Content last reviewed:
Research Tip Sheet - for systematically searching academic databases (+ video tutorial | 2:30 | Research Tip Sheet transcript)
All Physics Fields
- American Institute of Physics Journals
- arXiv - An open access (free) eprint archive for physics, mathematics, computer science, and more
- Google Scholar - A broad search for academic sources, which can include free sources not available in other databases
- IOPScience - A collection of Institute of Physics (IOP) journals covering both applied and pure physics
- Oxford Journals Online - Including eBooks, open 'Subject' (top-left), 'Browse all content', and explore under 'Subject' along the left
- Physical Review Journals - From the American Physical Society (APS)
- Scholars Portal Journals - Provides access to a large number of articles from major academic publishers covering all fields
- ScienceDirect Journals - Provides access to Elsevier journals in the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences and social sciences
- Scopus - A large multidisciplinary database useful for finding scientific literature and analyzing citations
- SpringerLink - Sciences and Engineering
- Web of Science - A large multidisciplinary database useful for finding scientific literature and analyzing citations
Astrophysics
- Astrophysics Data System (ADS) - Abstracts in astronomy and physics, provided by NASA’s Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
BioPhysics
- BioMed Central - Biomedical research publications
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Collection - 45 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics
Computational Physics
- ACM Digital Library - All articles and other documents published by the Association for Computing Machinery
- Inspec - A bibliographic database covering physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering, and information technology
Engineering Physics
- EI Engineering Village
- IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore Digital Library
GeoPhysics
- GeoRef - Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses in the geosciences
High-Energy and Nuclear Physics
- INSPIRE-HEP - A key search engine for high energy physics literature
- International Nuclear Information System (INIS) - Scientific and technical literature published on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology
- OSTI.GOV (US Department of Energy)
- SCOAP3 Repository - High-energy journals that have been converted to open access
Medical Physics
- PubMed - A database from the US National Center for Biotechnology Information, useful when researching topics in medical physics
Particle Physics
- CERN Document Server - Bibliographic database from the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) containing information about full-text preprints, articles, books, journals, and photographs on particle physics and related areas + CERN opendata
Reference
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Guide to Scholarly Communication
- A Dictionary of Astronomy
- A Dictionary of Energy Science
- A Dictionary of Physics
- A Dictionary of Space Exploration
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
- How to Write a Good Scientific Paper
- Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication
- The Oxford Companion to Cosmology
- Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
- Springer Handbook of Lasers and Optics
Tables and Data
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology - Tables of data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties
- Physical Reference Data - Openly-available data from the National Institute of Standards and Technology
- Smithsonian physical tables - 901 tables of full-text searchable common physical and chemical data
Videos
- Films on Demand - Click the three bars at the top left to 'View All' Subjects, including Physics
YouTube
- From the American Chemical Society
- Playlist: ACS AuthorUniveristy (scientific writing and publishing)
- Playlist: Science Communication
- American Physical Society (APS)
- CarletonPhysics
- CERN
- Institute of Physics (IOP)
- McDonald Institute: Canada's Astroparticle Physics Network
- MinutePysics
- NASA
- TheSNOLAB
- Ebook Central
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- IOP (Institute of Physics) eBooks
- Knovel Library | Video Tutorials
- National Academies Press eBooks
- O'Reilly
- Scholars Portal Books
- SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics) eBooks
- SpringerLink
- Also note that all of Carleton's ebooks can be found through the library's homepage, using the large search box. Conduct a keyword search, then isolate to Available Online (under Availability) + Books (under Resource Type)
- New Books added to collection (updated monthly)
Theses and Dissertations
- CURVE - Includes Carleton theses and dissertations, as well as other research deposited by faculty, staff, and students
- Dissertations and Theses Global - Theses and dissertations from around the world
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - Indexes non-North American graduate and doctoral theses
- Other sources for Theses and Dissertations
- Thesis Requirements for Graduate Students at Carleton University
Advanced Researcher Tools
- Borealis, the Canadian Dataverse Repository - Repository for sharing and preserving research data, hosted in Ontario
- Cabells Predatory Reports - Investigate a journal for deceptive publishing practices which may undermine the quality of its published research.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - Find journal profiles and evaluate a journal's impact factor over time using data indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection
- PubPeer - Forum for finding and posting comments/questions on published papers + browser extension to discover associated PubPeer comments in the course of your research
- RCS ShareFile for Research Data - Locally hosted (at Carleton) file sharing platform for ongoing research
- Research Professional - Seek out funding opportunities
- Retraction Watch Database - Determine whether an article has been retracted and the reason(s) why. See here for more details
- Scimago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) - Find journal profiles and citation metrics, as well as explore subject area publication metrics by country
- SciVal - Evaluate the research performance of institutions from around the world including by subject area, topic, and international collaborations, as well as performance metrics of individual researchers using data from Scopus and ScienceDirect
- Ulrichsweb - Find bibliographic information from a variety of serial publications including publisher and indexing details. Also includes the publishing history of a given title as well as reviews written by librarians
Library Guides for Advanced Researchers
- Conducting a Literature Review
- Covidence - For the production of knowledge syntheses
- Publisher Discount Agreements for Open Access Publishing
- Scholarly Communications - Including more resources for authors and researchers - especially Measuring your Research Impact
- Systematic Reviews and other Knowledge Syntheses
WolframAlpha - Search engine for factual and objective data
- Astroparticle Physics Experiments (APEX) Group
- Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL)
- Canadian Astronomy Data Centre
- Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)
- Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (CITA)
- Canadian Light Source (CLS) - University of Saskatchewan
- Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
- Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
- CERN (Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire) | The Large Hadron Collider (LHC) | ATLAS
- China Jinping Underground Laboratory (CJPL)
- Cuhlam Centre for Fusion Energy (CCFE)
- Fermilab - Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy
- Feynman Lectures Online
- Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophycis Research Centre (National Research Council Canada)
- IceCube: South Pole Neutrino Observatory
- iter - magnetic fusion device for harnessing energy, tokamak
- KEK Inter-University Research Institute Corporation - High Energy Accelerator Research Organization
- Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso (LNGS)
- Laboratory for Laser-Assisted Medical Physics and Engineering (L2AMPE)
- LIGO - Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory
- Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL)
- Medical Physics Resource Page - Useful links for those interested in medical physics, from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine
- NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program
- National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
- National Research Council Canada - Research and Development
- Oak Ridge National Laboratory
- Ottawa Medical Physics Institute (OMPI)
- P-ONE - Collaboration of Canadian and German universities exploring the possibilities for a neutrino telescope located in the northern Pacific
- Particle Adventure - A tutorial from the Contemporary Physics Education Project (CPEP)
- Phys.org - Science news including Physics, Astronomy & Space, Technology, and more
- Science.gov - Scientific and technical information from 13 US federal agencies
- Standford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC)
- The SETI Institute
- SNOLAB - Underground science laboratory near Sudbury Ontario specializing in neutrino and dark matter physics
- TRIUMF - Canada's particle accelerator centre
Physics Organizations
- AIP Society of Physics Students
- American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)
- American Institute of Physics (AIP)
- American Physical Society (APS)
- Arthur B. McDonald Canadian Astroparticle Physics Research Institute (CAPRI)
- Canadian Association of Medical Physicists (COMP)
- Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP)
- Canadian Astronomical Society (CAS)
- Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine (CCPM)
- European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)
- Institute of Particle Physics
- Institute of Physics (IoP)
- International Astronomical Union (IAU)
- Ontario Association of Physics Teachers (OAOPT)
- Royal Astronomical Society (UK)
- Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC)
