Content last reviewed:
Key Resources
Contains citations and abstracts to articles from journals in all areas of Canadian and U.S. history.
Contains citations to monographs, essays, journal articles, and dissertations on native North Americans from the 16th century to the present.
Contains books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. related to Indigenous Studies.
A Canadian reference resource made up of scholarly journals, trade publications, books, and newspapers. Subjects include current events and education.
Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books, reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
Pîjashig Kwe kwe! Tunngahugit! She:kon! Aanii! Boozhoo! Tansi! Taanishi! Hello! Bienvenue!
The MacOdrum Library is located on the unceded territories of the Algonquin nation. Use this guide to begin your research and consult Martha Attridge Bufton. Martha is available for online research consultations.
Meet Martha Attridge Bufton in the following video.
Pick a research topic
- Read your syllabus (assignment instructions).
- Pick a topic that interests you and meets the assignment instructions.
- Narrow or broaden the scope of your topic so that it is "doable."
- What's scope? Scope refers to the "people, places and things" or "who, what, when and where" that you are studying. For example, Canada or another country? Children or adults? Education or child protection services?
Identify community names
Use a tool such as the First Nations, Metis and Inuit – Indigenous Ontologies (FNMIIO) to identify the names that Indigenous communities prefer and use.
Identify key concepts
-
Use this worksheet to write out your research topic and identify key ideas.
Do an initial search for academic sources
- Here are some videos to help you pick the right search engines and sources for your assignment.
- Beware of filter bubbles: What to know about Google and filtered information.
- Search faster, search smarter: How to search using your key concepts.
- Use the CRAAP test to evaluate the quality of online sources.
- Patriotic Chiefs
-
Archivist Andrew Ross (Library and Archives Canada) has consulted files on individual photographers, reference works, and tapped the expertise of colleagues for information about Robert Mumford. Unfortunately, it appears that nothing more is known about this photographer. Canadian Patriotic Indian Chiefs is part of a series of five that Mumford registered for copyright in 1915. The others are under MIKAN numbers 3259632, 3259633, 3259634, and 3259635.
-
- A Peep at the Esquimaux
Find peer-reviewed journal articles
- Use the the list of databases at the top of this page to find journal articles.
One of the recommended databases is the Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America.
Additional relevant databases and digital collections
- The Cumulative Index and Nursing Allied Health and Scopus for health-related topics
- Centre for Native American and Indigenous Research (accessing the collection)
- Canadiana Online. A digital library that provides access to documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and archival materials.
- Nanisiniq Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (IQ) Adventure. Learn from Inuit of Nunavut who have lived on and cared for our land for 1000s of years.
- Native-Land.ca (Mapping territories)
- The National Aboriginal Document Database (resources related to land claims, independent statutes and acts as well as treaties and court decisions).
- Nunavut Social History (UBC). Use this index to identify sources and then access them through the Carleton University Library.
- Traditional Animal Foods of Indigenous Peoples of Northern North America (McGill University)
- Urban Arboriginal Knowledge Network. The UAKN is a research network of urban Aboriginal communities, policy makers and academics.
- Consult the Centre for the North for research publications.
Films
- Carleton University Indigenous Films Collection
- In the main search field on the library home page, use the term "Indigenous film collection" to find DVDs and videos in the library collection.
- National Film Board (NFB) collection
- National Film Board (NFB) Indigenous cinema
Games
The Library collects a variety of games and game-related media. Most can be borrowed from the library by Carleton students, faculty and staff with a valid Library card. The normal loan period is 2 weeks, with 2 renewals.
- Board games: Use this Games Studies and Development guide to find games.
Open source Indigenous games
In addition, here are some open source Indigenous games:
- Path of the Elders
- Elizabeth LaPensée games
- When Rivers were Trails (free to download)
- Thunderbird Strike (free to download)
Images
- Finding and using images: A Carleton University Library guide (including how to cite images in your projects and presentations)
Residential schools (Truth and Reconciliation Commission)
What Is Reconciliation from TRC - CVR on Vimeo. This video features Murray Sinclair, who served as the chair of the TRC.
Traditional knowledge
World Intellectual Property Organization: Protecting traditional knowledge
Voices, stories, histories, languages
- Elders' Voices (history and culture of Canada's Northwest Aboriginal peoples through the voices and stories of Aboriginal elders).
- Inuit Nunangat Taimannganit. This storytelling project tells the story of Inuit Nunangat (the Inuit homeland in Canada) from time immemorial (taimannganit).
- Language geek: The Language geek website is dedicated to the promotion of indigenous languages, primarily those of North America, by providing the tools which speakers, educators, and learners can use to communicate online or in print.
- Native drums. One in a series of websites designed by Carleton researchers to explore First Nations' musical expressions.
- Native dance. One in a series of websites designed by Carleton researchers to explore First Nations' musical expressions.
- Saskatchewan Indian Cultural Centre
- Selected articles from Saskatchewan Indian Magazine.
- Unikkausivut: Sharing our stories (A collection of more than 60 films that represent all four Canadian Inuit regions (Nunatsiavut, Nunavik, Nunavut and Inuvialuit).
Open access
Recommended peer-review journals in our library collection
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal
- American Indian Quarterly
- Canadian Journal of Native Education
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies
- Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society
- Ethnohistory
- Etudes Inuit. Inuit Studies
- First Peoples Child & Family Review
- International Journal of Aboriginal Health
- Journal of American Indian Education
- Native South
- Native Studies Review
- Pimatisiwin: A journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health
- Studies in American Indian Literatures
- Wicazo Sa Review
Non peer-reviewed
Some publications are available either only in print or online. Others are available in both formats. Check UlrichsWeb for more information about individual journals.
Find books
In the search field on the library home page, use keywords to find books and ebooks (i.e., use your key concepts to search for relevant materials).
Indigenous studies-related materials in the Carleton Archives and Special Collections (fifth floor of the library)
- Eskimos and Indians, and the English language. [Sound recording]
- Transitions 2: contemporary Indian and Inuit art of Canada
- The visions and revelations of St. Louis the Métis
- Medicinal plants : an illustrated and descriptive guide to plants indigenous to and naturalized in the United States
- Life with the Esquimaux; a narrative of Arctic experience in search of survivors of Sir John Franklin's expedition
- Schwatka's search: sledging in the Arctic in quest of the Franklin records
Find maps
The library collection contains a range of maps, which can be in a variety of ways. For example:
- Languages
- Place names
- Treaties
- Tribal Nations Maps (series)
You can search for these maps using the search option on the library home page, by clicking on Maps in the "Find" column on the home page and entering keywords in the search field or by contacting our Maps & Cartographic specialist (scroll down the page until you find this subject specialist).
Also, there are a number of geographic information system (GIS) resources that are useful and free.
(From left to right) Algonquin medicine plant; Elk and elk spirit; Tree of trees. Artwork by Simon Brascoupé. Simon Brascoupé Anishinabeg/Haudenausanee – Bear Clan is a member of Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg First Nation, Maniwaki, Quebec.. He is an adjunct research professor at Carleton University and Trent University.
Legal resources
Federal government information
- Find government information online at the library.
- Library and Archives Canada
- Departments
- Canadian Human Rights Commission
- Indigenous Health
- Crown-Indigenous Relations
- Indigenous peoples and communities
- First Nation Profiles (interactive map and search by First Nation name)
- Treaties, laws and regulations
- Library of the Canadian Parliament: Research Publications
- The Library of Parliament’s research publications provide non-partisan, reliable and timely information and analysis on current and emerging issues, legislation and major public policy topics.
Commissions and inquiries
- Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples
- Specific Claims Tribunal Canada
- National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
- Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls Inquiry
Legislation
Federal
- Justice Laws (consolidated statutes)
- The Indian Act (Department of Justice website)
- The Indian Act. A discussion paper prepared by Mary Hurley, Library of Parliament.
- The Annotated Indian Act and Aboriginal constitutional provisions
- Consolidated native law statutes, regulations and treaties
- A Matter of Rights. Special Report of the Canadian Human Rights Commission on the Repeal of Section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act. October 2005
Other federal legislation
Land claims and treaties
- Historic Treaties
- Government of Saskatchewan: Treaty Land Entitlement
- Treaties with Canada. Native
- Treaty 8 (Library and Archives Canada)
Provincial
- Ontario E-Laws
- Quebec Laws & Regulations
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII): for all provinces
International
- Aboriginal law and legislation (to 1999)
- Australasian Legal Information Institute
- Legal Information Institute (American)
- World Legal Information Institute
Non-governmental organizations
- Indigenous Legislation Databank
- Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights: Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
- United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (read online at the International Work Group for Indigenous Peoples website)
Data and statistics
Community data
- First Nation Profiles (includes interactive map)
Federal
- Statistics Canada: Statistics on Indigenous peoples
- Aboriginal Peoples Survey
- Census data from 1871 onwards and the National Household Survey, 2011 are available in <odesi>
- Data from the Aboriginal Peoples Survey, 1991, 2001 and 2006 are available in <odesi>
Electronic resources
Many digital and electronic resources are available through the library.
- Ebooks: The library has a number of ebook collections. These collections include:
- Journal articles
- Films
- Maps
To retrieve these materials with a keyword search in the library main search engine or other databases:
- To find ebooks, use the "available online" and "books" filters in Omni.
- To find journal articles
- Use the "available online" and "articles" filters in Omni
- Use the "linked to full text" filter in other databases.
In addition, virtual research support is also available:
- Ask a Librarian offers virtual reference desk services seven days a week.
- Individual consultations: Email your librarian or subject specialists to arrange an individual consultation via Big Blue Button.
Looking for digital or electronic materials that are not in the Carleton University Library Collection? Email your librarian or subject specialist.
Use our Citing your sources page to link to our APA guide, instructional videos and more.
__________________________________________________________________
To cite Carleton University Indigenous Learning Bundles, here is an example in APA style:
Generic citation
Author, A.A., & Author, A.A. (Year of publication). Title of the bundle. [Carleton University Indigenous Learning Bundles]. D2L/Brightspace. https://brightspace.carleton.ca/d2l/home
Citation for a specific bundle
Attridge Bufton, M., & Callison, C. (2021). Accessible Information: Library-based Research and Indigenous Communities. Attridge Bufton, M., & Callison, C. (2021). Accessible Information: Library-based Research and Indigenous Communities. [Carleton University Indigenous Learning Bundles]. D2L/Brightspace. https://brightspace.carleton.ca/d2l/home
___________________________________________________________________
To cite Indigenous Knowledge Keepers in APA, the University of British Columbia Indigenous Knowledge Keepers guide is helpful.
