Paul Budra and Michael Zeitlin. Bloomington, IN: University of Iowa Press, 2004. 167-182.
“He took no notice of her; he looked at me”: Subjectivities and Sexualities in The Turn of the Screw.” Case Studies in Contemporary Criticism: The Turn of the Screw. Ed. Peter Beidler. (new essay in Rev. Ed.): Boston: Bedford Books, 2004. 305-317.

White, Micheline
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Carleton Research Development Grant Recipient (July 2015-July 2016)

Edited Books

Women’s Bookscapes in Early Modern British Reading, Ownership, Circulation. Eds. Leah Knight, Micheline White, and Elizabeth Sauer. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2018.
Micheline White, ed. English Women, Religion, and Textual production, 1500-1625. Burlington, VT: Ashgate Press, 2011. (print, online)
Micheline White, ed. Ashgate Anne Lock, Isabella Whitney, and Aemilia Lanyer. Burlington, VT: Ashgate Press, 2009.

Selected Recent Publications

“Katherine Parr’s Marginalia: Putting the Wisdom of Chrysostom and Solomon into Practice,” in Women's Bookscapes in Early Modern Britain: Reading, Ownership, Circulation. Eds.Leah Knight, Micheline White, and Elizabeth Sauer. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2018, pp. 21-42.
“Women in Worship: Continuity and Change in the Prayers of Elizabeth Tyrwhit and Frances Aburgavenny” in A History of Early Modern Women’s Writing, ed. Patricia Phillippy. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2018, 170-185. (PR113.H57 2018)
“Katherine Parr, Henry VIII, and Royal Literary Collaboration,” in Gender, Authorship and Early Modern Women’s Collaboration, ed. Patricia Pender. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017, 23-46.
“The Psalms, War, and Royal Iconography: Katherine Parr’s Psalms or Prayers (1544) and Henry VIII as David.” Renaissance Studies 29.4 (Sept 2015): 554-575.
“Pray for the Monarch: The surprising contributions of Katherine Parr and Queen Elizabeth I to the Book of Common Prayer.” Times Literary Supplement, 3 April, 2015: 14-15.
“The Perils and Possibilities of the Early Modern Book Dedication: Anne Lock, Queen Elizabeth, and John Knox.” Parergon: Journal of the Australian and New Zealand Association for Mediavel and Early Modern Studies. 29.2 (2012): 9-27. Special issue on “Early Modern Women and Book History.”
“Dismantling Catholic Primers and Reforming Private Prayer: Anne Lock, Hezekiah’s Song, and Psalm 50/51,” in Private and Domestic Devotion in Early Modern Britain, eds. Alec Ryrie and Jessica Martin. Aldershot, UK: Ashgate Press, 2012, pp. 93-113.
“Women’s Hymns in Mid-Sixteenth-Century England: Elisabeth Cruciger, Miles Coverdale, and Lady Elizabeth Tyrwhit,” ANQ: Special Issue on Women Devotional Writers of the Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries 24.1 (2011): 21-32.
“The Dedication and Prayers from Anne Gawdy Jenkinson’s translation of Guillaume Du Vair’s Meditations upon the Lamentations of Jeremy.” English Literary Renaissance 37 (2007): 34-46.
“Women Writers and Religious and Literary Circles in the Elizabethan West Country: Anne Dowriche, Anne Lock Prowse, Anne Lock Moyle, Elizabeth Rous, and Ursula Fulford.” Modern Philology103.2 (2005): 187-214.
“Power Couples and Women Writers in Elizabethan England: the Public Voices of Dorcas and Richard Martin and Anne and Hugh Dowriche,” in Framing the Family: Representation and Narrative in the Medieval and Early Modern Periods, eds. Diane Wolfthal and Rosalynn Voaden. Tempe: Medieval and Renaissance Texts and Studies, 2005, 119-38.
“Tudor Women’s Writing and Congregational Singing: from the Hymn of the Unknown ‘Handmaid’ (1555) to Mary Sidney Herbert’s Psalmes (1599).” The Sidney Journal 23 (2005): 61-82.
“A Woman with Saint Peter’s Keys?: Aemilia Lanyer’s Salve Deus Rex Judaeorum and the Priestly Gifts of Renaissance Women.” Criticism 45.3 (2003): 323-41.
“Recent Studies in Women Writers of Tudor England, 1485-1603.” English Literary Renaissance 30.3 (2000): 457-93.
“Renaissance Englishwomen and Religious Translations: The Case of Anne Lock’s Of the Markes of the Children of God (1590).” English Literary Renaissance 29 (1999): 375-400.
“A Biographical Sketch of Dorcas Martin: Elizabethan Translator, Stationer, and Godly Matron.” The Sixteenth Century Journal 30 (1999): 775-92. (D220.A1S52)

Williams, Grant
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and SSHRC Standard Research Grant Recipient (2006)

Recent Books

The Memory Arts in Renaissance England: A Critical Anthology. Coedited with William E. Engel and Rory Loughnane. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2016. (July 2016) (PR411.M46 2016)
Taking Exception to the Law: Materializing Injustice in Early Modern English Literature. Coedited with Donald Beecher, Travis DeCook, and Andrew Wallace. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2015. 288 pp. (print, online, online)

Recent Chapters

“Monumental Memory and Little Reminders: the Fantasy of Being Remembered by Posterity.” The Routledge Handbook of Shakespeare and Memory. Ed. by Andrew Hiscock and Lina Perkins Wilder. New York: Routledge, 2018. 297-311.
“Law and the Production of Literature: An Introductory Perspective.” Taking Exception to the Law: Materializing Injustice in Early Modern English Literature. Ed. Donald Beecher, Travis DeCook, Andrew Wallace, and Grant Williams. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2015. 3-43. (print, online, online)
“Double Exposure: Gazing at Male Fantasy in Shakespearean Comedy.” Staging the Blazon in Early Modern English Theater. Ed. Deborah Uman and Sara Morrison. Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2013. 13-24.

Writing and Citing Resources

You can use the resources on this page to help construct an essay.

Essay Structure

Guide to Literary Research, Writing and Critical Reading (EBSCO)
Writing Essays : a Guide for Students in English and the Humanities / Richard Marggraf Turley (2015)
Writing in Literature (Purdue OWL)

General Writing

Amherst College Resources for Writers
“Close Reading” (UPenn, Department of English)
Literary Devices (Literary Devices)
Literary Devices and Terms (Literary Devices)
Making Sense : a Student's Guide to Research and Writing / Margot, Northey, Joan McKibbin (2005) (Print) (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust)
Harvard College Writing Center and Resources
Thinking on the Page : a College Student's Guide to Effective Writing / Gwen Hyman and Martha Schulman (2015)
Writing at University : a Guide for Students / Phyllis Creme and Mary R. Lea (2008) (Online) ; (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust)
Writing Services (Centre for Student Academic Support) - Get help from peers and watch your mark go up as a result of your tutoring session.

Style and Punctuation

Style : The Art of Writing Well / F. Lucas (2012)
The Elements of Style / William Strunk (2011)
Stylish Academic Writing / Helen Sword (2012) (EBSCOhost) (Ebook Central)
Writing Essays and Preparing Thesis (MacOdrum Library) - This tip sheet lists a variety of style manuals and guides that cover the procedures for writing term papers.
Style and Grammar (Loyola Marymount University)

Grammatical Errors

Instant Grammar Checker - Checks for grammar rules
The Internet Grammar of English - free online course with exercises
Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage (2008)
Writing Services (Centre for Student Academic Support) - Get help from peers and watch your mark go up as a result of your tutoring session.

Tip: To check grammar use the Tool tab in MS Office, then click Spelling and Grammar.

Thesauri

Some databases allow you to search a thesaurus to find out what subject headings are being used within that database. To see an example, click Thesaurus from the navy blue menu tab in MLA International Bibliography. To find related terms, make sure to check the textbox before you click the hyperlinked word.

You also find sources of thesauri online:

Citation Guides