This research guide is designed for faculty and students doing research in European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies.
Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts:
- Leaders of Russia
- The President of the Russian Federation
Official government site. Available in English and Russian.
- EU Presidents – who does what?
- Nations in Transit
Government Information -Canadian or International background information
- Universal Database of Russian Governmental Publications
- Historical Archives of the European Union (HAEU)
This Archive contains the original references of files and organizational structure for several European institutions.
- Archive of European Integration
- EuroStat Country Profiles
Covers 10 years of major statistical indicators for 27 member states.
- European historical statistics 1750-1975
- International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-1993
- Universal Database of Russian/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT)
Think Tank - limited to think tanks dealing in public policy, including NGOs (non-governmental organizations)
- Think Tank Search (Harvard University) – think tanks can give an appreciation of government action or inaction in an area
- Google Custom Search: Think Tanks
- Dictionary of the European Union (online)
- A glossary of the European Union (online)
- Europe since 1945: an Encyclopedia (online)
- Handbook for European Union election observation(online)
- The Oxford handbook of the European Union JN30 .O94 2012
- Routledge handbook of Russian politics and society JN6695 .R693 2012
- Bolshaia entsikloped¯iia : v shestidesiati dvukh tomakh AE55.B585 2006
Develop a search statement to search databases (including news databases), the catalogue, and other academic sources
A search statement includes a list of keywords, combined using Boolean Operators (AND; OR; NOT)
- AND - this will combine concepts, all of which must be found in your list of results
- media AND children
- OR - either this concept or that concept (or both). This is helpful for generating a list of synonyms. Use synonyms to anticipate the different ways different authors may refer to the same idea. A thesaurus can be helpful for this
- internet OR web OR online
- NOT - do not include this concept
- migration NOT bird
- Quote marks - find a specific phrase
- "human rights"
- Truncation - any other combination of letters to follow
- Canad* - will find Canada, Canadian, Canadian's, etc.
- journalis* - will find journalism, journalist, journalistic, etc.
- Combine one or more of these operators
- Put a list of synonyms in brackets
(smartphone OR "mobile phone" OR "cell phone") AND (societ* OR cultur*)
Explore your topic
Use search engine on the library home page to search for books, journal articles, newspapers....
Use this search when starting research on a topic or when you are not sure which databases to use.
Fulltext eBook Collections:
SAGE Research Methods (supports beginning and advanced researchers throughout a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings)
Cambridge University Press eBooks
Columbia International Affairs Online
Oxford University Press eBooks
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Canadian Publishers Collection
Wiley Online Journals
Digi 20 - A full-text edition of over 4000 German-language monographs in the humanities and social sciences from major German academic presses
OstDok - Eastern European Documents online. Includes digitized versions of academic monographs and periodicals in Eastern European studies
Explore the journal titled Canadian Journal of European and Russian Studies published by the Centre for European Studies at Carleton University.
Russian National Bibliography
Political Science Database (previously ProQuest Political Science)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Central and Eastern European Online Library
IHS Jane's: Defence & Security Intelligence & Analysis
Dissertations and Theses Global
Grey literature is an important source of information for research in public policy that:
- adds a valuable global perspective
- provides detailed overviews on specific populations
- may be only source of local information
Grey literature is defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing" ie. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." —ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004
- Grey Literature Guide
- Omni (the Library's main search box) (change Content Type to types of grey literature such as government documents, conference proceedings etc.)
- Dissertations and Theses Global
- Google Scholar (change country, for example, to find international material)
- Databases such as Canadian Business & Current Affairs and Web of Science
- Business Source Complete (select publication type "Grey literature")
- Think Tanks guide
For current newspapers/news:
For historical Canadian & other newspapers:
- The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
- New York Times 1851-2005
- Toronto Star: Pages of the Past
- Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
- Guardian (1821-2003)
- Argumenty i Fakty
A popular weekly writing on all subjects. Boasts the biggest circulation among Russian weeklies.
- Current Digest of the Post Soviet Press
Each week, it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, translated into English.
- The Center for Research Libraries (CRL catalog)
A great institution to check for historical documents, newspapers, journals, archives and other sources. "The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery." Carleton University Library is a member of CRL.
- German History in Documents and Images
A collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The listing below are the websites of major EU institutions:
- Committee of the Regions
- Council of the European Union
- European Court of Justice
- European Economic and Social Committee
- European Agencies and other EU Bodies
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
- European Central Bank
- European Commission
- European Investment Bank
- European Ombudsman
- European Parliament
- European integration online Portal
The EUR-Lex database provides free access to the following:
- The Official Journal of the European Union
- EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.)
- Preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.)
- EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.)
- International agreements
- EFTA (European Free Trade Association) documents
- National Library of Russia
- State Archive of the Russian Federation
- the ArcheoBiblioBase (ABB) (Internet directory and bibliographic information system for archives in the Russian Federation)
- Russian State Library
- Union catalogue of Russian Libraries (244 libraries)
- Russian Law Resources
- Political posters (The New York Public Library)
- Union Catalog of Kyrgyz Libraries
- National Library of Azerbaijan
- National Parliamentary Library of Georgia
- The National Library of Armenia
- Archives Nationale (France)
- Das Bundesarchiv (Germany)
- National Archives UK
- United Nations Treaty Collection (1946- )
- United States National Archives and Records Administration
- National Library of Poland
- NUKAT (a union catalogue of Polish academic and research libraries)
- National Library of the Czech Republic
- Slovak National Library
- National Library of Hungary
- National Library of Ukraine
- National Library of Moldova
- Library of Congress
- Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
Contains daily reports of developments in Eastern Europe.
- Radio Prague
An international broadcast station for the Czech Republic. Currently broadcast in five languages: English, Czech, German,
Spanish and French. Covers Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia.
- Interfax News Agency
Website for news and information on Russia, CIS and Baltic countries.
- Central Asia-Caucasus Analyst
From Central Asia-Caucasus Institute, Johns Hopkins University.
- Russian public opinion center
- Всероссийский центр изучения общественного мнения (ВЦИОМ)
Russian Public Opinion Research Center (VCIOM). The "База данных" section includes a searchable database with data 1992-present; articles on current issues; ratings, conference reports, exit-poll data; data from ongoing projects. Other useful sections include Новости (News) and Выборы-2012 (Elections-2012).
Левада-Центр - Includes an omnibus survey service. Archive (Архив) includes a list of previous surveys and results. Data from some specific projects are available freely online. Includes several indexes of current PO data of general interest.
- Всероссийский центр изучения общественного мнения (ВЦИОМ)
- Seventeen moments in Soviet history
- Wilson Center Digital Archives
- Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more
- Museums in Russia (directory)
- The Russian Empire and Soviet Union (A guide to manuscripts and Archival Materials in the United States)
Thesis & Dissertation Writing Guides
- Mapping your thesis; the comprehensive manual of theory and techniques for masters and doctoral research
- Doing dissertations in politics a student guide (online)
- Research literacies and writing pedagogies for masters and doctoral writers (online)
How to write a literature review
- SAGE Research Methods (supports beginning and advanced researchers throughout a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings)
What is a Literature Review?
- Conducting a Literature Review
- Am I the Only One Struggling to Write a Literature Review? (Sage Research Methods)
What are the Purposes of a Literature Review?
- situate your work in its discipline/area/subfield
- develop an understanding of how knowledge in your discipline/field/area has changed over time
- develop mastery of what's known in your area, and part of the larger discipline that contains it
- compare different conceptual or sub-disciplinary approaches to your topic
- compare and contrast different theoretical schools or leading researchers in your area
- identify methodologies that you might use in your work
Keep Track of your searches
Citation searching: find missing citations, track references and find related articles
- Excellent step-by-step guide for using Web of Science for tracking citations
Tips for effective searching
If you find one relevant article for your research it can lead to other relevant papers by the following:
- using the databases, including Omni, look to find all papers & books published by the author or co-authors
- explore the bibliography in the paper for sources
- using Web of Science or Scopus, look for articles that cite the article you found. Remember, some databases will also list citing articles but those lists are limited to the current database. The Web of Science and Scopus are more comprehensive, with coverage from multiple databases.
- Remember to see if an citing article has itself been cited.
Web of Science
Select Cited Reference Search from top tool bar.
You have the article
Burstein, P. 2003 "The impact of public opinion on public policy: A review and an agenda." Political Research Quarterly Volume: 56 Issue: 1 Pages: 29-40
Enter the author in cited author box
Burstein P* (use surname, first initial and truncation symbol)
Retrieve abbreviation of journal name from list provided, and enter year of publication. POLIT RES QUART
Enter cited year: 2003
From the list, select the ariticle and click on Finish Search at the top of the list.
Results show the article has been cited 410 times - the most recent in 2019.
Note the option Create Alert to be notified of any future citing of this article.
Choose Author Search from top tool bar.
Enter author's name and affiliation if known
Onwuegbuzie, Anthony John
Select displayed result. All published articles by the author will be listed. Click on article for citing references.
Onwuegbuzie, Anthony John and Nancy L. Leech, "Validity and qualitative research: An oxymoron?" Quality and Quantity Volume 41, Issue 2, April 2007, Pages 233-249. This article, published in 2007, has been cited 228 times, the most recent in 2019.
Google Scholar also tracks how many times an item is cited by other documents
Journal Citation Reports - Provides citation-based metrics to rank journal within a given discipline. Choose Select Categories and limit by subject areas such as:
- Public Administration
- Political Science
- Conducting a Literature Review (Carleton University guide)
- How to write a literature review (Concordia University Libraries)
- Literature reviews (University of N. Carolina, Chapel Hill)
- Conducting research literature reviews : from the Internet to paper Q180.55.M4 F56 2010
- Doing your literature review : traditional and systematic techniques H62 .J44 2011
- How to research Q180.55.M4 B59 2010 [chapter 4]
- Information skills : finding and using the right resources ZA3075 .G75 2010 [chapter 2]
- The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students LB2369 .R525 2012
- Social research methods : qualitative and quantitative approaches HM571 .N48 2011 [chapter 5]
- Systematic approaches to a successful literature reviewLB1047.3 .B6 2012
- Telling a research story: writing a literature review LB2389.F43 2009
- Writing literature reviews : a guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences H62 .G35 2017
- Information skills: finding and using the right resources ZA3075 .G75 2010
- The postgraduate research handbook : succeed with your MA, MPhil, EdD and PhD LB 2371.W576 2008