Content last reviewed:
Research Tip Sheet - for systematically searching academic databases (+ video tutorial | 2:30 | Research Tip Sheet transcript)
Engineering Focus
- ASCE Research Library - Journals of the American Society of Civil Engineers, including materials, engineering mechanics, and transportation
- ASME Digital Collection - Journals, proceedings and eBooks of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
- EI Engineering Village - Core science and applied engineering literature (includes GEOBASE and GeoRef)
- Emerald Engineering - Double-blind peer reviewed journals in business, management, engineering, and technology
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library - IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) journals, conferences, and standards
- ScienceDirect Journals - Includes engineering, materials science, mathematics, and physics
- SpringerLink - Springer journals in science, technology and engineering
Environmental Focus
- Environment Index - Scientific, technical, and popular journal articles
- GEOBASE - Earth Sciences
- GeoRef - Geosciences
- GreenFILE - Human impact on the environment
- Lyell Collection: Geological Society Publications Online - Earth Science literature
- Plunkett's Alternative and Renewable Energy Almanac - Renewable, alternative, sustainable, and emerging energy markets
Science Focus
- Academic OneFile - Multidisciplinary, physical sciences
- American Institute of Physics Journals
- De Gruyter Online - Engineering and natural sciences
- IOP Science - Institute of Physics
- Oxford Journals Online - Including eBooks, open 'Subject' (top-left), 'Browse all content', and explore under 'Subject' along the left
- Scholars Portal Journals - Provides access to a large number of articles from major academic publishers covering all fields
- Scopus - Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database
- SIAM Journals Online - Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics journals
- Web of Science - Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database
PrePrints
- agriRxiv - Preprints for Agriculture and Allied Sciences
- arXiv* - Physics, Mathematics
- bioRxiv* - Preprint server for Biology
- ChemRxiv* - Preprint server for Chemistry
- Earth ArXiv - Earth Sciences
- engrXiv - Engineering Archive of preprints and previously published articles made openly accessible
- ESSOAr - Earth and Space Science Open Archive
- TechRxiv - Technology Research
*can cross-search these repositories via Web of Science [on landing page, change "Search in" from "All Databases" to "Preprint Citation Index"]
Find more PrePrint resources from our Open Access (OA) Publications guide
Policy and Industry Information
- Business Source Complete - Isolate by document type (scroll down the search screen) including: Company Report and Industry Overview, or search by NAICS/Industry Code
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library
- Factiva - Hover over Companies/Markets and click Industry to see a list of industries, providing relevant data about an industry and summary information
- Policy Commons - Think tanks, NGOs, governmental agencies, etc.
- Policy File Index - U.S. public policy
- ASM Handbooks Online - Complete contents of American Society of Metals handbooks
- Ebook Central
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- ENGnetBASE - CRC Press engineering handbooks
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - for encyclopedias and specialized reference sources
- IOP ebooks - Institute of Physics
- Knovel Library - Applied engineering handbooks (including SAE handbooks) and dictionaries + materials and property search, interactive engineering equations, unit converter, and more | Knovel Video Tutorials
- MIT Press Direct - Multidisciplinary collection focused on general science, cognitive/neuroscience, computer science, information science, economics, the environment, and technology
- National Academies Press eBooks
- O'Reilly
- Oxford Reference - for dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias
- Scholars Portal Books
- SpringerLink - Springer's science, technology, and engineering eBooks
- Taylor & Francis eBooks
- Also note that all of Carleton's ebooks can be found through the library's homepage, using the large search box. Conduct a keyword search, then isolate to Available Online (under Availability) + Books (under Resource Type)
- New Books added to collection (updated monthly)
Videos
- Films on Demand - Click the three bars at the top left to 'View All' Subjects, including Earth Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography, Physical Sciences, and Technology & Society
Websites
- Climate Action Network International
- Environment News Service
- Federation of Canadian Municipalities
- Global Footprint Network
- Government of Canada: Environment and Climate Change Canada
- Government of Canada: Environment and Natural Resources
- Government of Canada: Geoscience
- Government of Canada: Natural Resources Canada
- Government of Canada: Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
- Government of Canada: Sustainability
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
- International Atomic Energy Agency
- International Institute for Sustainable Development
- Phys.org
- Renewable Energy World
- Science.gov - Gateway to U.S. Federal Science
- Simon Fraser University: The Canadian Energy and Emissions Data Centre
- United Nations: Climate Initiatives Platform
- United Nations: Sustainable Development Goals: Energy
- United States Department of Energy: Office of Scientific and Technical Information
- United States Environmental Protection Agency
- World Nuclear Association
Other Resources of Interest
- CHEeR House - The Urbandale Centre for Home Energy Research, located on Carleton's north campus
- Policy Commons - Think tanks, NGOs, governmental agencies, etc.
- Think Tanks - independent, externally refereed research, often used to advocate governments and public policy
- WolframAlpha - Search engine for factual and objective data
