Content last reviewed:
Begin with: UK Parliament and UK Parliament - Facts and Figures and How Parliament works and Parliamentary Research Handbook
- UK Parliamentary Papers Database
- For most research, your starting point will be the UK Parliamentary Papers database (1801 - present). The Parliamentary papers consist of:
- Journals-- the record of what was done in Parliament
- Debates -- the record of what was said in Parliament
- Papers -- the documents and reports requested, presented to or produced by Parliament (also known as Sessional Papers, Command Papers, and Blue Books; includes Bills)
- Acts and Statutes -- legislation passed by Parliament, which must receive Royal Assent to become law.
- Committees
- For most research, your starting point will be the UK Parliamentary Papers database (1801 - present). The Parliamentary papers consist of:
- UK Parliamentary Documents:
- UK Legislation
- Royal Commissions - the Reports of Royal Commissions can be found in the UK Parliamentary Papers Database. They can also be searched using the library's main search tool, Omni.
- Treaty Series - United Kingdom treaties and international agreements are published as Command papers, along with a large number of other government documents. Refer to the UK Parliamentary Papers Database.
- BBC Archive
- BBC News
- Brexit: research and analysis
- Commonwealth iLibrary
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
- History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents
- House of Commons Weekly Information Bulletin
- Library of Congress: United Kingdom
- National Archives (UK)
- Parliamentary Research Publications
- The British Library
- UK Government Web Archive
