French Literature

General French Literature

• de Beaumarchais, J. P. (2001). Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue française
• Call Number: PQ41.B42 2001 see availability
• Dictionary of Literary Biography Online
• Flower, J. (2013). Historical dictionary of French literature
• France, P. (1995). New Oxford Companion to Literature in French.​
• Kay, S. (2006). A short history of French literature.

Québec/Canadian Literature

• Benson, E. & Toye, W. (1997). Oxford compation to Canadian literature, 2nd ed
• Lemire, M. (2009). Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Quebec, 2nd ed.

Literary Terminology

• Bergez, D. (1994). Vocabulaire de l'analyse littéraire
  • Call Number: PN41.B48 1994 see availability
• Cuddon, J. A. (2013). A dictionary of literary terms and literary theory, 5th ed.
  • Call Number: PN41.C83 2013 see availability
• van Gorp, H. et al. (2001). Dictionnaire des termes littéraires
  • Call Number: PN41.L39214 2001 see availability

Literary Theory/Studies

• Aron, P., Saint-Jacques, D. & Viala, A. (2004). Le dictionnaire du littéraire
• Call Number: PN41.D486 2004 see availability
• Barsky, R. F. (1997). Introduction a la théorie littéraire.
• Call Number: PN81. B37 see availability
• Eliot, S. & Owens, W. R. (1998). A handbook to literary research.
• Newer edition (2010) only in print, Call Number: PN73.H36 2010 see availability
• Klarer, M. (2013). An introduction to literary studies, 3rd ed.

OMNI

The Omni Search box can be used to search for books.

• For example you can limit to books (content filter) that are written in French (language filter) Guide on finding books in OMNI.
• Select "Carleton + Omni Libraries" to search content at other University libraries in Ontario such as the University of Ottawa, Laurentian University, etc.

Full-Text E-book Collections:

• ARTFL Project: covers a number of searchable databases, including ARTFL-FRANTEXT which offers over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
• Athena: textes français
• Gallica: Bibliothèque nationale de France (National Library of France). Hundreds of thousands of digitzed books, maps, journal articles...
• Bibliothèque et archives nationales (Quebec): Collection numérique
• Bibliothèque Universelle (ABU). Full-text of francophone works in the public domain since 1993.
• Scholars Portal Books: Thousands of full-text books in both French & English. Includes the major Canadian university presses such as the University of Toronto Press, the UBC Press, Les Presses de l'Université du Québec and McGill-Queen's University Press.To find books written in French:​​

• Érudit: Click on "livres et actes". Currently a small collection, but growing
• CAIRN : Click on "Ouvrages collectifs" and "ouvrages de référence" (this includes many titles from the "Que sais-je?" series )​

Omni

The Omni search box can be used to search across most of the library's databases. As you retrieve results, use the filters on the left of the screen to narrow or broaden your search.

Key databases for French Literature:

• MLA International Bibliography: primary index to literature secondary sources.
• Gale Literature: Includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 125,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Full-text resources include: Dictionary of Literary Biography + Literature Criticism Online Contemporary Authors series, Encyclopedia of Literature and many more.
• Cairn, Érudit, Persée, & Repère contain material written in French and cover all subject areas, not just literature.
• Francis is a free database that covers the humanities and social sciences. About 30% of the resources are in French and 40% are from European sources. NOTE: only covers up to 2015

The following is a selection of some of the major journals in French literature/French studies the Library subscribes to. Search OMNI by journal title to locate them.

• Annuaire théâtral
• Australian Journal of French Studies
• Canadian Literature
• Contemporary French and francophone studies
• Dalhousie French Studies
• Dix-huitième siècle
• Ecrits
• Esprit
• Études françaises
• Études francophones
• Études littéraires
• Francophonies d'Amerique
• French Studies
• Globe: revue internationale d'études québécoise
• International Journal of Francophone Studies
• Jeu
• Lettres québécoises
• Littérature
• Nouvelles études francophones : NEF
• Oeuvres et critiques
• Pleine Marge
• Poétique
• Quebec Studies
• Revue d'histoire du théâtre
• Revue d'histoire littéraire de la France
• Revue de littérature comparée
• Revue des deux mondes
• Studies in Canadian Literature
• Tangence
• Théâtre/public
• Theatre Research in Canada= Recherches théâtrales au Canada
• Urgences
• Voix et images
• Yale French Studies

MLA Style

The most common citation style used in literature is the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. If you're not sure what style to use, check with your professor or T.A.

• MLA Citation Resources