Greek and Roman Studies

* NEW * Videos and resources produced by Ryan Tucci, First Year Experience Teaching and Learning Technician at MacOdrum Library.

How to choose an essay topic

Explore your topic

Omni our search tool makes it possible to conduct simultaneous searching across many of the library's collections. Find books, eBooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more with the Omni interface.

This search tool doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need. Check Omni help guides for tips on how to perform an advanced search.

Need additional help? Please contact Research Help.

Reference Materials:

Use reference materials to get started on your research.

• Oxford Companion to Classical Literature / M.C. Howatson (2011) (1989)
• Oxford Classical Dictionary/ Simon Hornblower, et. al. (2012)
• Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World / John Roberts (2005-)
• Oxford Reference Online Premium (in particular see the following sections: Classical Studies, Mythology, Politics, Religion & Philosophy and Art & Architecture)
• Beazley Archive Dictionary (Classical Art Research Centre)
• Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity / Hubert Cancik, et. al. (2002-) DE5.N4813 2002 ; (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust) vols. 1-15
• Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition / Manfred Landfester, et. al. (2006) DE5.N4913 2006 ; (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust) vols. 1-5

• The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome / Edward Bispham, et. al. (2006)
• Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization / Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth (2014)
• Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology / Luke Roman and Monica Roman (2010) (Online) (print)
• Glossa: A Latin Dictionary
• Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture / Gordon Campbell (2007)
• Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC) / Hans Christoph Ackermann, Jean-Robert Gisler N7760.L49 1981 ; (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust)
• The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary / James Morwood (2005) (Online)
• ΛΟΓΕΙΟΝ (University of Chicago)
  Cross searches multiple Greek and Latin dictionaries.

Key Databases for Journal Articles

• Année Philologique
• JSTOR
• Loeb Classical Library
• Oxford Bibliographies Online : Classics

Additional Databases

• Academic OneFile
• ARTstor
• ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
• Google Scholar
  By connecting via Carleton Library, you will be able to seamlessly connect to the full-text of articles that are part of the library's collection.
• Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas (1997-)
• Oxford Journals Online
• Past Masters
• Patrologia Latina
• Philosopher's Index
• TOCS-IN
  Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online.
• JURN Search Engine
  Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses

For ancient or classical Greek and Roman research, primary sources are often the classical texts such as Themistocles by Plutach, Metamorphoses by Ovid or the Poetry of Sappho. Most of the original sources are either not available to us, or written in Greek or Latin, so modern translations of critical editions are acceptable as primary sources. Also acceptable as primary sources are ancient art, architecture, and artefacts, as well as archaeological reports and diaries. To assist you in locating these sources use:

• Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity / Hubert Cancik, et. al. DE5.N4813 2002 ; (Limited (search only) at HaithiTrust) (2006)
• Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition / Manfred Landfester DE5.N4913 2006 ; (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust) (2006)

Finding Primary Sources

• Digital Corpus for Graeco-Arabic Studies
  The Digital Corpus assembles a wide range Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts. It also includes a number of Arabic commentaries and important secondary sources. The texts in the corpus can be consulted individually or side by side with their translation. The majority of texts can also be downloaded for further analysis.
• The Chicago Homer
  The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.
• The Internet Classics Archive
  Over 400 full-text works, mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
• Internet History Sourcebooks Project: Ancient History (Fordham University)
• Perseus Collection: Greek and Roman Materials (Tufts)
  Wide variety of resources on the ancient world. Full-text in original Greek or Latin as well as English translations; integrated Atlas; art and archaeology images and descriptions etc.
• Patrologia Latina
• The Classics Page
  Provides access to public domain Latin texts. The texts are not intended for research purposes nor as substitutes for critical editions. There are no translations at the site.
• digilibLT
  Digital library of Late Antique Latin texts.
• British Library Digitised Manuscripts
  The 'Digitised Manuscripts' section of The British Library website provides access to fully digitised manuscripts held at the Library and their descriptions, including many Greek manuscripts.
• PHI Latin Texts
  Website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
• Tesserae (Latin)
  The Tesserae project aims to provide a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels.
• Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (Abridged)
  Provides access to a number of works from authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators that have traditionally been used in university and college level instruction of Greek.

To find print and electronic editions and translations of primary texts available in the library:

• Library search tool
  Use Advanced Search to filter your results.

For image and artifact sources for Greek and Roman Art, Architecture and Archaeology see the following:

• ARTstor
  A digital library of art images. Includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
• Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser (via Perseus Digital Library)
  A massive library of art objects (coins, vases, gems), sites, and buildings. Each entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars.
• Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
  An illustrated catalogue of more than 100,000 ancient vases.
• American Numismatic Society Collection
  The ANS collections database contains information on more than 600,000 objects which include, coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.
• Image and Data Resources (The Metropolitan Museum of Art)
• Yale University Art Gallery

Maps

• Ancient World Mapping Center (University of North Carolina)
• Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (Harvard)
• Allison Sermarini's Maps of the Ancient World
• Peutinger Map
  Seamless, whole and in colour with overlaid layers

Images

• Arachne
  Arachne is the central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. It is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes.
• Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: CVA Online
  Digitization of text and plates from all out-of-print volumes of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. Online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects
• Manar al-Athar: Free multi-media resource for the study of the Middle East
  Based at the University of Oxford, the Manar al-Athar website, provides high resolution, searchable images. These images of archaeological sites, including buildings and art, will cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, such as Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa and Spain. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great (i.e., from about 300 BC) through, the Islamic period to the present. It is the first website of its kind providing such material labelled jointly in both Arabic and English.
• Oxford Archaeology Image Database
  The OAID was established in2015. Its initial aim was to preserve and make available images of archaeological sites recorded on slide film. In many cases these images are a unique record of the sites at a particular time. More recent events in Iraq and Syria have urged a more pressing need to record and preserve the record of some archaeological sites.
• Art & Humanities Database
• Oxford Art Online
  

Films and Videos

For video material at the Carleton University library, do a KEYWORD or SUBJECT search in Omni, the library discovery search tool and limit by "Material Type".

If you cannot find what you need search the following database:

• Films on Demand
• Kanopy
• Watmedia
• Top Documentary Films
  Free documentaries online.

Websites

General

• World History Encyclopedia
• Ancient Worlds (BBC Radio 4 Collections) (Archived site)
• AWOL - The Ancient World Online
• Bibliotheca Classica Selecta
• Electronic Resources for Classicists: the Second Generation
• Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
  
• Perseus Digital Library
  Wide variety of resources on the ancient world. Full-text in original Greek or Latin as well as English translations; integrated Atlas; art and archaeology images and descriptions etc.
• STOA Consortium
  News, projects, and links for digital classicists.
• TOCS-IN
  Tables of contents of over 160 journals of interest to classicists. Topics include: Classics, Archaeology, Religion, and Near Eastern Studies.

Archaeology

• Archaeologica
• Archaeology Magazine
• Electric Archaeology - Digital Media for Learning and Research
  Carleton University professor Shawn Graham's blog
• Stone Pages: Web Guide to Megalithic Europe

Art and Architecture

• Didaskalia: the Journal for Ancient Performance
• Epigraphic Database Heidelberg
• Structurae
  Offers information on works of structural engineering, architecture or construction through time, history and from around the world. Documentation begins at the time of the pyramids in Egypt and Roman construction.
• Searchable Greek Inscriptions Database (SGI)
  A scholarly tool in progress (The Packard Humanities Institute).

Associations

• Classical Association of Canada
• Ontario Classical Association
• Society For Classical Studies
• American Classical League
• Association of Ancient Historians
• Center for Hellenic Studies (Harvard)

Bibliographies

• Oxford Bibliographies Online
• Ancient World Open Bibliographies
• Hellenistic Bibliography

Egypt

• Ancient Egypt (The British Museum)
• Ancient Egypt: The Eternal Voice (McClung Museum)
• Ancient Egypt Encyclopedia
• AERA (Ancient Egypt Research Associates)
• Ancient Egypt Transformed: The Middle Kingdom (Metropolitan Museum)
• Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Egypt
• List of Rulers of Ancient Egypt and Nubia (Metropolitan Museum of Art)

Language

• Textkit - Greek and Latin Learning Tools
  Learn ancient Greek & Latin

Literature and Ancient Authors

• Catallus Online
• The Chicago Homer
• DigilibLT
  Digital Library of late antiquity on the web
• International Plutarch Society
• Library of Ancient Texts Online
• Ovid Collection (University of Virginia)
• Classical Latin Texts (Packard Humanities Institute)
• Internet Sacred Text Archive
• Vergil Project
• Virgil.org

Maps and Geography

• Pleiades
  A community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces.

Museums

• The Acropolis Museum
• Canadian Museum of History - The Greeks
• National Archaeological Museum (Greece)

Mythology, Religion and Philosophy

• Ancient Greek World - Religion
• Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources (University of Victoria)
• Encyclopedia Mythica
  Contains an extensive list of Roman gods and goddesses and their Greek counterparts.
• Gods and Goddesses (The British Museum)
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
• MythNET
• Theoi Greek Mythology

Olympics and Sport

• Ancient Olympic Events (Tufts University)
• Ancient Olympics (KU Leuven)
• Odysseus - Ministry of Culture and Sports

Related Carleton University Sites

• The College of the Humanities
  

Referencing your sources is an important part of academic writing. Why?

• it lets you acknowledge the ideas or words of others if you use them in your work
• it helps you to avoid plagiarism
• it demonstrates that you are using the scholarly record and that you can provide authority for statements you make in your term paper
• it enables readers to find the source information

Writing

• Writing at University : A Guide for Students / Phyllis Creme, Mary R. Lee (2008) (Limited (search only) at HathiTrust)
• Writing Essays : a Guide for Students in English and the Humanities / Richard Marggraf Turley (2016)

Citing

• The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)