Pîjashig Kwe kwe! Tunngahugit! She:kon! Aanii! Boozhoo! Tansi! Taanishi! Hello! Bienvenue!
The MacOdrum Library is located on the unceded territories of the Algonquin nation. This guide is designed for graduate students in the Pauline Jewett Institute for Women's and Gender Studies.
Borrowing materials from the Carleton University Library
- Graduate students can borrow books and much more.
- Research support workshops are available: Check out this year's schedule.
- The Centre for Student Academic Support also offers academic support workshops.
Thesis & dissertation writing guides
Literature review writing guides
- 7 steps to a comprehensive literature review : a multimodal and cultural approach
- Systematic approaches to a successful literature review
- Literature Reviews: Common Errors Made When Conducting a Literature Review (video)
Finding academic literature
- Academic journals
- Open access
- Jurn: Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Open access at Carleton
- Open access journals published at Carleton
- Open access
Women's and Gender Studies professors recommend the following journals:
Here are key journals having to do with the discipline of Women's Studies. For other gender-based journal titles, please see the Gender Studies subject guide.
- Ada : a journal of gender, new media, and technology
- Asian journal of women's studies
- Atlantis: a women's studies journal
- Australian feminist studies
- Berkeley journal of gender, law & justice
- BMC women's health
- Canadian journal of women and the law
- Canadian woman studies
- Differences: a journal of feminist cultural studies
- European journal of women's studies
- Feminist theory
- Frontiers : a journal of women studies
- Gender, place and culture : a journal of feminist geography
- Herizons: women's news and feminist views
- International feminist journal of politics
- Journal of interdisciplinary feminist thought
- Journal of women's history
- Meridians : feminism, race, transnationalism
- Women & environments international magazine
- Women & health
- Women's history review
- Women's studies
Note: Some are available only in print; others are available in print and electronic format. Check UlrichsWeb for information about individual journals. Ulrichsweb is a source of bibliographic and access information for over 300,000 serials.
Find grey literature
Grey literature is an important source of information in arts and social science research that:
- adds a valuable global perspective
- provides detailed overviews on specific populations
- may be only source of local information
Grey literature is defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing" ie. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004
Types of grey literature
- Government information
- Dissertations and theses
- Conference proceedings
- Newspapers and magazines
- Google Scholar (change country, for example, to find international material)
- Government information (customized Google search)
- Databases such as Canadian Business and Current Affairs and Web of Science
- Canadian Public Policy Collection
- Grey Net (an international directory of organizations in Grey Literature and a respository)
- Grey Literature Database - Canadian Evaluation Society
- Finding the Hard to Finds: Searching for Grey Literature (University of British Columbia)
Citation management and reference rot
- Use online tools to manage your sources (e.g., save citations, pdfs and create bibliographies).
- Start a Perma.cc account to create permanent links for online sources (avoid reference rot!).
Find data by consulting our research guide and contacting Jane Fry, our data librarian.
- Consider depositing your data in Dataverse.
The Carleton University Institutional Repository collects, preserves, and provides open access to the academic, research output and creative works of Carleton faculty and scholars.
Use this repository to:
- Identify a topic of study
- Find out what subjects have been studied in your (or other fields) of study
- Identify and access theses and/or dissertations to read
- Identify and access theses and/or dissertations with which you supervisor has been involved
- Writing your journal article in 12 weeks : a guide to academic publishing success
- Consult the writing consultants in Writing Services (fourth floor of the library).
- Identifying and avoiding predatory publishers (a guide from the Association of College and Research Libraries)
The Carleton University Research Impact Endeavour (CURIE) fund was initiated in 2011 as part of Carleton's overall strategy to support Open Access and Scholarly Publishing. The fund is intended to assist in the payment of article processing charges (APC) for open access articles authored by Carleton researchers. The terms of reference and procedures for the fund are reviewed annually to ensure that resources are being used as effectively as possible.
What is an ORCID and do I need one?
ORCID is a digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, and automated links between you and your professional activities.
Citation-based metrics used for ranking journals. This may be important for:
- preparing your portfolio
- assessing the impact and quality of a journal relative to a particular discipline or field
- tenure and promotion in academic circles
Consult the Journal Rankings Help Guide for more information