Content last reviewed:
This guide is based on: ACRL STANDARDS: Information Literacy Compentency Standards for Higher Education | Library Association | College & Research Libraries News
Library services
The research process
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
- Be specific when determining search terms: synonyms/antonyms
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms by understanding how search engines operate
- Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search. Limit to: specific field (article, book, conference proceeding, newspapers, video); full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding
- Films and Videos and Images are non-literary forms of representation
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc. You may consider using Microsoft OneNote or free software for note-taking such as Evernote
- Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in the bibliography of your research paper
Sources of information
Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
FAQ
- Brainstorm for the Essay (UNC at Chapel Hill)
- Conducting a Literature Review (CUL) see rubric (internet)
- Google search secrets / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers (CUL electronic resource)
- Library research (CUL)
- Office of Student Affairs (Carleton University)
- Paul Menton Centre (Carleton University)
- Thesaurus (internet)
- Wellness - Current Students (Carleton University)
- Writing an Annotated Bibliography (CUL) see rubric (internet)
- Writing an Outline for your essay (CUL) see rubric (internet)
Online journals
- by 'Subject'
Select journals
- International Journal of Cyber Criminology [electronic resource].
- Journal of the history of sexuality [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
- Porn Studies Peer Review
- Sexuality research & social policy [electronic resource]. Peer Review
- Studies in gender and sexuality [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
Databases
- tagged 'Sexuality Studies'
- tagged 'Women's and Gender Studies'
- by 'Type'
- OMNI: the Carleton University Library search interface
Other suggested databases
- ProQuest Databases: ProQuest provides access to a number of databases that cover most subject areas. Search all of them at once or one of the subject clusters. Includes major databases such as PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Philosoher’s Index, and many more.
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias: Carleton subscribes to the 2011 Encyclopedia Collection which provides perpetual access to 27 encyclopedias in the social sciences published between 2005-2011, as well as some other encyclopedias which have been ordered individually. Browse by Content Type: "Encyclopedias" and/or "Handbooks".
- SAGE Research Methods: With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods helps researchers of all levels conduct their research.
Subject headings
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) use controlled vocabulary to access and express the subject content of documents. Porn Studies has largely been divided into the following collections. This is a searchable index. Click on the links below to discover the Library's holding in this area:
- Analysis
- Censorship
- Child pornography
- Children & youth
- Criminal investigations
- Erotica
- Feminism
- Freedom of speech
- Gay pornography
- Humans
- Internet
- Internet pornography
- Laws, regulations, and rules
- Pornography
- Pornography & obscenity
- Psychology
- Sex crimes
- Sexual behavior
- Sexuality
- Social aspects
- Social sciences
- Video/film
- Women
- Add keywords
- Use the filters on the left of the resulting screen.Typical filters are Available Online and Peer Reviewed Journals
Supplementary readings
- Google vs. the Library: Student Preferences and Perceptions When Doing Research Using Google and a Federated Search Tool
- Google vs. the Library (Part II): Student Search Patterns and Behaviors when Using Google and a Federated Search Tool
- Google vs. the Library (Part III): Assessing the Quality of Sources Found by Undergraduates
- How to Read a Book, v5.0 School of Information University of Michigan
- How to Read a Paragraph: The Art of Close Reading
- How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article: Tips and tricks to make reading and understanding social science journal articles easier
- How to Read for Grad School Miriam E. Sweeney
- Read Like A Graduate Student, Not A Mystery Fan William Doane
- Remote research and virtual fieldwork: some resources from uHarvard
Minecraft (Education Edition) is free for Carleton students
- Just download the installer: https://education.minecraft.net/api/edu/login
- After install, launch the game and log in using your Carleton email address (cmail) and password then you're good to go.
