Content last reviewed:
Transportation policy and infrastructure is a concern of every level of government. This guide highlights the major official sources of public policy and statistical resources in the transportation sector.
Data:
See the Data Centre's holdings of surveys relating to Travel and Transportation.
Statistics:
- Aviation Data (Air Transport Association of Canada)
- North American Transportation Statistics (NATS) presents information on transportation and transportation-related activities among Canada, the United States and Mexico, both within individual countries and between the countries. This database is accessible in table and time series formats and covers twelve thematic areas, including transportation and the economy, transportation safety, transportation’s impact on energy and the environment, passenger and freight activity, and transportation and trade.
- Statistics Canada
- Data Tables by subject: Transportation
Studies, research papers and technical papers searchable by specific transportation topics or select topic Transportation - Historical statistics of Canada: Transportation and Communications (Archived Content)
- Data Tables by subject: Transportation
- Transport Canada
United States
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- Statistical Products and Data
- State transportation statistics (2003- )
- BTS Publications
- Pocket Guide to Transportation (1998-)
- Transtats an inter-modal transportation database arranged by mode of transport and topic
- Statistical Products and Data
- Census Bureau
- FedStats (Archived) select 'transporation from topics A-Z drop-down menu or search by state
- Department of Transportation
- Federal Highway Administration Publications and Statistics
- Federal Aviation Administration Aviation Data and Statistics
International Organizations
- Eurostat Transport statistics
- OECD Transport statistics (Note: See also OECD iLibrary for publications and statistics. Access restricted to Carleton IP)
- International Transport Forum (ITF)
- United Nations Economic Commission for Europe Transport statistics
- World Bank Transport data and indicators
Canada - Federal:
- Canada Transportation Act and other Acts and Regulations
- Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada Treaty Information a searchable database of Canadian international agreements. Search under specific transport modality.
Canada - Provinces:
Ontario
- e-Laws searchable laws and regulations site
Foreign:
United States
- Code of Federal Regulations
Title 23 covers Highways and Title 49 covers transportation. - Federal Register
Official daily publications for rules by the executive department and agencies of the Federal government. - United States Environmental Protection Agency - State and Local Transportation Resources
International:
- ICAO's Database of Aeronautical Agreements and Arrangements
- International Maritime Organization Conventions
Canada - Federal:
- Policy Commons
- Canadian Transportation Agency is an independent, quasi-judicial tribunal that makes decisions on a wide range of economic matters involving federally-regulated modes of transportation (air, rail, marine and accessible transportation)
- Transportation Development Centre The TDC is Transport Canada's centre of expertise for research and development, it manages a mult-imodal R&D program aimed at improving the safety, security, energy efficiency, and accessibility of the Canadian transportation system.
- Infrastructure Canada
- Transportation Safety Board of Canada
- Transport Canada
AIR
RAIL
ROAD
- Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators incorporates members from all Canadian governments
- Council of Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety
- Road and Motor Vehicle Safety includes links to websites for provincial agencies, Canadian automotive manufactureres, and foreign and international government agencies.
WATER
- Canadian Coast Guard
- Library and Archives Canada Ship Registration Index. The Ship Registration Index Database (SRI) contains more than 78,000 entries of ships registered in ports of Canada between 1787 and 1966.
- Marine Transportation
- Moving on Sustainable Transportation (MOST)
- National Search and Rescue Secretariat
Canada - Provincial:
- Links to Provincial and Territorial ministers responsible for transportation (via Transport Canada)
- All-Time List of Canadian Transit Systems (non-governmental), covering current or past transit systems operating in Canada.
Ontario
- Ontario Ministry of Transportation
- GO Transit (Greater Toronto Transit Authority)
Local:
Ottawa
- City Council Committee Agendas and Minutes, including Transportation Committee and Transit Committee.
- Ottawa Transportation and Parking
- Construction and infrastructure projects
- Ottawa Official Plan
- Ottawa 20/20 Process and the Guiding Principles
- OC Transpo
Foreign:
United States - Federal
- Department of Energy Fuel economy website
- Federal Transit Administration
- TOD database (from the Center for Transit-Oriented Development and funded by the Federal Transit Administration) provides economic and demographic information for every existing and proposed fixed guideway transit station in the U.S.
- National Transit Database (NTD) was established by Congress to be the Nation's primary source for information and statistics on the transit systems of the United States.
- National Transportation Library
- National Transportation Research Center
- Oak Ridge National Laboratory Center for Transportation Analysis
- Online tools linking to related transportation websites
- Transportation Research Board of the National Academies
- TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- TRB Publication Index
Contains TRB publications and reports from 1970 onwards with some full-text articles available.
AIR
ROAD
- Department of Transportation
- National Highway Safety Administration exists to promote motor vehicle and highway safety.
WATER
United States - States
International:
- African Development Bank Group select Transport under Topics and Sectors
- Asian Development Bank ADB & the Transport Sector
- European Commission Live, Work Travel in EU and Mobility and Transport policies
- Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System and Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway study (2007)
- International Civil Aviation Organization
- International Maritime Organization is the United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.
- International Transport Forum (formerly European Conference of Ministers of Transport)
- Organization of American States search for reports under 'transportation' or 'transport'
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) Transport Division
- United Nations Economic Commission for Europe Transport with links to European, US and Canadian transport authorities
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Review of Maritime Transport
- World Bank Transport
Maps:
See also the Library's Online Maps search engine
Canada
- List of airports owned by Transport Canada
- National atlas of Canada Transportation maps (Archived content)
- Ottawa Transportation Master Plan
United States
- North American Transportation Atlas Database (BTS)
- Transportation of the United States (National atlas)
International organizations
- European Commission Joint Research Centre Travel time to major cities: a global map of accessibility
GIS
- Consult the library's GIS holdings, in particular files for the National Capital Region, Ontario and Canada for road network and other transportation related data.
Websites:
Listed here are selected non-governmental websites that have resources relating to transportation policy:
Canada
- Air Transport Association of Canada
- Canadian Urban Transit Association
- CN (Canadian National Railway Company)
- NAV Canada is Canada's civil air navigation services provider, a private sector, non-share capital corporation financed through publicly-traded debt. It provides air traffic control, flight information, weather briefings, aeronautical information services, airport advisory services and electronic aids to navigation.
- Transport Action Canada (formerly Transport 2000)
- Transportation Association of Canada
- Via Rail Canada
United States
