Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Research Tip Sheet - for systematically searching academic databases (+ video tutorial | 2:30 | Research Tip Sheet transcript)

General

A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering
Aerospace Engineering Desk Reference
Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary - TL509.G86
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals
General Aviation Aircraft Design: Applied Methods and Procedures
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations - TJ151.H327
Introduction to Aerospace Materials
Machinery's Handbook
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers - TJ151.M37
Material ConneXion (New materials and manufacturer information)
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook
Mechanics of Materials - TA404.8.D43
Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain - TA407.2.R6
Roskam: Airplane Aerodynamics & Performance - TL570.L363
Roskam: Airplane Design (parts 1-8) - TL671.2.R67
Roskam: Airplane Flight Dynamics and Automatic Flight Controls (parts 1-2) - TL570.R644
Standards: Recipes for Reality

Knovel Library

Includes materials and property search, interactive engineering equations, unit converter, and more | Knovel Video Tutorials

Aerospace Equipment Profiles

Janes
- Aero-Engines
- All the World's Aircraft: Development & Production
- All the World's Aircraft: In Service
- All the World's Aircraft: Unmanned
- C4ISR & Mission Systems: Air
- C4ISR & Mission Systems: Joint & Common Equipment
- Flight Avionics
- Simulation & Training Systems
- Space Systems & Industry
- ...and more!

News

Aviation Week Intelligence Network
- Aerospace Daily & Defense Report
- Air Transport World
- Aviation Daily
- Aviation Week & Space Technology
- Business & Commercial Aviation
- Inside MRO
- The Weekly of Business Aviation
- ...and more!

Industry Information

Business Source Complete - Isolate by document type (scroll down the search screen) including: Company Report and Industry Overview, or search by NAICS/Industry Code
Factiva - Hover over Companies/Markets and click Industry to see a list of industries, providing relevant data about an industry and summary information
Gartner Research Campus Access - Research and Analysis on the Information Technology industry

Legal

HeinOnline - Air and Space Law (U.S. focus)
- Scroll down to 'Browse Databases by Name' and choose 'Air and Space Law'

Associations and Organizations

Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC)
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Canadian Federation of Engineering Students (CFES)
The Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME)
Engineers Canada
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Institution of Mechanical Engineers
The International Air Transport Association (IATA)
Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
Women in Aerospace Canada (WIA)

Websites

Canadian Space Agency
NASA
- Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
- Scientific and Technical Information Program (STI)
Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
The National Academies of Sciences | Engineering | Medicine
National Research Council Canada
WolframAlpha - Search engine for factual and objective data

Videos

Films on Demand - Click the three bars at the top left to 'View All' Subjects, including Mechanical & Aerospace

Regulations and Standards

Aviation Regulations

Additional Aviation Resources

NAV Canada - Canada's air traffic and navigation safety and service provider - Operational Guides
The General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA) - Important technical publications and specifications which guide the industry in standards for the development and maintenance of general aviation aircraft
The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) - Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) on international civil aviation, Conventions and Related Acts - eLibrary
Canadian Aviation Electronics (CAE) - Worldwide leader focused on training for safety in civil aviation, defence & security, and healthcare

Transportation Regulations

Energy Regulations

Engineering Standards

ASTM International Standards Worldwide - American Society for Testing and Materials' active standards
IEEE Standards (via IEEE Xplore) - including IT, Energy, Aerospace, Cybersecurity, Robotics, and more
SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) Mobilus - technical papers and standards for ground vehicle and aerospace
Other sources for Patents, Standards, and Trademarks
Free Standards via the National Institute of Standards and Technology
Standards Council of Canada

Journal Databases

Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database
Aerospace Research Central (ARC) - Includes publications from the AIAA, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
ASCE Research Library - Journals of the American Society of Civil Engineers, including materials, engineering mechanics, and transportation
ASME Digital Collection - Journals, proceedings and ebooks of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
EI Engineering Village - Core science and applied engineering literature
Emerald Engineering - Double-blind peer reviewed journals in business, management, engineering, and technology
Ergonomics Abstracts - Focus on ergonomics and human factors, including physiology, biomechanics, human computer interaction, and safety
IEEE Xplore Digital Library - IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) journals, conferences, and standards
Oxford Journals Online - Including eBooks, open 'Subject' (top-left), 'Browse all content', and explore under 'Subject' along the left
ScienceDirect Journals - Includes engineering, materials science, mathematics, and physics
Scholars Portal Journals - Provides access to a large number of articles from major academic publishers covering all fields
Scopus - Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database
SIAM Journals - Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics journals
SPIE Digital Library Database - International Society for Optics and Photonics: papers on optics and photonics
SpringerLink - Science, technology and engineering
Web of Science - Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database

PrePrints

arXiv.org - Focus on Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics
engrXiv - Engineering Archive of preprints and previously published articles made openly accessible
TechRxiv - Preprints in Technology Research

Find more PrePrint resources from our Open Access (OA) Publications guide

eBooks

ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbooks Online - Metals and nonmetallic engineering materials
Ebook Central
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
ENGnetBASE - CRC Press engineering handbooks
Knovel Library - Applied engineering handbooks and dictionaries | Knovel Video Tutorials
O'Reilly
Scholars Portal Books
SPIE eBooks - Engineering eBooks from the International Society for Optics and Photonics
SpringerLink - Springer's science, technology, and engineering eBooks
Also note that all of Carleton's ebooks can be found through the library's homepage, using the large search box. Conduct a keyword search, then isolate to Available Online (under Availability) + Books (under Resource Type)
- New Books added to collection (updated monthly)

Research and Writing, Theses and Dissertations, Advanced Researcher Tools

Theses and Dissertations

CURVE - Includes Carleton theses and dissertations, as well as other research deposited by faculty, staff, and students
Dissertations and Theses Global - Theses and dissertations from around the world
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - Indexes non-North American graduate and doctoral theses
Other sources for Theses and Dissertations
Thesis Requirements for Graduate Students at Carleton University

Advanced Researcher Tools

Borealis, the Canadian Dataverse Repository - Repository for sharing and preserving research data, hosted in Ontario
Cabells Predatory Reports - Investigate a journal for deceptive publishing practices which may undermine the quality of its published research.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - Find journal profiles and evaluate a journal's impact factor over time using data indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection
PubPeer - Forum for finding and posting comments/questions on published papers + browser extension to discover associated PubPeer comments in the course of your research
RCS ShareFile for Research Data - Locally hosted (at Carleton) file sharing platform for ongoing research
Research Professional - Seek out funding opportunities
Retraction Watch Database - Determine whether an article has been retracted and the reason(s) why. See here for more details
Scimago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) - Find journal profiles and citation metrics, as well as explore subject area publication metrics by country
SciVal - Evaluate the research performance of institutions from around the world including by subject area, topic, and international collaborations, as well as performance metrics of individual researchers using data from Scopus and ScienceDirect
Ulrichsweb - Find bibliographic information from a variety of serial publications including publisher and indexing details. Also includes the publishing history of a given title as well as reviews written by librarians

Library Guides for Advanced Researchers

Conducting a Literature Review
Covidence - For the production of knowledge syntheses
Publisher Discount Agreements for Open Access Publishing
Scholarly Communications - Including more resources for authors and researchers - especially Measuring your Research Impact
Systematic Reviews and other Knowledge Syntheses