Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
SAGE Research Methods (supports beginning and advanced researchers throughout a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings)
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics (online)
- A Dictionary of Marxist thought
- Marx: A Guide for the Perplexed
- Routledge handbook of modern economic history
- International encyclopedia of economic sociology
- Oxford Reference Online
- Oxford Scholarship Online
- The Oxford handbook of political economy
- Reconstructing political economy the great divide in economic thought
- The Palgrave handbook of environmental labour studies
- Canadian political economy
- International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs
- Canadian Newsstream
- Global Economic Monitor
- Nexis Uni
Fulltext eBook Collections:
Key Texts in Canadian Political Economy
- The New Canadian political economy
- Staples and Beyond: Selected Writings of Mel Watkins
- Understanding Canada building on the new Canadian political economy
- Changing Canada political economy as transformation
Omni searches everything in the library collection (books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more!)
Subject specific journals
- Studies in political economy
- Capital and Class
- Race and Class
- Review of Radical Political Economics
- New political economy
- European journal of political economy
- International journal of political economy
Subject specific databases
- EconLit with Full Text
- PAIS Index
- International Political Science Abstracts
- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- CEPR Discussion Papers
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library
- World Development Indicators
- World Competitiveness Online
- Gender & Work Database
- Dissertations and Theses Global
Good to know:
- Within a database, limit your search to scholarly articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
- Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
- Can't find an item in our collection, you can request a print book or a digital article or chapter by searching the title or topic in OMNI or by logging into your library account and filling out this blank request form. Journal articles will be sent to you electronically. For more information please see Interlibrary Loans.
Explore the library's Subject Guides relevant to your research for additional recommendations.
- Use Journal Citation Reports to find journal rankings.
Use the Web of Science and Scopus to find if a particular author and/or paper has been cited by other authors.
Web of Science:
Select Cited Reference Search from top tool bar.
You have the article
Christopher McNally 2012. "SINO-CAPITALISM China's Reemergence and the International Political Economy " World Politics 64.4:741+
Enter the author in cited author box
McNally C* (use surname, first initial and truncation symbol)
Retrieve abbreviation of journal name from list provided (World Polit), and enter year of publication (2012).
From the list, select the article and click on Finish Search at the top of the list.
Results show the article has been cited 117 times - the most recent in August 2020.
Note the option Create Alert to be notified of any future citings of this article.
Choose Author Search from top tool bar.
Enter author's name and affiliation if known
If more than one entry appears, choose the one that best fits your topic - in this case Social Sciences. Select Show documents from top tabs and scroll down the results to the article you have. On right hand side all published articles by the author will be listed. Click on article for citing references.
Linda Trimble and Shannon Sampert. "Gender, political leadership and media visibility: Globe and Mail coverage of conservative party of Canada leadership contests" Canadian Journal of Political Science Volume 40, Issue 4, December 2007, Pages 969-9 has been cited 23 times, the most recent in 2020.
Tips for effective searching -
If you find one relevant article for your research it can lead to other relevant papers by the following:
- using the databases, including OMNI, look to find all papers & books published by the author or co-authors
- explore the bibliography in the paper for sources
- using Web of Science or Scopus, look for articles that cite the article you found. Remember, some databases will also list citing articles but those lists are limited to the current database. The Web of Science and Scopus are more comprehensive, with coverage from multiple databases.
Grey literature is an important source of information for research. It provides access to a broad range of information and often contains new ideas. Searching grey literature also offers the potential to balance any tendencies for publication bias found in published literature. It helps introduce alternative perspectives that may not be represented in standard literature.
Examples of grey literature include:
- technical or research reports
- committee reports
- market reports
- conference papers
- white papers
- conference presentations
- government documents
- preprint materials
- theses and dissertation
- clinical trials
Resources for finding grey literature
- GreyNet International Directory of organizations in grey literature from GreyNet International
- Grey Literature Report - provides updates to grey literature on health services and topics.
- Alternative Press Index
Policy Reports and Working Papers
- Canadian Public Policy Collection
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library In addition to the e-Library, look to particular Centers for research on specific topics. Go to Conference Board of Canada and scroll down to the bottom of the page. Select Sitemap. Under Special Projects you will see Centre for the North, Centre for Food in Canada, How Canada Performs, etc.
- National Bureau of Economics Research (NBER) Working Papers
- Policy File Index (U.S.)
- Policy Commons
- Harvard Kennedy School provides a searchable database of more than 590 think tanks and research centers.
- Google think tanks search engine
- Political Economy Research Institute
- Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
- Yellowhead Institute
- Polanyi Institute (at Concordia)
- Global Labour Research Centre (at York)
- Pembina Institute
- Polaris Institute
- Broadbent Institute
EIU Economist Intelligence Unit provides current and historical economic data and forecasting.
globalEdge excellent free site from Michigan State University which has a section on Emerging Markets. After selecting your country, look for the Country Commercial Guide... Also brings together a large number of ranking tools.
World Bank, Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies. Each economy is ranked according to 10 sets of indicators. These are combined into an overall "ease of doing business" ranking. See also the Regional Reports
Enterprise Surveys provides country reports which provide a quick glance at business environment indicators and a graphing tool to create a custom graphic for the country of your choice.
The World Bank also provides outlook information
International Trade Centre - Countries/Territories - select pdf report for country
WITS World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
WTO - Map of disputes between members
Bloomberg is a global financial markets database providing news, analytics and real-time data for over 5 million securities world-wide, plus extensive historical data, including pricing and stock charts.
Information on how to access Bloomberg via the library is here.
- American Economic Association (search engine)
- Global Economic Monitor
- Global Policy Forum - discussions, information, debates and resources on all topics concerning the UN