Content last reviewed:
Welcome to the subject guide for Holocaust Education. This guide is a collaboration between MacOdrum Library and the Centre for Holocaust Education and Scholarship (CHES) at the Max and Tessie Zelikovitz Centre for Jewish Studies (ZC) at Carleton University.
* NEW * Videos and resources produced by Ryan Tucci, First Year Experience Teaching and Learning Technician at MacOdrum Library.
Reference materials are a valuable resource when exploring a topic. Use dictionaries to help with terminology. Encyclopedias provide background information, an overview of topics and issues and often lead you to further readings.
- Holocaust Encyclopedia - from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust / Donald I. Niewyk ; Francis R. Nicosia (2000)
- Encyclopaedia Judaica / Fred Skolnik, Michael Berenbaum (2007)
- Bibliography on Holocaust Literature / Abraham J. Edelheit, Hershel Edlheit (1986)
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / Israel Gutman (1990) (vols. 1-4) D804.3.E53 (Limited search only) at HathiTrust)
- A World in Turmoil : an Integrated Chronology of the Holocaust and World War II / Hershel Edelheit, Abraham J. Edelheit (1991) D804.3.E34 (Limited search only) at HathiTrust)
- The Study of Judaism : Bibliographical Essays / Richard Bavier, et. al. (1972) BM50 .BIBL .S8 (Limited search only) at HathiTrust)
Finding Books
The library has a search tool Omni that allows you do just one search to find books, newspaper articles, journals, and journal articles. You can also search for government information, videos, games and more.
Results for books and eBooks are high in Omni as this search tool retrieves relevant articles or chapters within books.
If you know the title of the item you seek, perform a Title search.
If you know the author, perform an Author search. Enter the author's name with the surname first.
Otherwise, try a Keyword search.
If something is available online, click on the "Available Online" link. If something is available in paper copy, Omni will give you the floor location and the call number.
Some relevant subject headings are:
- Auschwitz (Concentration camp) or names of other camps
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Historiography
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Study and teaching
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Jews
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Jewish resistance
- Refugees, Jewish
Some Search Tips
Use the tips below in your search statement to obtain meaningful results:
- Use keywords only, do not search using a full sentence
- Use quotation marks when searching a phrase "Holocaust education"
- Combine keywords for different ideas with AND
- Combine synonyms or similar words for an idea with OR
- Use the * at the end of the root of a word to find all the forms of that word
Key Databases:
Use the suggested databases below to find scholarly journal articles. For interdiscliplinary topics in religion, consult the library's subject guides for additional databases and key resources.
A few tips:
1. Look at all writings by a relevant author and co-authors.
2. Explore the bibliography of a relevant article for more articles.
3. Discover if the articles have been cited since publication. Scroll further down to Citation Searching for information and examples.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
- Arts & Humanities Database (previously Arts & Humanities Full Text)
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
- ERIC
- JSTOR
- PAIS Index
- Sociological Abstracts
- America History and Life
- Historical Abstracts
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Good to know:
- Within a database, limit your search to scholarly articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
- Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
- Use available options to search more than one database at a time.
- Look for the option to set up an RSS feed or to Create an Alert. You are then notified when a new entry is added to the database that meets your search criteria.
- Use Interlibrary Loans to request items not held at Carleton’s library.
Archives
Search the internet for archival and primary sources.
- Web Sites and Institutions - excellent directory of organizations and websites maintained by Jewish Heritage Europe.
- Jewish Heritage Europe
- DigiBaeck | German-Jewish History Online
- Arolsen Archives
- International Tracing Service Digital Archive
- Yerusha (Europe)
- Canadian Jewish Archives
- Ontario Jewish Archives
- Ottawa Jewish Archives
- American Jewish Archives
Primary Sources
A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. They may also present original thinking, new discoveries or new information collected at the time of an event.
Types of Primary Sources:
Original documents (including excerpts and translations): diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, technical reports, empirical studies (research based on scientific and experimental results), news film footage, autobiographies, official records, ancient literature, magazine and newspaper articles, public opinion polls, medical charts.
Creative works: poetry, drama, novels, printed music, sound recordings, art.
Relics or artifacts: pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings.
In Omni look for documents by subject:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Sources
For personal narratives:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Personal narratives
Or by country:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Hungary
Look for images on the internet:
- Photo Archive from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- Photo Archive and Other Digital Collections from Vad Vashem The World Holocaust Center. Search by place, photographer, subject (e.g. memorial sites, post-war period) and click on the image to enlarge it.
- University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies (CHGS) Artistic Responses The artwork on this [CHGS] website represents a variety of artistic responses to the Holocaust. There is work done as a direct response, created by the victims. Much of this art was created in the camps and ghettos, or recreated immediately after the war in displaced persons camps due to the loss of the originals. - See more at the Centre for Holocaust and Genocide Studies.
Statistics
- Documenting Numbers of Victims of the Holocaust and Nazi Persecution - USHMM
- National WWII Museum - New Orleans - provides statistics by country and by camp
Government Information
Canada
Foreign
Go to the official website of a country and search within it for holocaust documents.
United States
- Holocaust Education, Remembrance and Research - U.S. Department of State (Archived Content)
Great Britain
- UK Country Report on Holocaust Education
- Britain’s Promise to Remember: The Prime Minister’s Holocaust Commission Report
Germany
- Archives and remembrance
Laws & Legislation
Using Omni, do a keyword search to find books in the collection:
law AND holocaust
There are also many good resources from associations and organizations online:
- Contemporary Legal Lessons from the Holocaust - Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum has many articles on law, justice and the Holocaust. Use the search feature at the top right of the page.
- SPLC - Southern Poverty Law Center
- The Holocaust: the Nuremberg Laws
Search the library's map collection.
Atlases
- Geographies of the Holocaust / Anne Kelly Knowles, et. al. (2014) (Online)
Print Maps
- Jewish Poland Revisited Heritage Tourism in Unquiet Places / Erica T. Lehrer (2013)
Online Maps
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Maps including Map used as trial evidence.
- Maps of the Holocaust (American Experience)
- The Holocaust: Holocaust & World War II Maps (Jewish Virtual Library)
- Holocaust Concentration Camps
- The International Status of Education About the Holocaust (Unesco)
- The Holocaust in Contemporary Maps
- DigitalHolocaustMaps.org
- SAMU Project (Ukraine)
- inEvidence – The Map of Holocaust by Bullets (incredible resource for how they weave the maps with supporting records from various archives)
Streaming Videos and Films
The library has a growing film collection. Search Omni by keyword search, and limit Material Type to "Video/Film". Also see section Film Collection (Streaming and DVDs) in the Film Studies guide.
Other Media
Search for news sources both current and historical from the library's collection of news databases.
The historical collection includes:
- The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
- The Guardian (1821-2003)
- The New York Times Archives (1851-2014)
- The Observer (1791-2003)
- Toronto Star: Pages of the Past (1894-2015)
- The Washington Post (1877-2001)
- Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006)
- Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
Music
To find works on music and the holocaust, do a keyword search:
music AND holocaust
Look for related subject headings
Music -- Germany -- 20th century -- History and criticism
Jews -- Poland -- Music -- History and criticism
Look for articles in Music Index Online and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
- Max and Tessie Zelikovitz Centre for Jewish Studies (Carleton University)
- Facing History and Ourselves - a nonprofit international educational and professional development organization. Browse the Holocaust topics. Create an account to download the publication Facing History and Ourselves: Holocaust and Human Behavior
- Montreal Memorial Holocaust Centre
- Yad Vashem - the World Holocaust Remembrance Center including educational & E-learning materials
- Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre (UJA Federation of Greater Toronto)
- Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre
- Holocaust Literature Research Institute/Institut de recherche sur la Literature de la Holocauste (Western University in London, Ontario)
- Resources for Educators - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students (USHMM)
- Holocaust & Genocide Education (Univeristy of Minnesota)
- A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust (University of South Florida)
- Outreach Programme on the Holocaust- The Holocaust and the United Nations Outreach Program
- Educational Resources - Polin Museum of the History of Polish Jews
- Jewish Museum (London, UK)
