Film Studies Databases
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
The database indexes over 300 journals with some full-text coverage (of over 70 journals and 50 books) covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
Contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 film periodicals, including linked full text to over 60 journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.
A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1975 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1976 onwards.
General Databases (Film related)
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Contains articles and citations for various communications publications.
Provides a multidisciplinary search for scholarly literature. Indexes peer reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Provides access to the complete archives of major journals in a variety of subjects. JSTOR is a "moving wall" archive: newer years are added as publishers allow. For example, one journal may cover everything up to 3 years ago, while another may cover everything up to 5 years ago.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Indexing over 1,800 publications, CBCA Database provides more than 700 publications in full text with over 300 with ongoing full text. Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective.
Contains citations to Canadian English and French language journals. Documents include essays, articles, short stories, and book reviews. Covers 1,200 English and French language journals published in, or providing, significant coverage of Canada. Mostly fulltext.
Theses and Dissertations
Carleton's Institutional Repository.
Dissertations and Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present. PQDT Global includes theses from Great Britain and Ireland.
Dissertations and Theses@Carleton
Contains citations & abstracts for Carleton University Master’s and PhD theses as well as the full-text for theses. (Full text from 1997 onwards.)