Industrial & Labour Relations

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

• A dictionary of human resource management (Electronic resource)
• Glossary of labour law and industrial relations
• Roberts' dictionary of industrial relations
• Encyclopedia of Occupational Health and Safety 4th edition. Part of the Workplace Health and Safety Information Database from the ILO.
• Historical dictionary of organized labor
• Labour law terms: a dictionary of Canadian labour law
• Benefits and compensation glossary
• Employee benefits desk encyclopedia
• Work in America: an encyclopedia of history, policy and society

Handbooks

• Canadian industrial relations and personnel developments
• Blackwell handbook of mediation
• Handbook of conflict management
• Handbook of U.S. labor statistics: employment, earnings, prices, productivity, and other labor data
• Occupational Outlook Handbook
• Women and equality in the workplace: a reference handbook

Labour Facts

• Chronology of labor in the United States
• First facts of American labor
• Labor conflict in the United States
• Work in America: an encyclopedia of history, policy, and society

Biography

• Biographical dictionary of American labor
• Dictionary of labour biography 13 v. (Great Britain)
• Up from the ranks Profiles prominent Canadian trade union leaders.

Journal Articles

• Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
• Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive
• EconLit with Full Text
• PAIS Index - provides citations and abstracts to articles and other documents in the area of public affairs and policy.
• Business Source Complete
• Gender & Work Database
• America History and Life - contains citations and abstracts to articles from journals in all areas of Canadian and U.S. history.
• CISILO Database - bilingual, bibliographic database which provides references to international occupational health and safety literature.
• Labordoc from the ILO - international coverage of labour issues and topics.
• Nexis Uni
• Sociological Abstracts
• Scopus
• Web of Science Core Collection
• WestlawNext Canada

Good to know:

1. Within a database, limit your search to scholarly articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
2. Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
3. Use available options to search more than one database at a time.
4. Look for the option to set up an RSS feed or to Create an Alert. You are then notified when a new entry is added to the database that meets your search criteria.
5. Use the Interlibrary Loans RACER form to request items not held at Carleton’s library.

Grey Literature

• To find grey literature start at the Carleton University Grey Literature Guide
• Economics grey literature through the Economics Search Engine (American Economic Association)

Grey literature refers to information that has not been created as part of mainstream publishing. It provides access to a broad range of information and often contains new ideas. Searching grey literature also offers the potential to balance any tendencies for publication bias found in published literature.

Examples of grey literature include

• technical or research reports
• committee reports
• market reports
• conference papers
• white papers
• posters
• pamphlets
• conference presentations
• blogs
• emails
• podcasts
• government documents
• speeches
• preprint materials
• theses and dissertation
• newsletters

Policy Reports and Working Papers

• Brookings Institute
• Canadian Public Policy Collection
• Canadian Health Research Collection
• Conference Board of Canada e-Library In addition to the e-Library, look to particular Centres for research on specific topics. Go to the Conference Board of Canada and scroll down to the bottom of the page. Select Sitemap. Under Special Projects, you will see Centre for the North, Centre for Food in Canada, How Canada Performs, etc.
• National Bureau of Economics Research (NBER) Working Papers
• Policy File Index (U.S.)
• Social Research and Demonstration Corporation A non-profit research organization, created specifically to develop, field test, and rigorously evaluate new programs.

Think Tanks

• Harvard Kennedy School provides a searchable database of more than 590 think tanks and research centers.

News Sources

Tips for Newspaper Searching

• Canadian Newsstream Access to over 280 Canadian news sources
• Eureka Fulltext Canadian French and English newspapers from Alberta, the Atlantic provinces, Québec and aboriginal communities. Includes full-text transcripts of radio and television broadcasts from CBC, CTV, and SRC.
• Factiva (Globe and Mail and the Wall Street Journal live here)
• PressReader PDFs to more than 2300 newspapers from 97 countries in over 55 languages.
• Wire Report The leading news service covering Canada's rapidly converging telecom and media sectors.
• Journalist's resource: research on today's news topics

Canada

• Annual estimates of employment, earnings and hours
• Canada Census 2016 release topics - Labour
• Canadian labour market at a glance
• Guide to the analysis of the Workplace and Employee Survey
• Minimum Wage Database (Human Resources and Skills Development Canada)

United States

• United States Department of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics

International

• International Labour Organization

Canada

• Annotated Canada Labour Code 1992 -
• Canada Industrial Relations Board
  • Reasons for decision 1999 -
  • DI: decisions, information 1974 - 1999
• Canadian labour law cases
• Canadian labour relations boards reports 1974 -
• Canadian labour law reports 1953 -
• Canadian master labour guide; a guide to Canadian labour law 1986-
• Consolidated federal employment and labour statutes and regulations 1995, 2000 -
• Labour arbitration cases 1948 -
• Ontario employment law handbook: an employer's guide

Foreign

• Weekly summary of NLRB cases the United States. National Labor Relations Board
• Industrial relations developments in Europe

Labour Organizations, Associations and Institutes

• American Federation of Labor
• Canadian Labour Congress
• Canadian Industrial Relations Association
• Ontario Federation of Labour
• Employment Policies Institute
• Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety
• Arbitration and Mediation Institute of Canada
• Ontario Labour-Management Arbitrators Association

Union websites

• Candian Union of Public Employees (CUPE)
• Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW)
• Canadian Auto Workers (CAW)
• Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC)

Mega Sites

• O*Net - United States Dept of Labor. Employment and Training Administration. Please click here for additional information.
• WWW Virtual Library: Labor History