2021 Melody Mastad award winners announced

The Melody Mastad Award was established in 2012 in honour of Melody Mastad, Stacks Coordinator, for their years of service and dedication to the Library and student staff employees. It recognizes the outstanding contributions our student staff make to the Library every year.

This year’s nominees were:

  • Hamza Muhammad (Access Services)
  • Stephan Struve (RSS)
  • Neyha Tahir (RSS)
  • Julie Trudeau (Access Services)

This year’s recipients of the Melody Mastad Award of Excellence in Student Assistantship are Stephan Struve (RSS) and Julie Trudeau (Access Services)

Here is an excerpt from Stephan’s nomination:

“Stephan’s contribution to the statistical consulting services offered by the Library demonstrates his dedication and commitment to his job. His initiative is shown by the various workshops he has designed, and continues to update. This job requires an attention to detail and his conscientiousness show through in everything he does. He is pleasant and respectful of all who come to him for consultation and is quite dependable. Stephan enjoys his job, and this shows in his dedication to it. Support that the Library has given for NVivo has never been as extensive before and we are very thankful to Stephan for the stellar way he fulfills his tasks. His colleagues know that when they refer someone to him for help, that they will walk away very happy and pleased with the Library.”

And an excerpt from Julie’s nomination:

“Julie has shown herself to be fully capable of having a positive attitude and being dependable and respectful in her work serving clients on the Reserves and Library Services desks as a point of service assistant. She has demonstrated this ability by being friendly and positive to students, staff, and faculty using the points of service in the MacOdrum Library. Julie has also diversified her work on site (currently two days a week) with a barcode project and handling appointments in the New Sun Joy McLaren Centre. Julie has demonstrated the ability to work at both points of service on her own without requiring assistance from supervisors, showing initiative in the process. In doing so, she has demonstrated abilities in leadership as a student employee. She has exceeded workplace expectations by delivering high quality service.”

The selection committee consisted of Courtney Maika, David Sharp, last years’ recipient, Chris Pepin and Gilles Monast. As always, choosing recipients from the list of nominees was a difficult task.

A special thanks to all of our student employees for their outstanding contributions and dedication to the Library; some of the services we provide would not possible without you.