Mathematics and Statistics | MacOdrum Library

Research Tip Sheet - for systematically searching academic databases (+ video tutorial | 2:30 | Research Tip Sheet transcript)

Journal Databases

Mathematics & Statistics Databases

American Mathematical Society Journals - probability, geometry, applied mathematics, computation, and mathematical statistics
MathSciNet - Reviews and citations for articles and books in mathematics. Items are classified using the Mathematics Subject Classification | Guide to Searching MathSciNet
Project Euclid - Journals, monographs, and conference proceedings in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics
SIAM Journals Online - Journals from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
zbMATH - Reviews and citations for articles and books in pure and applied mathematics. Carleton does not have a subscription, but summaries, references, and MSCs of results are provided -- uses the same Mathematics Subject Classification as MathSciNet

arXiv - An eprint server hosted by Cornell University, with significant content in mathematics and some in statistics
Google Scholar
Oxford Journals Online - Including eBooks, open 'Subject' (top-left), 'Browse all content', and explore under 'Subject' along the left
Scholars Portal Journals
Scopus
SpringerLink - Sciences and Engineering
Web of Science

eBooks

Ebook Central
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
IOP (Institute of Physics) ebooks
National Academies Press eBooks
O'Reilly
Scholars Portal Books
SpringerLink
Also note that all of Carleton's ebooks can be found through the library's homepage, using the large search box. Conduct a keyword search, then isolate to Available Online (under Availability) + Books (under Resource Type)
- New Books added to collection (updated monthly)

Euclid's Elements - Contains the text of the 13 books of this classical treatise
Historical Math Monographs - Digitized pre-1918 texts
University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection - Digitized books published in the 19th or early 20th century

Theses and Dissertations + Advanced Researcher Tools

CURVE - Includes Carleton theses and dissertations, as well as other research deposited by faculty, staff, and students
Dissertations and Theses Global - Theses and dissertations from around the world
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - Indexes non-North American graduate and doctoral theses
Other sources for Theses and Dissertations
Thesis Requirements for Graduate Students at Carleton University

Borealis, the Canadian Dataverse Repository - Repository for sharing and preserving research data, hosted in Ontario
Cabells Predatory Reports - Investigate a journal for deceptive publishing practices which may undermine the quality of its published research.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - Find journal profiles and evaluate a journal's impact factor over time using data indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection
PubPeer - Forum for finding and posting comments/questions on published papers + browser extension to discover associated PubPeer comments in the course of your research
RCS ShareFile for Research Data - Locally hosted (at Carleton) file sharing platform for ongoing research
Research Professional - Seek out funding opportunities
Retraction Watch Database - Determine whether an article has been retracted and the reason(s) why. See here for more details
Scimago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) - Find journal profiles and citation metrics, as well as explore subject area publication metrics by country
SciVal - Evaluate the research performance of institutions from around the world including by subject area, topic, and international collaborations, as well as performance metrics of individual researchers using data from Scopus and ScienceDirect
Ulrichsweb - Find bibliographic information from a variety of serial publications including publisher and indexing details. Also includes the publishing history of a given title as well as reviews written by librarians

Reference Material + Videos

BIRS Workshop Lecture Videos - A collection of recorded lectures on mathematics, statistics, and theoretical computer science from the Banff International Research Station
Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare - MIT course content
SAGE Research Methods
School of Mathematics Videos - A collection from the Institute for Advanced Study

Films on Demand - Click the three bars at the top left to 'View All' Subjects, including Mathematics

Websites

Finite Mathematics & Applied Calculus Resource Page - Tutorials based on the texts "Finite Mathematics Applied to the Real World", "Calculus Applied to the Real World", and "Finite Mathematics and Calculus Applied to the Real World"
GeoGebra - Mathematics software for all levels of education including college level books and activities
MathOverflow - Question and answer website for professional mathematicians
Probability Tutorials - Online course on measure theory, lebesgue integration and probability. Exercises are designed to give students the necessary tools to prove problems themselves
Project Euler - A series of mathematical/computer programming problems - more of a challenge than a tutorial
WolframAlpha - Search engine for factual and objective data