Databases for Finding Journal Articles:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Extensive bibliography which covers all types and aspects of music. In addition to thousands of journal articles, it covers a variety of other publication and media types including books, conference proceedings, dissertations, Festschriften, reviews, and more.
Music Index Online
Provides citations to articles in over 670 journals on topics such as history of music, forms and types of music (including popular music), history of musical instruments, including computer produced music. Also included are book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Provides a multidisciplinary search for scholarly literature. Indexes peer reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Provides access to the complete archives of major journals in a variety of subjects. JSTOR is a "moving wall" archive: newer years are added as publishers allow. For example, one journal may cover everything up to 3 years ago, while another may cover everything up to 5 years ago.
Databases for Popular Literature
The biggest online database of rock music writing in the world. Sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press, it is a massive library of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day.
Databases for Theses and Dissertations
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
International database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology.
Carleton's Institutional Repository. Includes work on "Music and Culture."
Dissertations and Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present. PQDT Global includes theses from Great Britain and Ireland.
Dissertations and Theses@Carleton
Contains citations & abstracts for Carleton University Master’s and PhD theses as well as the full-text for theses. (Full text from 1997 onwards.)